We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bus Tours Washington DC

Big Bus Tours Washington DC
Pennsylvania Avenue, Washington DC, DC
+1 877-332-8689
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$48*
and up
Ranked #56 of 157 Activities in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The open-top deck of a Big Bus tour is the best way to see Washington DC. Sit back and relax as you are transported passed the iconic landmarks that make America's Capital so recognizable and special. Our sightseeing tours are designed to provide a flexible approach to city discovery. Your hop-on, hop-off ticket provides you the freedom to get off the bus to explore and visit attractions. Buses run regularly so re-joining the tour is easy.
Athens, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Signature Tours are fantastic. The tour guide was knowledgeable and gave us lots of information at each monument. I appreciated that he went with us at each stop. I learned so many new interesting facts about the presidents, white house, and capitol. The coach bus was new and confortable. The owners, Zumba and Tracey, were very concerned about customer satifaction. They were the best. My husband, Bernie, said that this was his favorite tour of Washington, D.C. The lunch was delicious. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who visits Washington, D.C. My grandchildren, ages 9 and 11 and niece, age 18, also enjoyed this tour. Thanks to Signature Tours for a memorable experience.

Mary Denk

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    388
    179
    149
    254
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

While we have previously had reasonable experiences with the Big Bus company elsewhere, the Washington service is very poor. On the first bus, most headphone outlets didn’t work. We tried 8 seats before we got sound and most of the later passengers could not get a commentary. The second bus was late although the on-board guide overcame any potential headphone problems. The third bus missed a stop (Capitol Building) that the commentary told us we should use! When questioned, the driver claimed the road was blocked and the police told him not to go down there. An announcement to this effect by the driver would have been good customer service!! But to make matters worse, when we walked back there was no blockage and other buses were happily using the stop. Also, most commentaries were minimal and staff not very friendly or helpful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dowell, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good way to see the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great way to see the city. Make sure you only buy the route that you need. Most of the the main attractions are accessible from the patriot pass (the red & blue lines). The green and yellow routes are non mall routes. Riding in the open air gives a great perspective and unobstructed views of all the attractions. Never waited more than 10 minutes for the bus. The $35 for this pass was actually worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very time consuming and expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My parents wanted to do this tour with our 7 year old, so I agreed. I prefer to walk/bike/cab/subaway around cities. The first bus (green line) was free and took us up the road to the National Catherdral. The tour guide/driver actually spoke and turned off the pre-recorded information. Once we toured this place and hopped back on, we sat for over 20 minutes waiting on another couple asking questions, then on to catch the yellow line that would take us to the monuments/museums. We had to wait 30 minutes for that bus. Once on we listened to prerecorded information that was not in sync with what we were actually seeing. Our son was board and I was hot sitting up top. Once at Lincoln Memorial we just walked to the musems. I rode the subway back to our hotel, they bussed it and it took them several more hours. Part of the tour was also a boat ride- but again took half a day from where we were to get the bust to get back to Georgetown Harbor. Much better to cab/ride the subway.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Must do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you don't want to walk and worry about parking, this is the tour for you. We saw all the typical sites on the patriot tour. We did have to wait a few times, longer than the 15-20 minutes, but it was good to rest. Some of the guides are rather corny with their jokes, and I could have done without that. A narrated tour suites me just fine. There is so much to do, but this is a good value and gets you were you want to go.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Bus Tours Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bus Tours Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.