We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Duck always delights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Duck Tavern

Blue Duck Tavern
24 & M Streets, Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20037
202-419-6755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Duck Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 2,558 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 24 & M Streets NW
Transit: Foggy Bottom Metro Station - Orange and Blue Lines Dupont Circle Metro Station - Red Line
Description: Blue Duck Tavern, a contemporary neighborhood restaurant, invites its guests to gather and celebrate in good taste with a menu focusing on the freshest ingredients available from local purveyors and artisans. The menu notes every farm where the main ingredient for the dish was raised before its journey to the table. Dishes are genuine, time-honored and traditional -- slow roasting in wood embers, braising, preserving and smoking techniques bring the true flavors of America's great, simple and wholesome foods to the Blue Duck Tavern. The restaurant has an elegant residential feel through the open staff pantry and kitchen, wood-burning oven and the showpiece Molteni range.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Blue Duck always delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My favorite in DC. My second is BLT Steak. Never disappoints. tHE BEST IN DC. Three of bus had the pork entree which was moist with great subtle flavors. The polenta side was creamy with a nice pungency. Fried green tomatoes had a great crunch and kicky aioli. Loved the pink cloud drink. Yum. And loved our waiter CW. He was fun smart attentive and gracious. A real pro.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDuckTavern, Public Relations Manager at Blue Duck Tavern, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Charlotte H,

We love being your favorite restaurant in DC! Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent dinner with us. It sounds like your party all had a wonderful meal - from the dishes you selected to the service from CW. We'll be sure to share your comments with him. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    244
    90
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Had an excellent meal at Blue duck tavern, we ordered the bone marrow & it was so delicious!!
The hand-cut fries and jumbo lump crab cakes were excellent together & the service was attentive as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDuckTavern, Public Relations Manager at Blue Duck Tavern, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear GreenAce87,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent meal with us. It sounds like a delicious evening enjoying some of our signature dishes. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing pancakes and waffles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

One helpful tip before the review: avoid sitting in the back area where there is a long bench - it will destroy your back. Book the tables that have regular, high-back chairs.

As to the food - the portions are very small, but oh-so-perfect. The granola pancakes are to die for. Have them as a dessert if you are going for lunch. The "Speciality Coffee" is perfect (so rare in the US) - but it's a fixed price ($6) for espresso as well as soy latte (you'd think one would cost more than the other), which makes me think if I missed the fact that it's a all-you-can-drink...?
Anyhow, the whole decor is modern and luxurious, which makes it a good place for business. The service, although very pleasant and speedy, is not very professional (e.g: plates and silverware were placed after the food was served).
It is definitely very pricey, but that's my experience with all gourmet food in the DC area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We ate there for breakfast and dinner while staying at the Park Hyatt.

Dinner was a disappointment. Slow cooked suckling pig was like bland barbecue. Oysters on the half-shell were excellent. Menu was pretentious and uninspired. Service was fair.

At breakfast we had good service, but the food was dull and not that well executed. The breakfast at Juniper across the street was much better and not as pricey.

The kitchen was very nice and interesting to walk through, but apart from that the atmosphere was sterile.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Usually I do not visit the same restaurant for more than one time but, in this case, I broke my rule!
I found the cusine really very exiting with the use of a variety of vegetables really incredible; just one example: I never tasted fiddleheads ...really fantastic!
Final Consideration: Must try it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Duck Tavern also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Blue Duck Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Duck Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.