We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant choice of B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Circle Guest House

Save Saved
You added Embassy Circle Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embassy Circle Guest House
2224 R Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT – BEST RATES
Ranked #2 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Cambridge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant choice of B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at Embassy Circle Guest House in September 2012 on a 3 day trip to Washington DC. We could not have made a better choice! A very warm welcome from Angela, the helpful receptionist and general factotum who is full of useful information as well. Our hosts Laura and Raymond Saba were extremely warm and friendly, and enjoy mixing and chatting with guests over a glass or more of wine in the evening (don't miss this, the wine and conversation are both enjoyable). Excellent breakfasts, plenty of coffee and tea and cookies available, and a very good location, a few minutes walk from restaurants (ask Angela and Laura for recommendations, the metro station, or a 10 minute taxi ride to the Lincoln Memorial. Thoroughly enjoyable stay, we hope to return, and cannot recommend this guest house highly enough.

Room Tip: Don't get the basement room, you can hear every step in the kitchen above from 6 am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
278
51
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We tend to stay at B&B's for the more home-like atmosphere and the ability to connect to other travelers. But Embassy Circle Guest house is not a B&B. It is truly, as the name states, a guesthouse. Yes, we did get breakfast and a bed in a beautifully appointed home that is set in the lovely embassy neighborhood, close to public transportation, great restaurants and shopping. But at all times we were treated as valued guests of Raymond and Laura. They have a flare for bringing together people from all over the world to have meaningful, interesting and often quite entertaining discussions about our lives, politics, families – even our aspirations. It was a joy to get to breakfast every morning and cocktails every evening to hear what people had to say. Memories and friendships were made on this trip, and we will always cherish our time there.

Room Tip: If you are not able to climb steps, check with the owners about your options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent two nights here12th and 13th September. The welcome, accomodation, location and facilities were excellent. Our room was large, bed was very comfortable and the location quiet and peaceful.There are lots of shops and restuarants nearby and our hosts recommendation ( The Bookstore) for dinner was very good.
We enjoyed meeting our hosts and the other guests for the evening wine.Excellent wine by the way. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

When I walked through the front door, I knew immediately that I had made the right decision to stay at the Embassy Circle Guest House. We were greeted warmly, had our bags taken to our room, and shown to our beautiful, quiet room that had a very comfortable bed with feather pillows and high quality sheets. We settled into one of two nights of the best sleep I have had while traveling. The owners and staff took good care of us, and provided us with directions, recommendations for dinner, and fresh fruit, yogurt, breakfast breads and coffee for breakfast. We joined in the lively breakfast conversation, but also ran out to Starbucks to feed my addiction..which was 3 blocks away! This is a great location for heading to the Zoo, the Capital Buildings and War Memorials. We walked everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

There's a reason that Embassy Circle Guest House is numero uno on TripAdvisor in Washington DC, and it doesn't have to do with the fact that it's a wonderful, beautiful property in the heart of a great neighborhood in DC. It has to do with our hosts, Raymond and Laura Sada.
We've stayed at other B&Bs, from New Orleans, to St.Augustine, Charleston, Boston, and elsewhere. Since I'm sometimes a very private person, I've always liked that we'd had the run of those places we'd stayed because we didn't have to interact with the owners.
The Sadas changed that, spoiled us, and we came to understand the true difference between a hotel and a bed and breakfast.
Raymond and Laura just enjoy people - their conversation, their ideas, and their company. They brought different couples together at breakfast and during the afternoon wine and cheese gatherings. Every viewpoint, every person was respected and considered. We got to know the other guests, their plans and experiences and suggestions.
Yes, the house is immaculate, elegant, stately, comfortable, and private when you want that. It's beautifully restored and surrounded by the embassies of different countries, within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and public transportation.
This has become the standard by which will judge any further bed and breakfast experiences, and, frankly, I fear they will all come up short.

Room Tip: Frankly, we booked their "cheapest" room, and yet when we arrived were immediately upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I just finished a wonderful weekend stay at the Embassy Circle Guest House. Even though we live only 16 miles away, we wanted to do something other than go out for a nice dinner in celebration of our 35th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. Raymond and Laura, the proprietors, were fantastic hosts and are a wealth of information as well as great conversationalists. Complimentary wine and appetizers were a wonderful treat in the late afternoon. We especially enjoyed the early evening conversations with Laura and Raymond and the other guests who hailed from California, Salt Lake City, Houston and New Jersey. The guest house which is nestled among several foreign embassies, and itself was a former embassy, is within easy walking distance of Dupont Circle which is a lively area of D.C. with a variety of restaurants and shops. Restaurant Nora, one of the top restaurants in D.C., is only a five minute walk from the guest house. The guest house was recently refurbished with an eye for the fine details including beautiful furnishings. Of note is the interior architectural detail which is very impressive. Our room was spacious and very clean and, more importantly, there was no road noise. We highly recommend the Embassy Circle Guest House for D.C. locals as a great place to get away from it all for a weekend or a short staycation. For out-of-town travelers the National Mall with the Smithsonian museums and the U.S. Capitol are close by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This wonderful guest house has everything one is looking for when visiting DC.

The guest house itself is a wonderful renovated embassy where no detail has been overlooked. From the antique, but comfortable, furniture, to the beautiful rugs and moldings, the atmosphere is classy, elegant and inviting.

Your hosts & owners Laura and Raymond want to be sure that your time in DC is perfect. Their hospitality and fantastic conversations make all who arrive here welcome and at home.

Their guest house attracts national and international guests making for interesting conversations at the breakfast table or afternoon wine hour.

Breakfasts are a full continental breakfast with everything from fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese, hard boiled eggs, fresh bread, juices, coffee and a different hot dish each day. In the evening enjoy 2 hours of great conversation with Laura, Raymond and other guests while sipping a nice glass of wine.

Our room was bright and spacious. Like the rest of the house all of the furniture is antique, but wonderfully thought out. Housekeeping makes sure that your room, along with the rest of the house is extremely clean. All of the staff, including Angela and Betty, are so friendly and helpful.

The guest house is conveniently located to Dupont Circle which is just a short walk away and has many wonderful neighborhood restaurants in all price ranges. And the Metro station is right at Dupont Circle so you can jump on a train and be sight seeing in DC in just a few stops.

This guest house just has the right combination of everything for a perfect trip: wonderful place to stay, great people, super neighborhood and near everything you need. We are already trying to figure out when we can retrun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Address: 2224 R Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation’s Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Circle Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.