We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for any time of the day...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Duck Tavern

Blue Duck Tavern
24 & M Streets, Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20037
202-419-6755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Duck Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 2,494 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 24 & M Streets NW
Transit: Foggy Bottom Metro Station - Orange and Blue Lines Dupont Circle Metro Station - Red Line
Description: Blue Duck Tavern, a contemporary neighborhood restaurant, invites its guests to gather and celebrate in good taste with a menu focusing on the freshest ingredients available from local purveyors and artisans. The menu notes every farm where the main ingredient for the dish was raised before its journey to the table. Dishes are genuine, time-honored and traditional -- slow roasting in wood embers, braising, preserving and smoking techniques bring the true flavors of America's great, simple and wholesome foods to the Blue Duck Tavern. The restaurant has an elegant residential feel through the open staff pantry and kitchen, wood-burning oven and the showpiece Molteni range.
El Paso, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Great for any time of the day...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our breakfast was included at the hotel this restaurant is in and boy were we glad it was...the food is great! It is not your typical continental breakfast... We had dinner there our 2nd night and were so impressed with the stone cut grits and apple pie, we specially ordered these items for room service our last night... we can't wait to go back to capture those tastes again...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDuckTavern, Public Relations Manager at Blue Duck Tavern, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear KrisSper,

I must agree that our grits and apple pie are both two delicious dishes! We are so happy that you enjoyed them, not only in the restaurant, but also through in-room dining! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We'll have the pie waiting :)

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    223
    86
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a birthday gift!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife took me to Blue Duck on my birthday during our trip to WDC. We knew it was highly rated and fully expected a remarkable dining experience. Well, it was beyond remarkable, it was a very special evening. Our waitress and those who supported her were extraordinary. Beyond her knowledge and recommendations, she was very engaged and based the entrees she chose based on understanding our interests. The food was excellent - ribs and steak. Both were as well prepared as we've ever had. Finally, the atmosphere is energizing, but not overdone. It's not a quiet meal, but certainly one you will be happy you chose for a special event.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDuckTavern, Public Relations Manager at Blue Duck Tavern, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear TravelMack425,

Happy Belated Birthday! Thank you to your wife for choosing to celebrate your special day with us while in D.C. It truly sounds like you had a terrific meal - from the delicious food to the wonderful service from our team. I will be certain to pass along your comments to the rest of our team. Should your travels bring you back to the nation's capital, please definitely visit us again.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was a first visit but I certainly will be back. Almost everything was perfect. The bar area is very elegant and worth a visit before dinner with excellent and responsive bartenders (great martini but expensive). The restaurant's ambiance is both casual and elegant and very light and airy. The food was terrific -- the duck breast and confit (one of my favorite dishes) was perfectly done! The fries are unbelievably good. The oyster selection, while limited, was acceptable given that the oysters were served on ice (hate restaurants that don't do this) and were good sized. The only minor negative was the long time it took the sommelier to come over to our table -- but once there, he recommended an outstanding Riesling that sent the meal over the top! All other service was first rate and very friendly without being intrusive. All in all, a really great evening. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDuckTavern, Public Relations Manager at Blue Duck Tavern, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear MaineJohn512,

Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback on your recent meal with us. It appears you had a terrific meal and really enjoyed your menu selections, in addition to our sommelier's choice of wine. We look forward to making your second visit to Blue Duck Tavern just as special as your first.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our first time at the blue duck tavern and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The environment was warm and inviting. The service was excellent from beginning to end, and of course the food was amazing. The crab cake was delicious, and the bone marrow was a very tasty appetizer which I would highly recommend, although it may be a bit heavy for some as a starter. The mains that we had, scallops and braised pork, were cooked nicely and quite flavourful. The sides were definitely generous and more than enough to share. Make sure to leave room for dessert! Overall, a wonderful restaurant that definitely lives up to it's ratings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDuckTavern, Public Relations Manager at Blue Duck Tavern, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear JCW416,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a complimentary review of Blue Duck Tavern. It sounds like you had a wonderful first experience with us and selected a few of our more popular dishes. The crab cakes are a favorite of mine :) We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Renee Eisman
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Really Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I enjoyed dinner here so much. The crab cake was excellent. The staff was very nice and the food was very good. However, I thought it would be more casual but it is a bit stuffier than what I expected. Still is was very nice and yummy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Duck Tavern also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Blue Duck Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Duck Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.