We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Open City

Open City
2331 Calvert St NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2622 (Upper Northwest)
202-332-2331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #196 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

After seeing the lines to get in & reading the hype, I expected more. It was crowded, & difficult to get a table. Decor was average, uninspired. Did enjoy the large windows with light streaming in. The food, all I can say about it was that it was uninteresting& pretty bland. Nothing stood out, it was like roadside diner cuisine. Don't understand it's' popularity.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    296
    88
    43
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I was staying at the Omni Shoreham hotel nearby and i had breakfast every monrning. Coffee is good and breakfast is OK, don't order the omelettes, the're prettys bads. The rest is ok. Very busy on w-e, comme early. Service is fast and professional.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had dinner at Open City just a week ago when staying at the Omni Shoreham. We had never been there before and was pleasantly surprised. The food was good and affordable. The service was friendly and quick. My only complaint was that we ate in the side room and the floor was quite dirty with old french fries and other food just collecting. However, despite that, we really enjoyed our dinner and would definitely go back on our next trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great brunch spot! Plus gluten free options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We loved this popular DC restaurant. Apparently it is always busy. We were handed a pager when we checked in, but it wasn't a long wait. We were there for brunch/lunch. They had a excellent coffee menu, but I only ordered a cup of coffee and was told there was a fee for refills. We had ordered a meal, so was surprised to learn that during brunch service I needed to pay for a refill. I have never encountered this before. Other than that it was a great meal. My gluten free family was thrilled with the awesome gluten free mac and cheese. They also had gluten free pizza. We were surprised that they didn't have gluten free bread for my husbands burger. It was a great burger and he was fine with it served on a bed of lettuce, but you would think with the other gluten free offerings they would have gluten free bread. Overall, it was a minor inconvenience. There was attractive outdoor seating, but was a little chilly for us to brave it. It is on a busy street, but Rock Creek Parkway is just across the street. A great urban restaurant with a view of the beautiful parkway. This is a fun bustling urban coffee shop/restaurant/bar. It looks like it must be busy all day with all they have to offer. Will definitely return on our next trip to DC.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bad Service Mediocre Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Arrived early Sunday and seated ourselves per the sign. After sitting unattended for 10 minutes I flagged down a busboy to get a menu. A table near us caught the waitresses attention as they were ready to give up on service and leave. I snagged the same waitress. The kitchen is extremely fast, however so once you get someone to pay attention to you, you do get your food. Let me add that this is probably my 15th visit-- but it is my last. The food was awful. The poached eggs came swimming in water on a soggy piece of lettuce and the "crispy " bacon was rare. After I asked to have it crisped up in came back completely blacked-- burned in the microwave. So that's it I'm done. We have had enough of their crummy service and irregular kitchen.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open City also viewed

 

Been to Open City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.