We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clyde's of Gallery Place

Clyde's of Gallery Place
707 7th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-349-3700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Clyde's of Gallery Place is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #347 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: G Street
Transit: Gallery Place/ Chinatown metro stop
Description: Located in DC's renowned Penn Quarter district, Clyde's of Gallery Place is an opulent homage to Washington and American sporting, and serves classical American food. This two-story Grand Victorian saloon welcomes sports enthusiasts and concert-goers, visiting tourists, theater-goers and the neighborhood's residents with four bars, five dining rooms, a raw bar and a private dining room. Our Gallery Place location will greet you with a breath-taking staircase and a palatial, museum-like experience complete with sporting sculpture, collectible prints and original works of art featuring sports legends and Washington's own storied history.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were told we had a 45 minute wait to eat dinner, but was only required to wait about 15 minutes. Although it was busy, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious. Clyde's provided a kid friendly atmosphere. After visiting the restaurant and seeing how busy it can become making reservations is suggested.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    138
    73
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Kid friendly but with an adult feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I loved that I could reserve the table online and when we arrived we were actually seated immediately, even though we were early. The kids menu was wonderful and had more than just the regular kid fare. I had crab cakes and they were some of the best I've had in a while. Great location and fast service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, md
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“awesome bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

after having a terrible experience at Leagal Seafood across the street we went to Clyde's. Walked in a the host told us there was a 15 minute wait, we walked into the bar and a bartender told us to go ahead and sit at a hightop. He came right out and waited on us, was very and treated us like we were the only ones there. We had a couple of Guiness drafts and a bowl of rockfish chowder which was awesome, and then crabcake sandwiches. will definately go back and if you go, be sure and go to the bar and have Steve wait on you, he is great......

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, but service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just went to eat here this past weekend. It was a Saturday night so it was super-busy, particularly with the circus going on. We went here on the advice of the hotel concierge who recommended Clyde's as a good family-friendly place to eat. I will say, they are definitely good for kids. My son got his own menu and crayons and enjoyed his healthy kid's meal. That being said, service was a little slow. The other tables around us were all given bread; we were not. Our waitress seemed to have too many tables. When we finally (after a long wait!) got our food, my eggplant parmesan was a little on the cold side. It tasted good, but just wasn't quite hot enough. It took a while for the waitress to bring the check. I'd go back, but perhaps on a day that wasn't quite that busy. The atmosphere is wonderful though. I was surprised how beautiful it was inside, since the outside is fairly unassuming.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Centrally located in D.C. next to the Verizon Center Clyde's Bar and Restaurant offers great food and cocktails either before or after museum visits or sporting events. The jumbo shrimp is huge and discounted during happy hour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde's of Gallery Place also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Clyde's of Gallery Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clyde's of Gallery Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.