We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #17 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in upper floor corner room. Pros: modern, clean, spacious room, good view, great customer service, excellent restaurant on main floor. Cons: squeaky bed, fridge froze everything, no water pressure in shower.

Very polite friendly service upon check-in and check-out. Food in restaurant was fantastic, both in-restaurant and through room service. Good, safe area for walking and sightseeing.

Bed was up on "blocks" and mattress felt a bit cheap - hence the squeaking and mildly uncomfortable bed (although bed linens were great). Hotel should upgrade bed frames and mattresses in light of number of Trip Advisor reviews mentioning this issue.

Overall, good value for the money. Improved bed and water pressure would have made it "great".

Room Tip: Corner rooms on upper floors are very bright, airy, and spacious,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
On behalf of the entire team at the Hilton Garden Inn Georgetown, we wish to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you as our guest. Here at the Garden Inn, we strive to deliver service that exceeds expectations. I was glad to hear that you liked the bed linens but unfortunately not the platform bed. I will certainly pass that information on to Hilton Corporation.

We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Thank you for choosing our hotel. You can count on us!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    88
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
94
60
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was large and clean-we enjoyed this hotel for our 3 night visit. The rooftop was a nice addition, although the pool is more of a place to just cool down due to the size. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us last week. We are honored that our hotel has been your choice in the Washington, D.C. area. We are very fortunate to have dedicated associates that deliver world class service to all of our guests. We look forward to your return visit to Washington, D.C. in the hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, Ile-de-France, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is pretty recent (opened in June 2014 if I remember well).
We really enjoyed our stay there and it is pretty close to Georgetown which is very nice to visit too.
Except the location (not so close to downtown, but still at a walking distance of the Lincoln Memorial)... IT WAS PERFECT.
The room was nicely decorated and all the new furnitrures make it look even comfier.
THE RESTAURANT of the hotel was EPIC... No need to look for a place to eat in town. The service is really good and the meal is excellent. We arrived late on saturday evening and didn't want to look for something else outside therefore it was the obvious choice. The food was so tasty and sophisticated... we simply took all our meals there until our depature... except for some delicious cupcakes at Georgetown :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
On behalf of the entire team at the Hilton Garden Inn Georgetown, we wish to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you as our guest. Here at the Garden Inn, we strive to deliver service that exceeds expectations. I would love to hear what one more thing we could have done to enhance your stay.
We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Thank you for choosing our hotel. You can count on us!
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel, and I recommend it for anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel with excellent guest services. It was especially helpful to have a laundry room, easily accessible internet access, and a workout room. A great place to stay for an extended stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at The Hilton Garden Inn Georgetown DC. I was pleased to read that you were able to use the laundry and fitness center and that you found the internet connection to your liking. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I rarely will write a review but felt so compelled to share my experience with others. I stay in MANY hotels around the country and know what I like and don't like. This hotel was terrific. The staff was incredibly friendly and helped me with every question I had. They have fast, free wifi, which is an incredible plus for me having to bring work with me. They also have a laundry facility which was helpful after traveling for three weeks. The rooms were pleasant, clean, and the maid staff was very nice and polite. The bed was comfortable and they had a ton of movie channels which was pretty cool. The hotel itself was very clean and they lock the door at night providing safety to its guests. The hotel is located in a nice area of DC, cabs were accessible. I believe this hotel is fairly new, so it still has the modern newness factor to it, nice lobby and the attached restaurant is fairly inexpensive and good food. The gym was really nice for a small hotel gym. All of the equipment was new and had a good variety of equipment to use. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with us this week. We are honored that our hotel has been your choice in the Washington, D.C. area. We are very fortunate to have dedicated associates that deliver world class service to all of our guests and they look forward to your return visit to Washington, D.C. in the hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel as my son and I were visiting both Georgetown and George Washington Universities. The location was great to get to both on foot. Since this was a new hotel everything was in perfect condition including new towels. It is nestled between high end hotels like the Ritz Carlton and the Fairmount hotels so one feels like one is staying at a similar high end hotel. What a wonderful stay and fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
On behalf of the entire team at the Hilton Garden Inn Georgetown, we wish to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you as our guest. Here at the Garden Inn, we strive to deliver service that exceeds expectations. I would love to hear what one more thing we could have done to enhance your stay.

We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Thank you for choosing our hotel. You can count on us!
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a gem. We selected it because of the reasonable price (reasonable for the DC area), the microwave and refrigerator in the room, free wireless, and walkability to two Metro stations. The fitness center, business center, and pool were enticing as well. However, we got sufficient exercise just walking around DC and didn't need the fitness center. The desk and chair in the room enabled my husband to work comfortably for hours with high-speed Internet connections and we never used the business center. The rooftop pool was tiny but provided a reprieve after hours of sightseeing in the hot sun. The room was spacious, comfortable, and well appointed.

We felt that the staff lived up to their claim to make us feel like welcome and appreciated guests.
John, at the front desk, was especially accommodating.

We will be happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
On behalf of the entire team at the Hilton Garden Inn Georgetown, we wish to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you as our guest. Here at the Garden Inn, we strive to deliver service that exceeds expectations. I would still love to hear what one more thing we could have done to enhance your stay.
We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you in the near future. I will certainly let John know of your kind words.Thank you for choosing our hotel. You can count on us!
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area

Address: 2201 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular Hilton Garden Inn near the Georgetown neighborhood is located only 4 blocks from Dupont Circle and Foggy Bottom Metro stops. Relax by the heated rooftop swimming pool and garden terrace. Dine onsite at the charming bistro, Cafe Deluxe. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, in-room refrigerator and microwave, business center and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.