We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is Open City resting on its laurels?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Open City

Open City
2331 Calvert St NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2622 (Upper Northwest)
202-332-2331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Is Open City resting on its laurels?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went to Open City last Sunday morning. We have been here many, many times over the years, and we love the place. I am used to waiting in line for 45 minutes for a table during the weekend breakfast rush. It didn't happen this time. Our party of 5 was promptly seated at 9:30 (prime time). There were a few people waiting for tables, but not that many. My chorizo scramble was good, but maybe not quite as good as I remembered. Maybe we just happened to wander in on a slow day, but I wonder if Open City is losing a little of its cachet?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    246
    77
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great spot, great service, morning noon and night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Open city is across the street from the omni Shoreham. We stopped her every morning for coffee & Danish on our way into DC. We ate lunch, dinner and breakfast here on 3 of the 5 days we were in DC. The place grows on you. Young crowd. Outside dinning great food very reasonable prices. A big hit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast All DAY!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

First, the service was impecable. The food was beyond delicious. Their breakfast selection comes with the choice of hashbrowns or grits, and at the advice of our waiter, we all chose the hashbrowns, and they are amazing: thick rectangular patties crispy and golden on the outside and so smooth inside. They have a great version of huevos rancheros: their hashbrown bowl was a hit;the OC Royale was out of this world; and my chorizo omelet was great. Their Abuela gloria is like a margarita with a little kick from the jalapeno. We asked our waiter if they had strawberry-rhubarb pie (it was not in their menu) and he came back with a YES, and he made Father's Day more fabulous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A neighborhood gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A full menu - incl. all-day breakfast service. Al fresco dining in a great neighborhood (easy to reach). Good to great wait staff. Excellently prepared food at very reasonable prices. What's not to like? Go!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We ate here whilst staying at the omni Shoreham. Breakfast was good and the variety. We also had a couple of evening meals here, again the service was well worth the 20% tip we left and the food was spot on. Would recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open City also viewed

 

Been to Open City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.