We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16th and U, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at both the Meridian Manor as well as their sister B&B, U Street Bed & Breakfast, many, many times over the past several years. The rooms are diverse, great, cute and quiet. And the host John is always helpful and accommodating. The surrounding neighborhood is amazing with so many restaurants and entertainment options to choose from. Free breakfast plus free wine and beer in the evenings. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    44
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
33
69
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at the Meridian and enjoyed the location, the hosts, and the other guests very much. The space is friendly and welcoming, and the room was clean and accomodating (we stayed in the Chocolate room). The house is quiet and you couldn't hear any other guest activty. Access food, transportation, and grocery/drug stores was convenient. Thank you, John and Yaroslav, for a very pleasant week.

Room Tip: The front of the house was some street noise at night that might bother some. In that case we recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynoldsburg, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

What a wonderful room in a fantastic building! All my boyfriend and i kept saying was "wow" about our suite room on the 3rd floor. Beautifully kept and so much space! John was extremely hospitable and accommodating towards us and even met us outside to wave me down and show me where to park after we got lost on the drive through town. He tipped us on some nice spots to eat and drink and got us 10% off a local bar for mentioning the B&B. Tons of great things to do in just a few minutes walk and the bus was easy to catch and took us right in front of the White House in less than 10 minutes! We know where we'll be staying the next time we're in D.C.!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed in the yellow room which shares a bathroom with the grey room. Because my sister rented the grey room with her husband, we ended up having the fourth floor to ourselves making the space feel like an extension of home. If it were a stranger in the adjoining space, it might feel too close for comfort as the walls are thin.

The space is clean, nothing too flashy or fancy with the furniture; wifi and cable tv are included. Accommodations can be very expensive in Washington so Meridian offers a reasonable rate considering continental breakfast (hard boiled eggs, toast, coffee, pastries, fruit) was included.

The main selling point for me about this BnB was its close proximity to U Street and the awesome restaurants that populate that vibrant neighbourhood. If you are planning to visit Ben's Chili Bowl, it's only three blocks away. It is also a close walk to Dupont Circle and a quick bus ride away from Federal Triangle.

Room Tip: Rent the yellow and grey room if you are travelling as a family. There's stairs involved but is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed at this BnB for my trip to the international AIDS conference. I made the right decision to stay with John at Meridian Manor. Location is great for getting around on DC transits and Johnis very helpful with suggestions to make things easier and knowledgeable regarding local activites.
After a day, I felt like a local, knowingly way around on the metro, circulatory buses etc. The charming neighborhood is cozy....must visit 18 th street for evening restaurant choices. Te chocolate room is divine and the mattress is perfect.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center....no need either. I recommend the Chocolate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The owner of Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast was polite and helpful. This is an old and beautiful building. The room (suite) was clean, nice and confortable with a shover and 2 washbasin. A familial B&B. 10 minutes of walk to metro. Price/quality was correct.

Room Tip: the suite is ideal for a couple or a solo traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We couldn't have been happier with the location and the hopitality. John was always available, calm and helpful. The decor was average and the mattress comfort was average. It did however felt like home away from home.

Room Tip: We were in the Slate room, not as nice as the Chocolate room room but it was comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16th and U, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the exceptional location of the Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast. We are located in 2 of Washington's best neighborhoods, Dupont Circle and the new U. Street Corridor. Enjoy more than 80 restaurant choices, shopping, and nightclubs all within walking distance. The city's Metro system is 3 blocks from the house offering easy access to the Convention Center, Smithsonian Museums and the National Mall. Choose from 6 guestrooms or a furnished apartment. Off-street parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Manor Hotel Washington Dc
Meridian Manor b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.