We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hank's Oyster Bar

Hank's Oyster Bar
1624 Q St NW, Lowr, Washington DC, DC 20009-6355 (Dupont Circle)
202-462-4265
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The place was packed at the bar- never saw the restaurant- we were lucky to find two seats together, not a lot of standing room. Obvious mix of regulars and vacationers; bartenders equally attentive to all. We just had drinks but it was a welcoming environment with some good microbrews to choose from.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    140
    44
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stumbled on this spot and had a great table outside under a heat lamp. Great food! Three of us had the oyster po' boy and thought it was excellent. The roasted broccoli made my non-broccoli eating son a fan!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonito, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I went to Hanks after searching trip advisor for good seafood restaurants in D.C. I went alone as my business partner had a night out with a relative. I was sat near the bar and had an excellent waiter. Not knowing how big the ceviche appetizer was, I ordered it on top of the spectacular oysters on the half shell. It was the perfect blend of spices and lime. I haven't had ceviche before with calamari but this one has a great pairing with shrimp and a white fish. Yummy! The oyster Po Boy sandwich was recommended which was even better than I've had in Louisiana. I highly encourage you to try Hanks Oyster Bar your taste buds will be pleasantly surprised.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A little difficult to find but food was delicious. I had snapper and my husband had the rockfish. It was delicious but very expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stopped in at Hank's for brunch one quiet Sunday afternoon. We liked both the location on a pretty street in Dupont, and the bright, lively space. Our server was attentive, friendly, and familiar with the menu. My husband gave a thumbs-up to the Bloody Mary. Both of our dishes were also excellent. My fish sandwich tasted fresh and well-seasoned, while the mussels my husband ordered were delectable. A great experience. We will return!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Hank's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hank's Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.