We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat lovers paradise :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo de Chao

Fogo de Chao
1101 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)
+1 202-347-4668
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 11th St NW
Description: Fogo de ChaoR (fo-go dee shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, FogoR began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 16 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service. We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet salad bar, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Meat lovers paradise :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Everything was absolutely delicious! Even my friend, who doesn't eat meat, had a blast with the salad bar...and the staff very nice and helpful. Pricey but it worth it. Thumbs up!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    295
    83
    28
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Meat...more meat..now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Like most reviews of a Brazilian restaurant would say... "If you love meat look no further" The quality of meat seemed fine, they had plenty of attentive staff, the salad bar seemed mediocre at best but be honest with yourself you weren't going to eat it anyways. Pretty low in comparison to the rest of the DC.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“60th birthday celebration! FABULOUS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Bucket list for my 60th birthday!!! Christmas Eve lunch.... from the reservations to the handling of separate checks to making sure my bakery delivered cake was served at room temperature to setting our party of 16 right next to the incredible salad bar to having the most attentive and hospitable servers to having hands down the most delicious food salad bar and spit roasted meats....a real unforgettable experience. It far exceeded my expectations. This should be on your bucket list too. But, don't wait till then. Go now. AWESOME!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Meat!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you love meat, look no further! Great food and service. A bit cost prohibitive, but well worth the experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meat lovers delight, but something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I sponsored a special event for a women's group at Fogo de Chao in Washington DC. They could not have been nicer and what a great experience for all. In as much as this is a great place for a larger group...My co chair and I for the event experienced lunch beforehand and were equally delighted. Of course the meats are hot, and wonderfully flavored of the natural juices. There are a few kinds of beef (I have my favorite) as well as lamb, pork, and chicken.
However for the vegetarian and even salmon lover, their food bar has many choices in an antipasto like presentation. The 'salad bar only' (really a non meat food bar) is about 1/2 the price of the full meat offering dinner or lunch experience, and well worth it. Yes, you should be hungry, however the offerings are varied, the service, quality and environment is excellent and worth the experience. BTW, I did this for a Christmas Party years ago in Dallas Texas for about 50 engineers and their spouses...about 80+ attended. I used to get stopped in the company elevator months and years later with rave reviews! Still a winner and consistently good!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo de Chao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.