We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for restricted diets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Open City

Open City
2331 Calvert St NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2622 (Upper Northwest)
202-332-2331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for restricted diets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were staying at the Omni Shoreham which was located diagonally across an intersection from one of the Open City restaurants. The hotel's food was quite good, but expensive, and we visited Open City several times. I am on a gluten, dairy, egg free diet and on our first visit I had a dish with shrimp, chickpeas and quinoa that I could eat every day! Unfortunately when I went back the next day, the menu had changed as had this item. I ordered a salad instead and it was also good, but I eat lots of restaurant salads because of my restricted diet and I'm always thrilled when I have other choices. I did contact the restaurant after our visit and asked for the recipe. It was sent to me in a couple of days and I'm anxious to try it. Our food and service were good on all our visits and the prices were reasonable. Exactly what we hope to find when traveling!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    246
    77
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JC,NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent espresso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

loved this coffee shop, good food, great coffee and very good service, the baked goods and bagels were delicious

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Always one of our favorite places to eat when visiting our daughter in DC. It is extremely affordable for the large portions you receive. Breakfast items like the French toast and grits are exceptional. Pizza, burgers, and sandwiches all family favorites. Don't miss out on the spinach&parmesean dip with homemade chips -- YUM!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Busy Place, Good Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was a busy place for Sunday breakfast which is always a good sign and can cheer you up. We tried Chorizo Scramble with Grits and Open City Omelet at this place. They both were ok but not memorable. As with many busy places, the staff were also not very attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good, perhaps not very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I always wish TA had a vote between Average and Very Good as I think my first experience would fall in the Good category, but it was better than Average on our visit. Our group of eight went on a Sunday evening and were seated immediately as it was not too busy. Our server, Lauren K. was excellent and was responsive and proactive. She made a point of asking our group whether we had any food allergies or issues when ordering. Extensive menu (perhaps too to maintain good quality on all?) and 6 draft beers on tap and some nice wine selections. Decent prices (where can you get a $5 BLT these days (we didn't order). Nice casual but cool atmosphere in the restaurant.

In general, many of the dishes we received were lukewarm or room temperature and this was a disappointment. Nice crisp BUT LUKEWARM french fries? they should be made on plated right before coming out. The croque madame was actually pretty good, but the bechamel was a tiny bit bland and underseasoned but the egg was perfectly cooked atop. The egg bacon scramble was recommended by our server and was ok, but a bit on the small side. the sides of toast and grits were fine. The cheese burgers ordered were cooked nicely with fresh accompaniments but lukewarm fries. The crusty club was enjoyed and the design your own omelet. A nice surprise was the pizza - it was large and appropriately crisp - i was expecting less and some disappointment here. If you like thin, crisp pizza, you will like. The white mussels were pretty good but the clumsy doughy white bread sticks accompanying it looked and tasted exactly like what you would find at Olive Garden. Some crusty cut bread would have been better to mop up the Mussel sauce/juice (a bit under seasoned) - and they charegd 50 cents for the breadsticks as they didn't supply eny with this entree. Really?

The apple pie with vanilla ice cream a la mode was very good. nice flavors and flaky crust. the Kentucky Derby Pecan Pie was more like a chocolate pie with a few pecans thrown in. I would not order gain. The coconut custard pie pretty good but it needed a stronger coconut flavor, and the brownie was huge (enough for 2 people), but was a bit too "cakey" and not as dense as a true brownie should be.

We will return and try some other breakfast items (available all day).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open City also viewed

 

Been to Open City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.