We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zengo DC

Zengo DC
781 Seventh Street NW, Chinatown, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-393-2929
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zengo DC is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #207 of 2,494 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Asian, Contemporary, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 7th & H Street NW
Transit: Red, Green, Yellow lines at Chinatown/Gallery Place
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Value for Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Chose Zengo for Sunday brunch based on Tripadvisor reviews. Unlimited Mimosas and Bloody Mary's. The food was very tasty, course after course. Great to try many items and share with everyone. Absolutely full at end of Brunch. Make a reservation as they are very busy.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    111
    43
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Bottomless brunch buffet - great drinks, decent food, questionable service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I came here with a reservation with a group of friends for the bottomless brunch. The pricing is on par with other bottomless brunches in the DC area, although one plus was that one friend with us was able to do brunch buffet without the drinks for $10 less. I was impressed by the variety in both drinks and food options. We were able to sample most of the items off of the menu eventually, but the plates were strangely brought out at different speeds. For instance, we ordered sushi rolls soon after we sat down but didn't see it come out until two hours later - the waiter informed us that our 2 hour time limit was up as he brought it out. This seemed like a shady move, we had repeatedly asked when it was coming out and had been looking forward to trying more of it.

Overall, if you're looking to try another one of DC's many bottomless brunch buffets, this is a solid option to consider and is conveniently situated in the heart of Chinatown.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“not what i expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

but that was a good thing, usually led upstairs to darkened venue, means food not too good and they don't want you to see what you're eating. Here, there were discrepancies between the version of the menu in the window and the one presented at the table they didn't quite know about but soup and salad very nice, also my server Justin very good. The hostess spent inordinate time with people who walked in to chat but otherwise, i would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Zengo on a Saturday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Was in DC for a weekend stay on Memorial weekend. One of my wifes college friends suggested we eat here with her to catch up. With this being my first time in DC, popping up out of the metro into Chinatown was a pretty cool experience. The restaurant is on the same corner as the metro which was very convenient.

The food was very good, we ordered 4 small plates and a main entree. Overall for 3 people it was the perfect amount of food. We also had desert, which was also very good. The atmosphere was pretty good, the restaurant was about half full the night we were there. The waitress we had was very good as well, which always helps.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Always Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have eaten here several times and I have never had a bad meal. Drinks are unusual and tasty but the real star is the Edamame XO Style. It is a bit spicy (which I typically do not like) but it is absolutely amazing. We usually end up with several orders and not a speck left at the end of the meal. Ceviche has always been good as well. Great for celebrations or just a night out. I have heard the brunch is very good but have not made it yet.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zengo DC also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Zengo DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zengo DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.