We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 New York Ave, NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #61 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
ny
2 reviews
“A hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We want to stay someplace nice while visiting DC August 2014 but didn't want to break the bank. This hotel ended up being perfect. The room was very comfortable for the 3 of us. The staff could not be more accommodating. It was a distance to the heart of DC but having the metro station within 2 blocks made it very convenient to get to. The surrounding neighborhood seemed less than desirable but by the end of our first day we felt pretty safe. The ATF building is between the hotel & the station. Getting around by metro was extremely easy once we got our bearings. Our car was tucked away (for $25/day) in their parking lot. Next time we'll take Amtrak down. The only gripe we actually had was their breakfast. Though it was free it could have been a little better. Hot dishes were cold & sometimes hard. The mini danishes bagels & croissants would have been better if they came from BJ's or Costco. We ended up having breakfast one morning at the Au Bon Pain by the metro. All in all it was a nice experience. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool ( or the back) are much quieter. The front side of the hotel was very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    29
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
16
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed for 3 nights on business in January 2015. I thought the rooms were very comfortable, large, very clean and of course almost brand new. Temperature, sound, etc. were all just fine. I slept great.

The staff at this hotel were top notch. Everyone I met in my 3 day stay were very pleasant, polite and professional.

The free continental breakfast (with a few hot entries) was good.

One night I stayed in and ordered a pizza from the small bistro in the lobby area and it was very good.

This hotel is about 2 blocks from a Red Line metro stop. So this is a perfect place to stay if you use the Metro to get around. The walk from the metro to the hotel is easy, but it is quite dark after dark (not a lot of businesses with lights near the hotel and not a lot of pedestrian traffic). One block away there is a nice grocery store and about 4 or 5 fast food (potbelly, wendy's etc.) Other than that there is not much in the very near vicinity - you will be using the metro to go places.

I think this is a perfect place to stay for either business or pleasure (or family) - a short metro ride to any of the sights in DC.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a family we have spent 5 weeks in America on both sides of the country, it was nice to stay in a nice new hotel. The hotel is only 7 months old.
Checkin was a breeze and Sarah on the front desk was the most helpful and informative we have had on our holiday. We mention it was my daughters birthday and she give her a cake for free. Nice memory.
The room was nice, beds were good and the shower hot.
The wifi worked well.
The complimentary breakfast was ok, they serve bacon and eggs in a roll nice but limits your choices, there is cereal and fruit as well.
The hotel is located close to the train station which is good as there are very little restaurants close by due to the fact the hotel is located in the industrial area.
We ate in China town both nights.
The hotel is located only 10mins drive from the Union station which is handy if that's where you arrive like us.
Definitely recommend this hotel, not fancy but very nice.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Ponte Vedra Bch
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do not expect this hotel to be on par with the Hyatt Brand. That being said the price is right for a family trying to see DC on a budget. If money is not an issue then check into The Hotel Washington, across from the White House...It is spectacular. The Hyatt Place was very clean but the room was a bit small. Two adults and two kids would make it just fine for sleeping. It did have a refrigerator and coffee maker. Bathroom was modern but small, shower had good pressure. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, especially the valet employees. 24 hr cafe for food, Mc Donald and Wendy's around the corner. Other selection of restaurants nearby but not so much for kids. Free breakfast is outstanding, we very much enjoyed it. Large varied selection and always replenished.

Room Tip: high floor facing the city for quiet and a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We opted to be a bit farther from the areas where we prefer to stay because we thought we would have more space. We couldn't have been more wrong. This was one of the smallest hotel rooms I've stayed in-- definitely not the spacious rooms advertised. The hotel was eerily empty. Since there were no restaurants/bars close, we had a beer downstairs. There was no food available for purchase except granola bars and bags of chips-- oh, and the signature Hyatt green apples. We had a nice dinner downtown-- two Metro rides away-- but came back to the same quiet hotel with a hostess who didn't remember us (even though we'd had a long conversation upon check-in.)The bed had a terrible mattress and our morning showers were frigid! The only positive about this hotel was the complimentary full breakfast before getting on the road.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear kcalihan107,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. As we strive to learn from the valuable feedback our guests provide. I would like to apologize that you had some dissatisfaction regarding the mattress and frigid morning shower.

Your comments really help us improve quality service and deliver exceptional service to you. We will work on the areas that need improvement and assure you a better experience on your next visit.

All the best,

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel given the reviews and close location to the train station. The rooms are modern as the hotel is newly completed. The staff are excellent. However, the surrounding suburb is in the process of being developed and the eating options in the evening are limited. We ate at restaurants in downtown and then made our way back to the hotel. The breakfast is complementary and is very good, but can get very busy.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Jacko78,

Thank you for staying with us. I am delighted you enjoyed our modern rooms. Our complimentary breakfast is popular and all the convenient amenities of NoMa . We aim to provide exceptional guest service and exceed your expectations. It is our goal that every guest’s journey with us leaves them feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was perfect. The front desk staff was pleasant, helpful, knowledgeable of the establishment. The king size room was equipped with a pull out sofa and a nice modern touch. Bathroom had class doors dual lighting and appeared to be brand new. We arrived late and had to eat from the 24hr menu located in the lobby. The chicken quesadilla and pepperoni pizza was delicious. I wish I remembered everyone's name but I do remember Ashlee who checked us out. She was pleasant and friendly. If there was one thing that needed to be improved I would say the valet service. I called ahead once and the front desk forgot to inform the valet guy and we had to wait 20 minutes and they are not often visible when you return you have to go to the front desk so they can call them. Overall a great hotel located 10 minutes to White House... 5 minutes to lounges and bars. Starbucks around the corner and 24 hours Wendy's and Mc Donald (if you like that sort of food). Great place!!!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Nicole S,

Thank you for staying with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your accommodations.

We aim to provide exceptional guest service and exceed your expectations. It is our goal that every guest’s journey with us leaves them feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol

Address: 33 New York Ave, NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 14-story hotel is located in the northern portion of the NoMa district of Washington, D.C., the fastest developing neighborhood in D.C. with a vibrant mixed‐used development that sits just north of, and in view of the Capitol Building. The 200 oversized guestrooms are perfect for unwinding and relaxing with earthy colors and natural materials include a small sitting area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.