We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Akwaaba B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akwaaba DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Akwaaba DC to your Saves list
Akwaaba DC
1708 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Select Rooms, 20% off
Ranked #4 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Akwaaba B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Joanna, the very welcoming and helpful innkeeper, really made our stay here great. The hearty breakfast and early evening snacks (prepared/cooked on site and not reheated from ready-made frozen version!) were a big plus to start our day and refuel our energy after a long day outside. The location was great - neighborhood very lively, and easy to get to downtown area by Metro or just walk (if the weather is nice and you are not hurrying to get to a specific location).

Eventually this is a B&B in an old house, so I wouldn't expect the facilities to be the same (modern, high-tech) as in new-built business hotels, and indeed some small places could do with a bit more TLC. The personal touch and warm hospitality, also the feeling of meeting other travelers in a nice big house, are what make Akwaaba a great choice.

Room Tip: Our room got very cold during a couple of nights - guess it is typical during autumn that the rain b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    56
    5
    9
    1
See reviews for
38
178
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Akwaaba is tremendous value and Joanna makes you feel really welcome. The room with en suite was clean, comfortable, spacious & quiet. The location is good, as the main sites (White House, Mall & museums, Capitol, Lincoln Memorial, Library of Congress) are all easily reached on foot. The subway at Dupont Circle is also quite near if you need to go further out. There is a luxurious lounge and dining room, and Joanna does really imaginative hot breakfasts. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great location in an upscale, dynamic neighbourhood with lots of interesting architecture and good restaurants nearby. Don't miss Kramerbooks or Hank's Oysters. Joanna is AWESOME. We truly felt like welcomed guests and she was extremely helpful in providing directions, suggestions, etc. The atmosphere is convivial and friendly. Breakfasts are good. Limited parking available at a small additional charge was much appreciated and convenient.

Room Tip: There are 4 floors and no elevator so second floor rooms are more convenient. It's very quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our September visit to Washington DC with Akwaaba B&B as our home base. Joanna, the Innkeeper, was most gracious and accommodating, with suggestions for getting around the city and for restaurants nearby; each day began with a delicious and substantial breakfast. The location is perfect for exploring the sites of DC, sampling local eateries and feeling at home in the neighborhood. DC is a wonderfully walkable city; we also used the easily-accessible public transportation. We stayed in the second floor Romance room which was comfortable and quiet. We definitely will recommend Akwaaba B&B to our friends and we plan to visit the DC and other Akwaaba locations in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We wanted a traditional, comfortable, non-corporate, inexpensive, welcoming and well-located hotel from which to tour Washington in just three days. You might think we'd have had to compromise on one or two of those demands, but the Akwaaba exceeded all expectations. There were four of us in our party occupying two delightful rooms in a city B&B which epitomised old fashioned elegance in a modern setting. Booking was straightforward and included excellent advice on how to get from the airport to Dupont Circle; the location meant we had access to a wide range of bars and restaurants just around the corner; but perhaps most notable was the first class hospitality of Joanna the housekeeper and the informal and welcoming little touches which made our stay so memorable. It was our first time in Washington, and the Akwaaba was the perfect place to return to after each day of hectic sightseeing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Toni Morrison which was smallish but perfectly adequate. Our friends stayed upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

we stayed at the Akwaaba for 5 nights in the Romance Room while on our honeymoon. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Glenn, as he happened to be looking after the inn at the beginning of the week (he and his wife own several other Akwaaba properties). Glenn was a fabulous host, ensuring we had everything we needed, cooking a magnificent breakfast every day, and every evening at 5pm homemade snacks and cookies with wine on offer. Amazing quality of food. The room was a good size, very romantic, with a cosy feel about it. The Dupont Circle area is lovely, with many restuarants and bars on the next and surrounding streets, and it feels very safe to walk around. The White House is about a 20 min walk, approx 9 blocks. We didn't really use public transport as we walked everywhere, but I think it is very efficient.

Georgetown is worth a look, very pretty place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Akwaaba is a wonderful B & B.
Joanna was friendly,helpful, informative and professional. Our room was clean, and spacious with a street view from the balcony.
Breakfast was always homemade, good, and varied. It ranged from an egg bake with turkey bacon to pancakes to french toast, all presented beautifully . There was always fruit, juice and excellent coffee. On our last day we had to leave early so Joanna pepared a continental breakfast for us that included boiled eggs, croissants, cereal, juice and coffee.
There were also snacks and drinks at 5:00 PM so you could relax and rejuvenate before heading out for a later dinner.
Akwaaba is in the Dupont Circle area close to restaurants, shops, the subway, and within walking distance of many attractions.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#18 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,976 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akwaaba DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba DC

Address: 1708 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akwaaba DC is located in Dupont Circle at the heart of the Nation's Capitol. This 1890's historic townhouse is within walking distance of the White House, and the many fine restaurants, and shops of Dupont Circle. Access to the Smithsonian and National Monuments is a short ride on the Metro just 4 blocks (less than a 10 minute walk). Choose from 7 guest rooms, each with private bath or an apartment with accommodations for 6. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akwaaba DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.