We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chocolate Room is SWEET !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16th and U, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Chocolate Room is SWEET !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent 5 days at the Meridian Manor in the "Chocolate Room" ..the room was spacious and well appointed, bathroom was small, and very quiet as well. John, the owner, is awesome. Greeted us, showed us around and was very helpful. Even came in early the day we left and made our breakfast early. He is very helpful in helping you figure out transit, suggest restaurants. Plenty of choices for a continental breakfast, lots of protein. Great bus service nearby as well as a subway stop about 4 blocks away. Lots of restaurants nearby. Safe area to walk around.

Room Tip: Chocolate room is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    44
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
33
69
31
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We (couple with baby) spent a long weekend (Thur-Sun) at Meridian Manor and enjoyed our stay thoroughly! Our very nice room had a queen bed, private bathroom and John, the owner, supplied us with a pack-and-play for our baby. While the room was not as spotless as your regular hotel room (some "hidden" dust) it was clean enough.
The 'continental breakfast' was delicious and there was plenty to be had, including cereals, english muffins, fresh fruit, cake, yogurth, orange juice, coffee, tea. John was a perfect host from beginning to end, greeting us warmly, showing us around the house, giving tipps and chatting about this and that.
It was our first trip to DC and we will certainly return and book Meridian Manor again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a great time at Meridian Manor. John, the owner, was brilliant; a really helpful, genuinely nice guy and a great local guide. It's well-placed to explore DC on foot; about 30mins walk straight down 16th St to the White House from the front door. But there's also a frequent bus service right pass the door (and DC is deceptive; all the big sigts seem next door to each other but you get to the end of the day and you've done 10miles easy) .

The house is very characterful and despite only staying for three nights it did feel like we were
returning ‘home’ after each day of exploring. It's well equipped too with a communal loungeand kitchen for teas and coffees. There's a CVS less than a block away for groceries and take-outs and bars wthin a 2 block radius. We had a room with a shared bathroom on the top floor. Sharing wasn’t a problem at all and our room was spacious. It had a TV and a hair
dryer (which was a great help as we were travelling light) and some toiletries were provided n the shower.

Breakfasts were great. The breakfast is continental and there’s lots of choice of cereals, toast,
fruit, yoghurts, cake, fruit juice and teas and coffee. John really takes car on the details like the yoghurt being put out in a bowl full of ice to keep it cool! John’s also usually at breakfast and is happy to offer suggestions for how to spend your day in DC.

If you’re a foodie then Ben’s Chilie Bowl- as featured on Man V Food is about 20mins walk away.

Meridian Manor was a great introduction to DC and American B&B’s and we’d definitely stay again. The value for money really felt good too; on our trip it was the most expensive place we stayed, but hey, it's the capital and the market is what it is.

Thanks again John, you're a star! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I am not sure if the people writing the reviews have been to a different place or what...I booked this place for 2 nights and I was lucky enough to spend only one night here. Management: The honer pens me the door and shows me everything about the house knowing I will spend here only one night. When I ask for breakfast he says I could get yogurt and cereals before 8 am, but no coffee, the only thing I cared about. He then takes me to my room. Room: Room is clearly dusty, and smells bad. I had to buy sanitizing wipes at the closeby rite aid cause the white dresser where I am suppose to put my belongings is now grey of dust (and to wipe the toilet seat and sink). Bed linen are not ironed and have stains. Fortunately I have my own pillow cover. Bathroom saw a mop few guests ago: There are hairs on the floor (not mine) and the vanities are clearly dirty. A cheap soap has been left there for me. No tissue or anything else useful. Only useless outdated magazines...who cares, come on! On the floor close to the bed a bottle cap from previous guests. Dust is everywhere. There is no care of this place. I am not caring about the frame on the walls if the luck of cleanliness is what will make me unhappy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ustreet, Owner at Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I am totally up for being critisized when its justified BUT,None of these things were true.(except for the little plastic bottle cap that i somehow didnt see under bed)
I changed(cleaned) the room and I think when vacuuming I missed it under the corner leg of the bed. I try to clean everything as best as possible though.

This guest did not get a refund for her first day because she didnt show up her first day of her reservation(and she did not let us know that she wasnt coming), she only showed up the second day. She did not get a refund for her first day. I guess she was pissed and wrote a mean review
John the owner :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in DC with family for a long weekend over Easter. John was very attentive to all the guests and welcomed us with details of the B&B and answered any questions we had. He is a super nice guy and remembered everyone's name, which is a nice touch. We stayed in the Chocolate and Slate rooms, and both were as shown on the website. They were well equipped and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The B&B is well located, on a walking distance from the dupont circle and the u street metro stations. We stayed in the Chocolate Room and it looks exactly like in the website pictures. The room is spacious and the bed is comfortable. Although it overlooks the street, the room was pretty quiet in the mornings. I think the house is well isolated because we didn't hear any noise from the other rooms.

The owner is a really friendly and easy going person, we felt very welcomed during our stay and we enjoyed really much the morning discussions with him and the other guests during the breakfast. We also appreciated the recommendations about the city, restaurants, etc.

I would recommend this option without hesitation, especially if you consider the hotel prices in Washington. But you have to consider this is not a hotel, this is a more casual option, you don't have room service or a hotel desk in a bed and breakfast, but my overall opinion is higher than many hotels I have been before.

Room Tip: I would recommend the chocolate room. It is a big room, with a full bathroom and a comfortable bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good value for the DC area as the"chocolate room" is spacious and comfortable. Relatively short walk to the metro but a little bit longer hoof for the Dupont Circle area. Breakfast is sparse but can hold you over until lunch time. Quite a few eateries close by, would recommend "Busboys and Poets" which had a good menu with some nice comfort food (try the meatloaf).

Overall I would recommend it to those of you not seeking the full service hotel experience. It is a lot like staying with a nice relative that you don't know that well but are happy they opened up their house to you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16th and U, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Hotel Class:3 star — Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the exceptional location of the Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast. We are located in 2 of Washington's best neighborhoods, Dupont Circle and the new U. Street Corridor. Enjoy more than 80 restaurant choices, shopping, and nightclubs all within walking distance. The city's Metro system is 3 blocks from the house offering easy access to the Convention Center, Smithsonian Museums and the National Mall. Choose from 6 guestrooms or a furnished apartment. Off-street parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Manor Hotel Washington Dc
Meridian Manor b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.