We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi so far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murasaki Japanese Restaurant

Murasaki Japanese Restaurant
4620 Wisconsin Ave NW, Ste D, Washington DC, DC 20016-4602
2029660023
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #342 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: River Road
Transit: Near by AU metro station!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Sushi so far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Sashimi is very very good, the Nigiri very very tasty, and finally the rolls the best I have eaten so far.

The service and Sushi was very good. Especially the fish was very fresh.

Not cheap but you get what you paid for.

I highly recommend this place for good Sushi.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The sushi here is fresh and excellent. Service is quick and attentive and prices are average. The restaurant lacks ambiance (harsh lighting and diner style tables), but with sushi this good, who cares?!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If the embassy eats there it can not be all bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

They say if you have a lot of locals there than the food can not be bad. Well that proves true since many of the Japanese embassy staff frequent this establishment.

The interior shows some wear and tear but you can overlook that as the food is fantastic.

They offer both eat in and carry out. The value for what you receive is very good and the food is prepared to the Japanese taste and style.

The restaurant is usually packed.

Would recommend the Murasaki for business, family and friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great sushi at good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I've been here a couple of times. Good sushi - wide range, fresh and quick service. It's your standard sushi place with no standout items, but solid fare. Be sure to get the warm saki, a Sapporo, and any type of sushi. Always a good combination

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Illegal Tip Inflating -- BEWARE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The restaurant posted an automatic 20% tip to my Visa card without ever telling me, and I had to discover it on my charges, then phone the restaurant to be told this. I had left a tip smaller than 20%, but my actual charge wasn't posted.... the 20% markup was. This is outrageous. The woman on the phone told me their "computer" automatically posts the full 20% for "days," but that it clears eventually -- which hasn't happened. She told me that's when the actual tip amount would show up on my Visa bill... but that too hasn't happened. BEWARE. What shows up as your credit charge has nothing to do with the tip you've actually left. When I asked her whether this is disclosed anywhere on the menu, she admitted, well, no.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murasaki Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Murasaki Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murasaki Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.