We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time in DC.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington International Student Center

Save Saved
You added Washington International Student Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Washington International Student Center
2451 18th Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Time in DC.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Well the hostel is right in the middle of Adams Morgan. If you are looking to be in the middle of a great area of DC this is it. There are clubs and restaurants all up and down 18th Street NW.
The hostel is very old school but fine. I was there for 5 nights and the weekends it gets loud on 18th but due to people having fun.
The people there can vary. Some of the staff will talk and be helpful and others look like they are studying for tests.
The rooms have bunk beds and look like bunk beds do. I asked if I could move to a lower one after my first night and was allowed to move
The atmosphere is homey and chilled. You can have a beer but no bottles. Seems like they do have a thing about bottles there.
Overall had a good time and it is a good value. If I get back to DC would stay for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    6
    14
    15
See reviews for
1
6
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Let me start with the positives just to get them out of the way. For the money you pay it is not that bad. But that sums it up! Firstly the hostel is amazingly difficult to find, there are no signs whatsoever and when I asked the staff online to give me directions it was a joke what they have replied. Our room was between the storage room and the main hallway so I was a bit concerned that during the day the staff is pretty much using the room as a secondary walkway. Before leaving I thought lets ask the staff for directions to the nearest bus stop and how to get to the bus depot. They had no idea and google was more helpful than them. This sums it all up. Small dirty place which I do not recommend personally.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at WICC for a night and it was fine. Kinda reminded me of HK hostels in dingy establishments. But for $25 a night, one can't complain. The people were cool and the service was great. The environment not so much. We went the Sunday of the Memorial Day weekend and I did not get to sleep at all because of the noise at the bar next door. I could have written a better review if it weren't for that.

Room Tip: Stay away from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

2 words, don't bother!! Worst hostel in the world. Where to begin, it's extremely difficult to find, a small door with a piece of paper attached to the door. The staff don't seem to care about the place at all, they use it as a place to live rather than work. We turned up and were told they only take cash, probably a bit dodgey. There way of checking your reservation is a old school notebook. They basically then throw the keys at you and say there you go. We booked for a 6 person share but were placed in a 8 bed dorm although we only ever had 6 in there. There were no curtains on the windows so as soon as the sun came up you were too. We stayed on a Saturday night, and because the place is ontop of a dance club the music and bass pounds the room until 3am. We had to go to the club because there was no way were sleeping through it.

The rooms are tiny and small and no lockers available. The bathrooms were ok but needed to be regularly cleaned. The wifi sucked. The icing on the cake for us was our last night, there were 3 of us staying in the room until a lady arrived. This lady was clearly not fit to be checked in to anywhere but a mental hospital as all night she was talking and yelling to her self about some trying to steel her sleep and they were going to jail and murder them. She kept leaving the room and coming back and started all over again. In the end the whole experience of that was quite funny but disturbing.

If you want a place just to put your head and have no standards this place is for, if not pay a couple dollors more.
Everyone goes on about the location of this, it is good if you like bar hoping and like to try lots of food but for the tourist things it's a little out of the way.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayong, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I'll start with the cons:-
This hostel is pretty basic and only had 2 bathrooms for nearly 20 people, a kitchen but the oven didnt work and a lounge but the couches often had people sleeping on them. Also the guy who managed the place was pretty rude, not to me personally but to some of his staff and other guests, most notably a pair of Turkish girls who didnt speak good English. He seemed like he really couldnt be bothered with his job.

Now for the pros:-
This hostel is located in a brilliant area of Washington DC on a main road with bars, clubs and virtually every kind of restaurant. There are plenty of people milling about outside all the time and it felt very safe, even at night. There was a great atmosphere in the common room and all the other guests were nice. The area is very well served by buses and a nice walk to the subway stop. Its only about a 20-30 minute walk into Downtown DC and during my visit in late August was really nice. The location more than made up for the rude manager in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

As someone who's really picky and who reads reviews a lot I stayed here during the Vice President debate.
The hostel has a great location with tons of shops and bars around, near the metro, and has a very fun, homey atmosphere. Great place to meet ppl. I met some from England, Norway and Brazilian and we all went out.
Sure you may be concerned about cleanliness but its fine. Kitchen is good, restrooms good and rooms are fine. The owner is really funny too and it's jut a cozy spot. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hamptons
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I understand some of the negative reviews, but they are exaggerated, and probably from travelers who have no business in a hostel in the first place. It is loud here at night, but only because it is located on a bustling strip of bars and clubs. The noise from the street is easily defeated with ear plugs. The owner is quirky, and socially awkward, but he is a nice well meaning guy. Just be open minded. It is clean. We skipped the breakfast and opted for the diner located literally right downstairs. The location has access to the whole city. There is a bus stop right across the street. 20 minute, safe walk from all DC has to offer. This is a safe, decent hostel, with an unbeatable location to make up for other shortcomings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington International Student Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington International Student Center

Address: 2451 18th Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Specialty lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Washington International Student Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington International Student Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington International Student Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.