We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alan the Ozzie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Circle Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Circle Guest House to your Saves list
Embassy Circle Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2224 R Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1/2 Half Off Sunday
Ranked #2 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alan the Ozzie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

They say that "theres no place like home".Well Embassy Circle Guest House is as close as you get to Home.From the welcome we received from Ingrid to the hospitality shown by Laura and Raymond the proprietors, you as a guest are made to feel so welcome.The decor the ambiance,and the food add up to "Theres No Place L[ke Home . Thanks Laura,Raymond,Ingrid and Nellie

  • Liked — location,ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    17
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
321
55
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

We arrived at the Embassy Inn having spent 2 weeks travelling around New England. Our intention was to sample Washington for 2 days before going down to Florida. We arrived earlier than arranged but we were greeted and warmly welcomed as old friends with coffee and cookies and encouraged to start our exploration of Washington but advised to return around 5-30 for "Drinks and Nibbles". Intrigued we came back as intructed to meet our hosts Raymond and Laura entertaining some other guests (Raymond had prepared some Labanese canapes) so we joined them and enjoyed the conversation and banter for
1 1/2 hours before receiving more advice regarding the restaurants in and around Dupont Circle.
The next day following an excellent Embassy Inn breakfast we set off to discover Washington, again returning for drinks around 5-30pm. Before we knew it time had passed and it was getting late for dinner. Raymond invited us to stay and dine with them and some other guests - he would cook for us! What a delightful surprise and what a lovely evening we enjoyed. We can't thank Raymond and Laura enough for making our sample stay in Washington so special. Of course the taster of Washington was so wonderful we can't wait to repeat the experience and of course we will be returning to the Embassy Inn.

  • Liked — Location and our Hosts.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

The Embassy Circle Guest House in Washington DC has consistently received high praise from reviewers. And now we know why. As two Australian travellers who prefer the sociability of the B&B option over the anonymity of big hotels, we were attracted to the Embassy because of the opportunity it seemed to offer to meet and interact with a wide variety of people. We were not disappointed. The owners, Laura and Raymond Saba go out of their way to create an environment where guests can converse in a friendly and relaxed manner. Whether it’s around the table at breakfast, or over complimentary wine and hors d’oeuvres in the evening, everyone is welcomed, introduced and included, without being pressured to participate any more than suits them. In this setting we learned so much, from guests who came from all corners of America and from the many visitors from overseas. The eclectic mix of the passing parade was indeed stimulating.

That’s the sociable side. But even if that has no appeal, the Embassy accommodation has plenty of attributes – elegance and style, comfort and cleanliness, location and convenience, as well as Ingrid and Nellie, the friendly, attentive and caring staff. In restoring what was formerly the Taiwanese embassy, Laura and Raymond seem to have spared no expense or effort. The common dining and lounge areas are elegantly furnished, yet retain the warmth and comfort of a home. The guest rooms are both delightful and functional. They are spacious, beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable, and the bathrooms are not only attractive but also immaculate. And, most importantly, the rooms are well soundproofed. As we had reserved a room on the same level as the living area, we were a little concerned about noise but we never heard a thing, either from the street, the living area or the adjacent room.

The location of the Embassy is also a plus. There are many attractions in the immediate area, including the numerous embassies, the Phillips Collection, the Woodrow Wilson house and neighbouring Georgetown. Great restaurants are abundant around Dupont Circle and just a short walk away from the Embassy. It’s also a short, and easy, walk to the Dupont Circle metro station. And if that’s not enough, Laura and Raymond are genuinely concerned about their guests and always ready to provide helpful information and advice about where to go and how to get there. Raymond even drove us to Union Station when we were leaving. Add to all this the fact that Washington DC is an enormously interesting city – not the grey bureaucratic town we thought it could be – and you have all the ingredients for a fantastic travel destination.

Jan and Graham, Sydney, Australia

  • Liked — Elegance, comfort and attentive owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

After seeing the website and reading other reviewer's reports we knew that Embassy Circle was the only place we wanted to stay at whilst in Washington DC. In fact we ultimately changed our entire itinerary of our first trip to the USA in order to ensure we could stay there. After staying in New York and Boston for three weeks our last week in the USA was spent in Washington DC at the Embassy Circle and we were certainly rewarded for our efforts.
As we discovered, Embassy Circle is conveniently located to the subway which gives you easy access to all major sights. Also within walking distance are restaurants and shops of Dupont Circle. The neighborhood is absolutely beautiful with its tree lined streets and exquisite old buildings. The Embassy Circle itself has been lovingly and painstakingly renovated and is truly spectacular. The entire place is filled with beautiful antiques, persian rugs and artworks. The rooms are bright, very inviting and the beds are extremely comfortable. All the bathrooms are well appointed and are immaculately clean. We are very fastidious travelers when it comes cleanliness and comfort. The staff were very friendly and courteous.
Laura and Raymond - the owners - are gracious and are truly generous hosts who make all of their guests feel very welcome. It feels as if one has gone to stay with close friends for the weekend. Whether you are having breakfast or having pre dinner drinks with the other guests, Laura and Raymond are always there bringing us as strangers together to create a lively and friendly atmosphere. This Bed & Breakfast establishment is truly unique for this reason. Laura has lived in Washington for all of her life and her knowledge of the the greater area is invaluable.
The continental breakfast offered every morning as a part of your stay is lovingly prepared, is very delicious and filling - no need to go out. We were fortunate and privileged to have an impromptu dinner hosted and prepared by Raymond and Laura. This evening was indeed a highlight or our trip. We cannot thank Laura and Raymond enough for their generosity and hospitality. We look forward to visiting them again in the near future.

James & Tina from Melbourne, Australia.

  • Liked — Ambience, Comfort, Cleanliness, Hospitality, Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxshott
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

This is a great place to stay with friendly hosts who are full of information of where to visit & restaurants to dine in. Cocktails in the evening a very good forum to talk to other tourists & discuss & swap ideas. The evening cocktails are well worth making use of & are a good way to learn more about Washington.
We would strongly recommend this B & B for the discerning traveller.
Owners & staff very friendly & helpful.
Brian & Gail, Oxshott, England

  • Liked — Very good & helpful owners & staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humlebaek,Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

Great expectations!

We were in DC to meet up with our daughter who is studying at the University
of
Maryland and living at the International Student House in Dupont Circle. The
internet provided several possibilities, but I had a feeling while looking
at Embassy Circle's website, that this B&B was something special. And it
was! We have traveled quite a bit around the world and we know that
sometimes one can get terribly disappointed. That didn't happen here. At
Embassy Circle, the photos don't lie. Our high expectations were definitely
fulfilled. We enjoyed three super days at this exquisite haven in one of the
absolutely best neighborhoods in Washington DC.

Embassy Circle is a really special place. You come in the front door as a
guest and leave as a friend! We were welcomed by Nelly, who is a most
beloved part of the staff and were shown to the most perfect and cozy room -
so tastefully designed and so very clean. And what hospitality and vibrancy
we experienced as guests of Laura & Raymond! Exciting conversation,
exchange of life stories and a genuine interest in other people.

The uniqueness of this generous house continued with an informal early
evening drink and snacks which our host, Raymond, had prepared in his
well-equipped kitchen. The wine hour gave us a great chance to meet the
other guests. Even our daughter was invited for drinks and breakfast the
next day so that she could spend time with us! Raymond is a very good cook
and we were lucky to have the pleasure and experience to be invited for
dinner the following evening. The conversation was fascinating and late
night guests joined in for an informal talk about politics and the
forthcoming election. Guests are introduced to each other on a friendly
basis and this makes the framework for such a relaxed atmosphere.

Our recommendation - give the international hotels a miss - they are so
anonymous. Instead enjoy the unique atmosphere and hospitality of Laura &
Raymond & Co. at the Embassy Circle Guest House. We highly recommend this
absolute gem of a place.
.
Susan & Arne Baltzer-Andersen, Denmark

  • Liked — The geniune friendliness and unique hospitality of our hosts and the fantastic rooms
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing to complain about - everything fantastic
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

I have always been a little apprehensive of B&Bs, especially for business travel. My experience at Emabassy Circle Guest House exceeded every expectation. Every detail about my stay was perfect--I can't wait to return to DC for another stay with Raymond and Laura.

The home is huge and immaculately clean, and Raymond and Laura are extremely kind, extremely gracious hosts. As one of the guests said, "it's like staying with friends--very rich friends."

The house itself has been masterfully restored. Everything feels new, fresh, and very very solid. No expense was spared. There is no creaking of the floors, the plumbing works beautifully, and everytihng in the guest areas is quiet quiet quiet. There is wired and wireless internet available for free throughout the house. It was very easy to get work done.

Downstairs in the common areas is a lovely living room, and every evening Raymond and Laura join their guests for a terrific spread of wines and enjoy lively conversation. The conversation was dynamic and stimulating, and I found myself sticking around to enjoy more of it, losing track of time, and showing up late to more than one dinner reservation because of it.

The breaksfasts are lovely continental affairs, with good strong coffee, smoked salmon, fresh fruit, and yogurt in addition to the normal continental offrerings.

The staff is incredible. Really helpful with anything that you might need, and lots of guidance for places to visit and restaurants to eat at in the city.

The house is in a very quiet neighborhood near several embassies. It felt very safe walking around at night, and the metro is only a few blocks away. The location was perfect.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and I can't wait to return. It's the only place I would ever consider staying next time I am visiting DC.

  • Liked — The owners, Raymond and Laura
  • Disliked — nothing, it was perfect
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#18 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Address: 2224 R Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Circle Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation's Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle, a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Circle Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.