We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Stage

Arena Stage
1101 6th St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
202-488-4377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Attraction details
Churchton, Maryland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Always worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Life theatre is an art form not enough people get to enjoy. I'm always glad to be here, even if the script isn't my favorite. They take a chance on new plays (like the one I saw, Mary T and Lizzie K) and not enough theatres do that. Eat beforehand at Station 4, or in their own lobby, where the food election is bistro-y and not bad.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    40
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Love going to performances here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We saw Oklahoma! and My Fair Lady at Arena Stage and enjoyed both performances VERY much! We actually love the square stage, and seeing the performance from a variety of angles.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Metamorphoses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The play was very creative and unique. The setting in the Fichandler was amazing. The acting was superior and it made an old tale come to live. The facility is really very nice.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to spend the evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have never seen a bad performance. This season I was lucky enough to see "An Evening with Janis Joplin" and "My Fair Lady". This might not seem much until you consider that each one represents a 200+ mile car trip. I would get seasons tickets if I didn't have so many conflicts. Parking has not been a problem particularly if you arrive early for the cafeteria line dinner. If parking is a concern you can per purchase underground parking below the theater. The building itself is worth visiting for its architectural beauty.

Before the performance, drinks can be purchase to be ready for you at intermission so you don't have to wait in line. There does not seem to be a bad seat at any of the stages.

If you are going to be in DC, do check out the Arena Stage for a reasonably priced evening of excellent entertainment.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“dinner and a show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The productions are first class, but what we like the most is the pre-show dinner served in the theater complex. Parking has never been a problem right outside the door when we come early to have a meal before the show. While it is a cafeteria-line affair, the food is very good and not at all like cafeteria food we are used to. The tables are comfortable and spaced and overlook the theater's main floor. Just an easy way to relax before a show and not be rushed getting there, parking, etc.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arena Stage also viewed

 

Been to Arena Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena Stage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.