We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic B and B and the only place we'd want to stay in Washington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Circle Guest House

Save Saved
You added Embassy Circle Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embassy Circle Guest House
2224 R Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT – BEST RATES
Ranked #2 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A fantastic B and B and the only place we'd want to stay in Washington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We loved it.....I don't want to build expectations here, but we arrived at 10 am on a Sat morning and they had our room ready!....I'm sure they can't do that all the time, but it was much appreciated after flying all night to get there......We were able to have a short nap and then head out for sight seeing......The metro is close and there are tons of really great restaurants in the area.....If you like dim sum, Ping Pong was our favourite, it's dim sum all day there and really good quality.......The area is also very nice, all embassies, very pleasant streets to roam etc.....Laura and Raymond go out of their way to make everyone feel at home.....And the staff are so nice and friendly......We felt really welcome......Great conversations at breakfast and if you go for wine in the evening and lots of tips for sight seeing......On Tue and Fri nights, they cook Lebanese appetizers and they are phenomenal.....Really amazing and so delicious.....Our room (second floor) was quiet and spotless.......We've stayed all over the world and we like B and B's and so we have a fair amount of experience with them and I truly can't think of a negative thing to say......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    465
    12
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
274
51
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Embassy Circle Guest House for 4 nights last month. I’m happy to report that this was by far one of the best, most impressive travel experiences we’ve ever had!

The owners, Raymond and Laura, have taken great care to restore this former Embassy. You can definitely tell it was a labor of love. The home is absolutely beautiful! We were greeted very enthusiastically by Betty (I hope I have her name correct), and she helped take very good care of us for our entire stay. Everything has been thought of to make guests comfortable. We stayed in room 134, Copper Bijjar, and it was perfect. The room was extremely comfortable and cozy, with 2 sitting chairs, a brick wall, and interesting artwork. The location on the 3rd floor of the B&B was very quiet. We never heard another person moving about the entire time we were there-very peaceful.

The entire home, including the sitting room, dining room and kitchen were all gorgeous. Attractive artwork and antiques abound. The staff work very hard to keep everything clean, and their dedication shows; everything was spotless all the time. All of the staff have a very serious work ethic and care about this B&B. They make it their priority to make sure that you have everything you need.

Every morning, you will be treated to a lovely breakfast of both sweet and savory items, as well as a homemade frittata or french toast, coffee and tea. Then, each evening around 5:30, they serve red and white wine, as well as an assortment of snacks (almonds, pistachios, cashews and dates). This was a great way to catch up with the other guests to share what everyone did that day. One evening, Raymond prepared several Lebanese appetizers for all of us, and the group spent a couple of hours just eating and drinking wine. What an experience! It was so much fun - we laughed, told stories and had a terrific time. The appetizers were so delicious and abundant that no one even needed to go to dinner that evening, so we just hung out and continued chatting.

This B&B attracts an international, well-traveled clientele, which definitely adds to the experience. While we were there, we had the pleasure to meet guests from Scotland, London, and Canada, as well as the States. Everyone we met could not say enough about how much they were enjoying their stay. The thing is, Raymond and Laura spend time with you. They open their home to you, and truly make you feel like family, not just a guest or traveler. They love to share their stories with you, and are genuinely interested in what you have to say as well. I honestly don’t think we’ve ever met friendlier, more personable innkeepers in all the years we’ve traveled, and we’ve stayed in a lot of B&B’s.

A quick note about the location: we had never been to Washington DC before, so we weren’t sure how good the location would be. It turns out that Dupont Circle was just perfect. Several good, well recommended restaurants are just a 5 minute walk, and the metro is only a few minutes further. We used the metro to go the National Mall for the museums, as well as a trip to Arlington National Cemetery. Very easy to do. Also, the Phillips Collection is a short walk from the B&B, and it’s a absolute gem. Please visit if you get the chance.

We very highly recommend this B&B for your Washington DC trip. Of course, we enjoyed the museums and monuments immensely, but, Embassy Circle Guest House was the highlight for us. I don’t think our trip would have nearly been so special had we not stayed here. You will not regret booking this property. My husband was literally begging for us to stay just one more day. We did not want to leave! We look forward to seeing them again soon. Thanks for everything!

Jack & Lori
Cleveland, Ohio

Room Tip: Room 134, Copper Bijjar, on the 3rd floor is very secluded and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Nearing the end of our four week Canada/USA adventure we have had the pleasure of staying at some fabulous properties. We were therefore pleasantly surprised that our jaded travelling bodies and souls could be further pampered and taken to another, superior level of comfort which is offered by Laura, Raymond and their assistants at the Embassy Circle Guest House.

What an amazing property! Beautiful building, and our allocated room was large and well appointed with king bed and lovely bathroom. The guest lounge and dining room were welcoming in layout and again the decoration was flawless. We enjoyed talking to the hosts and the staff as their commitment to their guest comfort and well being was not only obvious, but genuine. Breakfast and wine/cheese reception were a great opportunity to talk with others and enjoy some extraordinary stories.

Great central location in a lovely neighbourhood, close to shops, transport, dining and attractions.

Laura, Raymond and staff, thank you for the work you do to provide such a lovely property. We loved our stay and will whole heartedly recommend Embassy Circle to family, friends and fellow travellers.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our first trip to DC and 2nd B&B experience has exceeded our expectations. The amenities were clean, comfortable bed, and the staff made us feel like part of the family. Our stay was for 2 nights and we were sad when we had to leave because we enjoyed sitting around the table after breakfast and in the living room area with the other guests and the owners enjoying each other's company. We have met couples from all over the world in our short stay at this B&B. This is a great place for young married couples who are looking for a nice "couples get away" from the kiddos. Close to metro, fantastic variety of restaurants, and downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were a bit uncertain about this luxury Guest House upon arrival. It was quite difficult to get our vast quantity of luggage from the car to the basement rooms and then the car had to be moved because of local parking restrictions. We were tired and hungry and we felt a bit lost. We were surprised that our rooms were located in the lower ground floor which had a slightly dark feel to it with partial views to a wall. I had a very bad first night sleep due to the very loud air circulation system - this takes a while to get used to. Things improved when we met Laura who is very friendly and chatty and we met some of the other guests who gave us good restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was very good with a small buffet and nice healthy choices. It was good that we did not have to sit down at a set time. We really appreciated being able to have some clothes washed and dried for a small charge as we were on a long road trip. The house has an immaculate finish and is in a safe area a reasonable walk (in the heat) from Dupont Circle. There is very good wi-fi with separate connections for each floor but there is no TV in the rooms. The showers use a water saving system but this meant that they are much weaker than we are used to. I can see that many people love this guest house and I don't want to be overly critical but am just relaying our personal experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Embassy Circle, located in a beautiful tree-lined residential neighborhood near Dupont Circle. Laura and Raymond have done an outstanding job restoring this mansion, and our room (121) was large and immaculate with a comfy king-size bed. Laura and her staff make you feel so welcomed, and Laura enjoys talking to the guests and delighting them with DC stories and historical tales. Breakfast was served around a large dining room table, with guests coming and going. Wine and light snacks were served in the late afternoon. Besides being such a beautiful place to stay, the location is ideal, near a metro stop and fabulous restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east bay
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This B&B is located in Embassy Row and was, in fact, a former embassy. Although the embassies have a few employees, this area resembles an upscale, quiet residential neighborhood. You may catch a bus or the subway which are located a few blocks from the B&B. If you are energetic, it is a nice walk to the downtown museums and the White House area.

The B&B is in a thoughtfully restored and nicely furnished building. There is some off-street parking in the basement of the building. A hot breakfast is served in the mornings, and each evening there is a wine and cheese get together. All aspects of the business are well thought out. The warm and inviting innkeepers and their staff are helpful, friendly, and make your stay most enjoyable. We highly recommend this option for your stay in DC.`

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Check out the options and related prices on-line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Address: 2224 R Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation’s Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Circle Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.