We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brookland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Brookland Inn
Save
You added The Brookland Inn to your Saves list
3742 12th Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Only a short train ride into the centre of DC was great as well as the free parking. The one bedroom apt was clean and comfortable and 2 adults and 1 child were able to spread all their luggage around. Breakfast suited us - light but perfectly fine. Wasn't much around the area so ate downtown before coming back - it's not a full kitchen so it's really only take-out. Overall a pleasant stay in DC.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
13
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed at the Brookline Inn for four nights. On first glance the Inn seems spacious and nice, and has more of an apartment feel rather than a hotel, which we discovered has more drawbacks than benefits. Initially the window A/C unit was not properly installed (there was a large gap between the unit and the window allowing air & bugs to come into the room) when we went downstairs a very nice man helped us by covering the opening with tape. That solved the bug and hot air problem but then the A/C unit was super loud, likely due to poor installation. On the third night, around 1 am, the fire detector started beeping intermittently. Since there is no receptionist we had to wait until the morning to e-mail someone to have it fixed. We received a timely and nice response stating the problem would be taken care off. However when we arrived that evening the fire detector was, now, beeping constantly. Luckily the front door had a number listed to call if one experienced problems and a gentleman arrived to fix the detector within 30 minutes. However he fixed it by simply taking the batteries out, which we could have done ourselves but did not want to cause a fire hazard. When we voiced our displeasure with our stay and asked for a one night refund (remember we stayed four nights total), we were offered a complimentary stay for next time. Needless to say that offer is nice but worthless for us as we will not chance, even a complimentary, stay at this inn. Good luck to anyone who chooses to stay there in the future.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room, small apartment really, was beautifully and elegantly decorated, the kitchen well-appointed and refrigerator stocked with fresh fruit and other breakfast and snack items. The staff were efficient and responsive. The neighborhood does not have much around, but felt safe and the proximity to Catholic University was terrific. Parking was easy and, for DC, a real perk. We look forward to returning to the Brookland Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days because I had to take the DC Bar exams. Upon enterance, we were dismayed by the lobby because it was sparce, dark, and was not a good representation of the entire hotel. The lock in the main entrance doesn't give you a sense of security because the numbers used as lock combinations were worn out suggesting the four numbers of the code . However, the room was spacious and very clean but it is dated as well as the furniture. The wooden floors squeek so if you are booked on a lower floor, you would expect noise from the higher levels. The kitchenette was impressive because it was equipped with clean utelsils including wine glasses. Unfortunately, some windows are warped that prevented us from locking them. Unlike most hotels or B&Bs, there was no cleaning lady to clean the room during our 2 day stay, make the bed, and remove the garbage. Niether was there a front desk clerk whom you could talk to about immedaite concerns.

This hotel could have been a nicer place to stay if management would improve some of the defects/concerns we mentioned. Otherwise, everything was fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

...from the standard-issue corporate hotel. What you get from the Brookland is an apartment. I stayed in a large space with large living and bedrooms, a bathroom, and a kitchenette. The rooms were clean, neat, and nicely decorated. The space is stocked with items you need (e.g. toiletries, a hairdryer, iron, etc.), as well as yogurt, muffins, coffee and other light items you can have for breakfast. There is a cute cafe downstairs, and a few simple restaurants within walking distance. There's also a good organic market just a block away from which you can stock the kitchenette and a drugstore where you can pick up any other items you might need. Finally, there is off-street parking and the Metro is just a few blocks away. The neighborhood is fine -- I'm not sure what others mean when they say they didn't feel safe there. You're just a hop, skip, and a jump from some of the city -- and country's -- major religious and academic institutions (e.g., Catholic University, Howard University School of Divinity, U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops, Franciscan Monastery of the Holy Land, etc. If I had to say something negative about the place it would only be that it's near a hospital and that sometimes you will hear ambulance sirens going by, but to me that seemed a small price to pay for the pleasant surprise that was the Brookland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Pleasant suit. Great service.... Friendly staff and housekeeping did a great job! We would love to return again!!!! Within walking distance of Franciscan Monastery and Basilica Shrine, both are beautiful sites. Inn is also within walking distance of a Yes! Market (organic market), BCafe (which provides awesome food including vegetarian and vegan meals), other restaurants and cvs store....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here on a trip from Australia: with 4 adults and one child. All our dealings, from email contact, to greeting at the door after a very long flight, were excellent. On our arrival, seeing our tired faces, Rob organised a quick meal for us which was most appreciated. There is plenty of space, fresh towels, excellent breakfast food and facilities, and a terrific organic grocery down the road. We ate at at great little South american place down the road too. We walked around in the evening, enjoying the balmy nights and the beautiful neighbourhood. Metro and bus was easy: we also had a truck with an artwork that we parked next door to the Hotel with no probs. Highly recommended. Thankyou to the lovely team Brookland.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#101 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Woodley Park Guest House
Woodley Park Guest House
#3 of 33 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Columbia Heights
Asante Sana Guest Quarters
Asante Sana Guest Quarters
#27 of 33 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 33 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brookland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brookland Inn

Address: 3742 12th Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20017
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brookland Inn welcomes business travelers to Washington, DC. We offer business travel related amenities at the inn, making your stay convenient and productive. Our location in uptown Washington, DC makes us a preferred place to stay especially since we are metro accessible.Located 10 minutes (3 stops on metro-rail) from either downtown Silver Spring (Metro) or Union Station (Metro), downtown Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Brookland Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brookland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.