We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now this is worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rasika

Rasika
633 D Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-637-1222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rasika is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 2,623 restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: On D Street Between 6th and 7th Streets.
Transit: Two Block Walk From the China Town/Gallery Place Metro and One Block Walk From the Archives/Navy Memorial Metro.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Now this is worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I usually eat in cheap Indian joints. I saw this place was rated #2 in Washington so figured I would give it a try.
The place is sophisticated and warm. Service is spot on. The food speaks and smells for itself...outstanding! I had a chicken green Marsala with a Dal Dhungaree, very good, just enough spice. I would have loved to try more, next time I hope. Decent prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    630
    230
    60
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I ate here Thanksgiving week and had one of the best Indian meals we've ever had. We split several dishes - every one was spot on, not fancy, but a complex blend of spices that made each one special.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant I have ever been”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was the best Indian restaurant I have ever been. Much better tha Junoon at NYC. Very helpful staff. Nice atmosphere. We ordered the four course tasting menu, and it was delicious (it's a lot of food). The chicken dish and the appetizer were awesome. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very nice atmosphere although a "busy" feeling due to packed bar, tight waiting space and very busy. Food was very good, however, they pre-mix most of the sauces so if you have a food allergy like I do, they can not honor your allergy requests. This is important to those of us with food allergies. Due to that, I had a severely limited choice of dishes, but the dishes I did order were very good. With four people, wine, appetizers and 1 person getting dessert, it was @ $150/person so high end cost.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food in DC downtown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This place knows to serve Indian food in style without compromising on the taste or quality. The pricing is reasonable and the paneer dishes were very good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasika also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Rasika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rasika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.