We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly deserving of its Tripadvisor #1 status” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Circle Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Circle Guest House to your Saves list
Embassy Circle Guest House
2224 R Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Long Weekend Specials
Ranked #2 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly deserving of its Tripadvisor #1 status”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

If you are going to stay in a B&B in DC look no further than this place. The owners take their role as hosts really seriously and do their utmost to make you feel that you an honored family guest, not merely a fee paying contributor to the overhead! They have restored this beautiful early twentieth century former Taiwanese Embassy with impeccable taste and with a view to comfort and luxury - ok I admit the mattress is a little to "firm" for my taste but it is a small niggle. The communal evening drink in the living room when you don't know what might come up in conversation with the other guests is an added bonus but don't be bothered, it isn't mandatory if you are feeling unsociable. Breakfast is fresh and wholesome and the permanent supply of tea and coffee all day long more than welcome.

Besides the owners the staff are thoughtful, and gracious and everyone goes that extra mile.

So, what's not to like? Go ahead and book if they have room for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    13
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
290
51
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

While I have never stayed here my parents always do when they visit me in DC. Embassy Circle has truly spoiled them and I don't think they would ever stay anywhere else. The Guest House has been amazingly restored and the rooms are beautiful. My parents rave about the food and the fascinating mix of people they always meet when staying here. The innkeepers are also extremely friendly and accommodating. The location is great with easy Metro access and plenty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Raymond and Laura and their wonderful staff are truly top class! A very warm and welcoming place to stay! Thoroughly recommend it as the number 1 stay in Washington. We have never been so well looked after in all our travels! Perfect location and their home is divine ... Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with this place. From the moment you walk in you feel looked after. Our room was lovely. Spotlessly clean with a cosy, yet spacious, feel. Raymond and Laura (and their team) were so welcoming-even going as far to recommend, book AND drop us off at a local restaurant on our first night when we arrived tired and jet lagged. The breakfasts were fantastic and were a great opportunity to chat with other guests and share tips. Likewise with the wine and nibbles in the evening. We really felt like we had been invited to stay at a friends beautiful house, rather than that we had booked a hotel.

The location was also great. We were easily able to walk to all of the main sights and attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Since D.C. has so much to offer my husband and I came back again. We loved this B&B so much that we decided to go back to D.C. again and stay at the Embassy Circle. What can you say about a place that is beautiful, clean and in a great location. We love the breakfast as we feel it is a nice healthy way to start the day. There is always a nice selection of fruit, breads, cheese and salmon, plus cold cereal. The breakfast also includes a nice hot entree with the meal. Lovely late afternoon wine and assortment of nuts is served each day. There is always coffee, tea and nice assortment of cookies to choose from. The rooms are beautiful and clean, truly you cannot go wrong booking your stay here. There is nothing like the feel of a B&B and the owners do a wonderful job of hosting. Conversations are always fun and lively and they are a welcoming start to a day at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our first trip to the USA and we had so many plans for our visit to Washington. However we needed to revise these during the Shut Down. A warm friendly welcome from Betty and Laura quickly welcomed us to Washington. A delightful home and beautifully decorated rooms.
The evening gatherings were super and quickly helped share the news of the days adventures of our fellow lodgers. These friendly chats over complimentary drinks and snacks were fabulous for getting us all together and one night responsible for a group of us very quickly deciding to head off to an Ice Hockey game. A unique experience for us, shared with a Queensland couple and our
"Coach" for the night, a US local. Delicious breakfast served each morning in a delightful breakfast room. Betty was helpful in helping with our plans to see the sights and booking for us, Thank you Laura for your friendly assistance and hospitality. It didn't matter that some major areas were shut down, we had plenty to see and do and enjoyed just wandering around this beautiful location. Highly recommend a stay here and if I ever return to see all the things I missed this time,
I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a fabulous 5 day stay at the Embassy Circle Guest House in September. We arrived in a taxi from the airport and were quickly greeted by a smiling and helpful Angela.
We stayed in room #134, Copper Bijar, located on the 3rd floor rear corner. The view out back was of another unique building waiting to be renovated, but we did not reserve the room for the view, rather the cleanliness, spaciousness, large comfortable bed, and yes, the artwork! The bathroom had a nice shower (no bathtub, our preference) with large fluffy white towels. The chairs in the room are at bit worn (flat). No temperature control but I brought my small travel fan in anticipation of that and opened the windows at night to let the cool breeze in (perfect). Did not need a TV as we caught up on the news by stopping by a local sports bar to rest our feet after sightseeing each day (We were there the week of the Navy yard shootings).
The hosts were good to introduce everyone by name and residence and conversation easily flowed. During our stay there were guests from the US, Canada, England, and Australia. Breakfast and wine/cheese receptions were a great opportunity to talk with others and enjoy some interesting stories. We got on so well with some guests that we all went out for drinks after dinner.
Raymond prepared a delicious Lebanese banquet one evening. I love Lebanese food and Raymond’s cooking is top notch! My husband, the cook in our house, fell in love with both the food and the kitchen! I did not notice the cookies until the last day – YUM!
You can tell that Laura loves running her B&B. The staff there, Betty and Angela, are very professional and helpful. They have contacts for the best/clean taxis, restaurant reservations, and can set you up with the metro and maps.
We received a gift-box of chocolates as an anniversary gift. This was so thoughtful!
We had lovely walks to the metro and nearby restaurants and always felt safe, day or night. The surrounding houses and embassies are beautiful and interesting. There is a great art gallery, The Phillips Collection, located nearby. We were able to visit for free (donation). There is a self-tour phone app you can download from the website.
The artwork in the Guest House is so beautiful. We were especially drawn to Justina Selenger’s paintings of the barn in the dining room as well as her art scenery in our room. My husband later surprised me for my birthday with a giclee of the Red Barn located in the dining room. It will always remind me of our wonderful stay at Embassy Circle Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Address: 2224 R Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation's Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle, a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Circle Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.