We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately late Victorian house in fun, hopping neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast on U. Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast on U. Street
17th and U Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stately late Victorian house in fun, hopping neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you appreciate beautiful old houses, as we do, this is your place. The house has been lovingly restored to keep historic details, like bullseye moldings and handsome oak mantels. We were there off-season and couldn't believe how reasonable the room-rates were; compared to other big cities in the off-season (like nearby NY) our two night stay in a second floor room with bathroom en suite was a fantastic bargain -- less than the family dinner for six we had at trendy nearby pizzeria Matchbox. Best of all for us, we were an easy two block walk from our daughter's apartment. As others have said, John is a wonderfully accommodating host. We felt like we were in a good friend's home, not just a b&b, even enjoying family games in the living room after that pricey pizza dinner. U Street is suddenly the place to be, and we were in the heart of it -- great clothing and home boutiques, cafes and restaurants for every budget, cabs on every corner, and the Metro a short walk away. We loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    21
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
14
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This bed-and-breakfast is an older home in DC, bordering 3 very trendy neighborhoods. It's reasonably close to the U St./Cardozo metro station, but you'll need to walk 10 minutes to get anywhere of interest. It's on a busy through-street with lots of traffic, liquor store and bodegas (this doesn't bother me, but it could irritate a light sleeper). I stayed on the top floor. I've seen cleaner bathrooms-- this is my biggest complaint about the place. The drains didn't work, the bath mats were dirty, and the tub/sink didn't look like they'd been scrubbed in a while. The price for my room was steep because I only stayed one night (they require 2 night minimum stay, or else a $20 surcharge). The host was very friendly and accommodating and apparently there is a continental breakfast served between 8:30 and 9:30 am (but I didn't wake up in time!) Overall the place is adequate, but could use a facelift and a good cleaning... the decor & furniture were a bit shabby considering the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

As other reviewers have said, John the owner is friendly and helpful. The location of the B & B is about 5 blocks from a Metro station, and U Street is lively with restaurants and bars of many types in the evening. I had a room on the top floor with a separate bathroom, but that was no problem at all. The only thing keeping me from giving it five stars is the price--but I guess it's in line with places to stay in DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was relieved to find this B&B with just three days notice in a busy part of the year (Fall), so I had to pay the full amount up front at short notice. I quickly scanned the trip advisor reviews which were all positive and gave me confidence. On arrival, John was friendly and helpful. It's in a great location near Adams Morgan, and the room was great. Serve-yourself continental breakfast with friendly other guests. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great location, Only 10 minute walk to Dupont Circle. John is a great and friendly host. Very accomodating. Beds were very comfy and the place has a nice charm to it. We stayed 4 nights there and we would definetely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have stayed here several times. Each time has been a wonderful experience. John is very friendly and helpful with directions to places and suggestions of places to visit or eat. We enjoy sharing breakfast discussions with other US and international visitors. This visit helped make our daughter's wedding special. We will return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here from 16-21 Sept. We were 2 couples so had the top 2 rooms, sharing a small bathroom. The rooms were priced the same ($145 per night) but really the smaller of the 2 didn't have the same as the larger - no ceiling fan, no mirror and were not able to sit in the one armchair as it creaked terribly! The other room had a dresser, full length mirror, settee and ceiling fan. Also, be aware that tax will be added on top of the prices on the web site! The rooms were clean and the bathroom adequate. The sitting room however was a little tired and quite dusty! Wifi was available in the house, and it worked the majority of the time. John also had a laptop in the living area for everyone to use if required, and also a printer which was great as I was able to print off our boarding passes! Breakfast consisted of coffee and it was 'help yourself' to cereal/fruit/boiled eggs and bread. A toaster was in the kitchen if you preferred toast, along with butter, jam and peanut butter. Was unaware that the international airport is nowhere near the city so we ended up booking a 'super-shuttle' bus to take us, which worked really well and was reasonably priced. We found John very informative and helpful. Didn't see much of him as his partner was stuck in Russia and therefore he had everything to do! He recommended some lovely restaurants including Eatonville and Lauriol (mexican), and there are loads of others to choose from nearby! Visit Arlington National Cemetery - it's well worth it, as it the Iwo Jima Memorial which is about a 15-20 min walk outside!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed and Breakfast on U. Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast on U. Street

Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast On u. Street Hotel Washington Dc
Bed And Breakfast On u. Street Hotel
b&b On u. Street
Address: 17th and U Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , U Street Corridor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast on U. Street offers visitors a choice of 4 guestrooms, 2 with shared bath for the budget minded traveler, a suite with accommodations up to 4 and a standard room with a queen sleigh bed and private bath. We are located in Dupont Circle, along U. Street, Washington's newest hip neighborhood. Metro access is less than a 10-minute walk for the Convention Center or Smithsonian's. Children welcome and off-street parking available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast on U. Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bed and Breakfast on U. Street to your Saves list