We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sweet B&B with a very lovely innkeeper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akwaaba DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Akwaaba DC to your Saves list
Akwaaba DC
1708 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A sweet B&B with a very lovely innkeeper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I were staying in this lovely inn for three nights. We chose the Romance Room which was like something out of a fairy tale. If I need to find something to complain about it would probably be the air-conditioner that was a bit noisy. We preferred to switch it off and have the window open instead. The bed was a little narrow but I guess that is the way it should be in a Romance Room. The innkeeper Joanna was very lovely and she made delicious breakfasts for us every morning. Fortunately DC is a city where you walk a lot otherwise I would have gained a few pounds from those breakfasts. It was also interesting to talk to the other guests during breakfast. We often got stuck in interesting conversations with people from all over the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanF_Sodermalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Akwaaba in Washington DC for three nights and I would not hesitate to recommend this inn. The atmosphere was so peaceful and relaxing. Joanna the innkeeper was an excellent hostess. The home is beautiful and the neighborhood was as well. We booked the Langston Hughes room - I think the bed was more comfortable than my own at home! The breakfasts were great, and we enjoyed talking with the other guests from all over the world at breakfast and at refreshment time in the late afternoons. We would definitely stay here again if we were to travel back to Washington.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My family and friends recently stayed in several rooms. We were in town for a funeral at Arlington National Cemetery and spent a few additional days sightseeing in the area.

First of all, I agree with previous reviews about Joanna, the innkeeper. She is a lovely person. However, she cannot make up for the shortcomings of this B&B, which is in need of extended maintenance.

I have traveled extensively and prefer the ambience of B&Bs and country homes and have stayed in lots of properties that are old and furnished with well-loved pieces. The Akwaaba DC does not meet the standards of other places I have stayed. While the public areas look good, the rooms are another matter. Most of the floors need to be refinished, the furnishings need to be restored as they are really in poor condition, the curtains and shades need to be reconsidered so that they darken the room enough for sleeping and function properly, plumbing was a problem in some rooms. I won't name every complaint, but will give readers some idea of what we encountered.

The Langston Hughes room is the best room I personally stayed in. However, the tub diverter knob came off in my hand and I didn't think I would be able to get the shower on. This room, as well as others in the front of the house, is very noisy. Bring earplugs.

The Zora Neale Hurston room had many problems. The a/c was extremely loud, the window blind fell off, the shower knob is gone.

The Romance Room has a lot of fabric that cannot be easy to clean, such as throws over the chairs, a canopy over the bed which blocks the ceiling fan, a mantle scarf that is unnecessary.

The Toni Morrison Room, which I occupied for one night, has some problems. The window blind does not block light at all, to the point where the early morning light reflects from the dresser mirror directly into your eyes in bed. The tile in front of the fireplace is a trip hazard. The queen bed is suitable for only one person as there is not enough room to get in and out on one side.

The Writer's Suite Apartment is not recommended, unless you are a family, on a budget and have very low expectations. It is dark, has sub-par bathrooms, is noisy both day and night. In addition, breakfast is not included. We were advised that breakfast for the apartment people (3 max. In our case) would be $15. It was not made clear that was the price per person, so we were charged an additional $150 for our stay.

My recommendation is that someone from the management team spend at least one night in each room so that the multitude of problems be noted and repaired. Also, the housekeeper needs to report issues, such as missing parts and problem plumbing. How can a person clean the shower/tub and not see that a knob is gone?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LetsGoDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Two years ago I stayed at Akwaaba by the Sea with a friend we had a wonderful time. This year I needed to be someplace where I could go by myself feel safe and just relax and be by myself. I couldn't have made a better choice The house was beautiful, my room (Toni Morrison) was comfortable and quiet. I enjoyed meeting and talking to the other guest. I walked the neighborhood with ease and enjoyed looking at the homes. But what made my visit the more enjoyable was Joanna she made my visit the best. Thank You Joanna And Akwaaba for everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The food was great and what really sold the deal was the design of the BnB. I highly recommend staying there if I did have to complain about something it would be the parking arrangements other than that it was a great place to stay while you are in D.C.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I just returned from an excellent stay at the Akwaaba bed and breakfast this past weekend for two nights. We booked the Langston Hughes Room which from my perspective is one of the best and largest rooms within the house. The house itself is beautiful, quiet and very comfortable. It made you feel as if you were staying with relatives. Joanna was a great host and extremely helpful. Each morning, they prepared a breakfast and we got an opportunity to meet and greet other guest that were also staying in the house. Everyone was there for different reasons and many had been to Akwaaba multiple times. The house is located near the Dupont Circle area of DC which makes it walkable to many restaurants. We will definitely return at some point in the near future.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the Langston Hughes room! It's worth every penny due. Huge, access to a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TruBluSigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at Akwaaba's romance room with my girlfriend for two nights. The house is very nice and quiet and the room was comfortable. The manager (Joanna) was extremely helpful and a lovely person. She and her assistant downstairs prepared a very satisfying breakfast, and a free wine-and-snack at 5 PM. The location was great, a twenty-minute walk to the White House or about seven minutes to Dupont Circle (nearest metro station). Several restaurants nearby (Agora on 17th Street was great). Only problem we had was with the shower, which seemed to lack water pressure and you couldn't adjust the water temperature (I feel a little guilty saying this since I didn't address this with the manager), but it did its job.

We would definately stay there again and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 137 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,653 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akwaaba DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba DC

Address: 1708 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akwaaba DC is located in Dupont Circle at the heart of the Nation's Capitol. This 1890's historic townhouse is within walking distance of the White House, and the many fine restaurants, and shops of Dupont Circle. Access to the Smithsonian and National Monuments is a short ride on the Metro just 4 blocks (less than a 10 minute walk). Choose from 7 guest rooms, each with private bath or an apartment with accommodations for 6. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing