We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Circle Guest House

Save Saved
You added Embassy Circle Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embassy Circle Guest House
2224 R Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT – BEST RATES
Ranked #2 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

A few blocks up from DuPont Circle, the former Thai Embassy has been transformed into a luxurious travel space hosted by two of the nicest, funniest, warmest and gracious hosts one could ever hope to find, Raymond and Laura Saba. The rooms are elegant and comfortable; they provide you with a carefully curated list of local restaurants and lots of helpful travel tips.

But what sets this place apart are its owners / hosts. They don't treat as a guest; they treat you as family. They make sure every guests knows the names of all of the other guests. They greet you in the morning, the afternoon and the evening. They provide wine and beer and snacks, but more importantly, a little nourishment of the soul.

I cannot recall any other place I've stayed where I've whiled away a late afternoon discussing politics, religion, art, travel, history with complete strangers and seen all of points view presented in a civilized manner. If you're looking for more than just a hotel or more than just a B&B; this is THE place in Washington D.C.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
278
51
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rodsley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was our first trip to Washington DC. We asked our tour company to find us a small friendly B and B. We didn't expect to find such a gem. A wonderful, luxurious, friendly and perfectly renovated home.
Our hosts (Laura and Raymond) were delightful company, generous with their time always, and wine, each evening between 6 and 7 ish!!!
One of the staff (Betty) sorted out a problem we had with a bus tour company and all of the staff were friendly and helpful.
The house is a superb example of a sensitive and beautiful refurbishment. It is filled with lovely art and antiques.
Perhaps even more important is the excellent bed, fine bedding and great food and gracious company. When we return this will be the only place we will choose to stay. Many thanks for making us so very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for three nights this month. Laura and Raymond are smart, warm, thoughtful hosts as are their staff, Betty and Kate. Their attention to detail, friendliness and knowledge of the city (attractions, restaurants, means of travel) is extraordinary. I doubt the finest concierge in the city could match the service provided at the Inn.

The Inn itself is spectacular. The Saba’s have renovated the former embassy from top to bottom. All the rooms are gorgeous…gracious, and simple yet luxurious. The common areas are exquisitely decorated and guests are welcomed to make use of them.

The Inn is close to restaurants and a 5 minute walk to the Dupont Circle Metro Station – it is very easy to get to the museums, galleries and monuments. It is also great fun just walking in the neighbourhood. The former mansions of the Washington titans (politicians, financiers, masters of industry) now house foreign embassies. Lara will give you a list of favourite restaurants nearby, and her taste is scrumptious. We ate at Pesce (twice) and Mourayo and will go back to both next time in town.

We looked forward to the delicious breakfast in the morning. After exploring Washington for hours, it was lovely to return to the Inn in the afternoon and have tea and fresh cookies waiting for us. The evening soiree (wine and treats) between 5:30pm and 7pm was filled with laughter and lively, good-natured discussion among all the guests and our hosts.

We met guests who have returned to Embassy Circle year after year, and we intend to join that group.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I hesitate a bit before submitting a review because I want to keep this wonderful spot a secret for me and my friends...but clearly the word is already out that this B&B is one of the best you'll find. Anywhere.
Well-situated in a quiet and convenient neighborhood, this mansion was lovingly and expertly renovated by the owners who left no detail out (it even has a built-in air filtration system that runs 24/7). Breakfast is fresh, organic and served in the bright beautiful dining room. The beds are firm and comfortable, the house spotless and the staff is remarkable: helpful, efficient and...happy!
Laura and Raymond are friendly, relaxed hosts who know how to take care of their people and put everyone at ease. Each evening they gather with guests for an hour of excellent wine, nibbles and conversation. They are out to make the world a little smaller - one traveler at a time. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: One of the few B&B's that has rooms with two separate double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was a lovely place inside and out. The room was clean, spacious and beautifully furnished with antiques. Laura and Raymond were very accommodating and always easily found. They were very knowledgable about the area with recommendations about what to see and do including the local farmers market. The food at breakfast was delicious with lots of healthy choices and variety and freshly made omelets by Raymond. We wish we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: Stayed in room 111. On the first floor by the living room. It is a little bit louder in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Right after we got out of our cab, our luggage was whisked up the stairs into the guest house, even before we had time to knock on the front door. The neighborhood is lovely, with the old homes and embassies. Our room was pretty and very quiet. Breakfast was good, but not as fancy as at some b&b's (the buffet style gives you more flexibility, though, which can be very helpful). Unlike many b&b's (we've stayed in many), guests eat breakfast at a communal table (where the hostess makes sure that all guests are introduced to each other). If you're very shy or need a quiet, private place for breakfast, this may make you a little uncomfortable. However, all of the guests we met were extremely friendly. The afternoon wine and snacks (nuts, figs, and dates) is also held in a communal style in the lovely living room, but there is one small table in the dining room that a couple can use for some privacy, if needed. This house has been lovingly restored, and there are wonderful restaurants within a short walking distance. We loved the chicken curry and veggie bento box at Teaism; the pasta and salad and bread at Sette Osteria; and the creative Greek food at Mourayo. It took us about 30-40 minutes to walk to see the impossibly cute pandas at the National Zoo. I'm glad we combined this stay with a weekend stay at the elegant and historic Willard Intercontinental Hotel (right next to the White House and easy walks to the museums and monuments on the National Mall), which was about $80 cheaper than the Embassy Circle (no breakfast included) for their weekend rate. We thought the restaurants were much better by the Embassy Circle Guest House. We did not use the metro while at the Embassy Circle, but I'm sure that the hosts and staff would have been happy to help us with it. Our hostess was very helpful getting us a cab for the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

A bit of a delayed review - I stayed in the ECGH for a week in Nov 2013 whilst attending a conference in Washington. The building, a converted embassy, is beautiful, and the interior decor is even better throughout. The owners were just amazing - warm, friendly, talkative - and most of all super helpful (they drove me to my conference one day when I was running late). I'd give it 4.9 stars - being very picky, I've knocked off a negligible bit of a star because on the first night it got a bit too cool for me - as it was November it would have been grand if the central heating was turned on but this was resolved after that initial night, and was really not a significant issue.
I have stayed in many B&Bs in different countries, and this for me is easily one of the top - or the top one - in terms of the complete experience. Did I mention that there was home made cakes, bread and cookies on the sideboard every day and that wine and canapes were served to guests each evening? I honestly had a wonderful time, I would definitely like to return when on holiday as the BB is really conveniently located for transport links or walking to popular attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Address: 2224 R Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation’s Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Circle Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.