We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Wonderful Staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 New York Ave, NE, Washington DC, DC 20002 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DC Metro Package
Ranked #60 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Clermont, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place, Wonderful Staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My Hyatt Place/DC stay included 34 consecutive days from the end of July through the end of August. At first I was not sure about the location, but once I got settled into my room and search the area everything was great! This is a very nice hotel with wonderful staff! The rooms are specious with a great view of the Capitol and the Washington Monument, super clean, modern and new. The location may not be in the downtown area but the metro station is just a block away from the hotel. I walked to the metro everyday with no issues. I felt very safe in the area with very little noise outside and I was on the 15th floor. The noise between rooms was a bit much to handle at times when trying to go to bed for the night. There are a few great places to eat around the hotel to include a Starbucks, CVS, Walgreens, and a supermarket. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was very convenient with a good selection of breakfast items. The staff there are very accommodating to your needs and willing to make your stay a pleasant one. I would highly recommend staying at this Hyatt. I will stay again the next time am in DC.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
5
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niort, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was great and spacious! The bed is a king size one, very confortable! But the room was very noisy, we heard the sound of the streets as if the window are opened, we also heard the TV of our neighbour!
The breakfast was typically american and fine for a free one!
We have tested the swimmingpool, and impossible to go in there! It was too dirty: leaves, dirt, cigarette butt. The hotel is well located near metro station. We've got a great deal to book this hotel, we were disappointing about the noise while the hotel is not in midtown and the dirty swimmingpool!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was so lucky to have found this place as it had just opened a few months earlier. At first I wasn't sure about the location but everything we needed was close by, including a grocery store, 5 Guys, and the metro. The room was very spacious so my son had lots of space for his toys and having great wifi and breakfast in the morning as part of the room cost was definitely what we needed. Would definitely stay here again. Oh and the customer service was great all around and I slept great every night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great new Hyatt Place, easy walk from the NoAm-Gallaudet Metro station. You can see the hotel from the Metro station. There is not much to see in the immediate area. I felt comfortable walking to further places during the day, but things were not so great at night. People outside smoking and walking by, loud motorcycles all night. I was on the 14th floor but still heard street sounds at night (not enough to wake me up). The bathroom is larger than most Hyatt Place's, with the sink and counter in the bathroom. Very nice high shower for tall people. Good WiFi. Usual great breakfast for Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was brand new and rooms were lovely, clean and I had a great view from the 11th floor.
Alex in the front desk and breakfast area is a lovely person and all the staff were friendly and courteous. I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for two nights. The room was very modern and within about two blocks from the NoMa-Gallaudet metro station. The complimentary breakfast was sufficient with strong coffee to add to our experience. There wasn't too much else in the surrounding area of the hotel besides the ATF office, a moes restaurant, and some other businesses however, the hotel staff informed me that the owner of the hotel bought adjacent properties was was seeking to build mixed use office/retail/restaurant space to help cater to the hotel. I was very pleased with our stay, and as time moves on your experience may be more enhanced than mine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

New Hotel, great staff, safety inside the hotel (key card to go up elevator) but this is a ROUGH area. Our family of 5 slept great in this large room but the street where valet parking is located is a dangerous area after dark. We heard fighting and gun shots, even 8 stories up. Easy walk to metro but after dark, stay on New York Ave, not on easier back road (N I think). Would not stay again due to nightclubs/late night danger of this area. probably Ok if you are in bed by 9-10pm or use cabs instead of metro

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear KimbKeith,

Thanks so much for sharing your first experience as we always like to get feedback both good and bad. A good stay starts with receiving everything you expect from a clean crisp room to being greeted by well trained staff that put the guest comfort first. I understand being so close to the city center our fourth of July celebrations carried on through the weekend.

I would like to apologize our location of our hotel does not live up to your expectation. We value every guest who stays with us and want you to feel welcome, safe and comfortable in our property.

Wish all the best,

Stacy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol

Address: 33 New York Ave, NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 14-story hotel is located in the northern portion of the NoMa district of Washington, D.C., the fastest developing neighborhood in D.C. with a vibrant mixed‐used development that sits just north of, and in view of the Capitol Building. The 200 oversized guestrooms are perfect for unwinding and relaxing with earthy colors and natural materials include a small sitting area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.