We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Pub for an Irish Win.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fado Irish Pub

Fado Irish Pub
808 7th St. NW, Washington DC, DC (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-789-0066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 484 things to do in Washington DC
Attraction details
Monroe Township NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Irish Pub for an Irish Win.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Being a ND fan, I was looking for a place to see the Irish-Pitt game this past weekend. Found that in Fado's Pub. In a very cozy room by the fireplace, we were able to watch the game while enjoying some great appetizers and Smithwicks Ale. Would definitely go back there next time in DC. A bit odd that there is an Irish Pub in Chinatown, but hey, it works!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It's Great for the Location and Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

2 blocks up from the Verizon Center, Fado is an awesome pre-concert or post concert spot in DC. A good selection of draft beers and cider served in real pint glasses add that 'authentic' touch. They've gone a long way to make it look pubby without being twee. It's just a good sized, friendly place with great nosh. The salmon bites and Smithwicks mini burgers are awesome. We get them every time. Have visited a dozen times and the friendly demeanor and constant European football never disappoint. Go and enjoy a great, relaxing spot.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“My favorite place to go in DC !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I've been here 3 or 4 times when I was in DC for business. LOVE the atmosphere and selection of beers. Food was old-style Irish. The interior made me feel like I was in a real pub in Ireland. Fantastic fish fry !! Absolutely LOVED it here !!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Friday night adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick beer while hopping around Chinatown. My wife and I ended up staying for a few hours. Great beers, great atmosphere and a great decor. Every time I am in DC I will definitely be back for a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This bar has great charm. Rustic beams, murals on the ceiling, and most important great food. The only down side is that there isn't a host, but that is typical of most bars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fado Irish Pub also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Fado Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fado Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.