We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Marriott Reward Savings!
Ranked #56 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. No free breakfast, but they sold starbucks coffee in the lobby. Bar opens at 4pm. The metro is a block away, and the circulator bus had a stop a block from the hotel. We were several blocks from some nice restaurants, but the circulator took us right to 8th street, which had some shops and many restaurants. Cabs were readily available outside the lobby. It was a nice place. We were told it was not a good area to be in, but everyone we came across was pleasant, and we felt safe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Jujubeewootwoot-

Good day and thank you for your candid review about our hotel and the surronding area. The area has definetly change. I across a lot of people who simply can not believe how pleasant an area the Capitol Waterfront has become. We look forward to see you again sometime in the near future.

Best
Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    170
    39
    11
    15
See reviews for
140
87
24
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I'm marriott platinum and have stayed at many DC marriott properties. I travel weekly to DC. I had a work event at a Nationals game (go Nats!) so I tried the courtyard to be close by. Parking is awful at this hotel. You have to check in first and get an annoying parking pass prior to pulling the garage around the block, of course I did not know this and wasted 20 minutes parking. The parking attendant is very rude and slooooow. Getting my car in the morning was also painful. No one else was getting a car and it still took forever. The rooms are also mediocre. For a new hotel, why the 1980's air conditioners? They are very loud. Bed is not good either - awful pillows and blanket (not really a comforter). Overall, bad hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear IceCharlotte_ NC

Good day and thank you for your feedback. Parking at our hotel is limited. Moreover, just about all of the other parking garages in the area are in Government Buildings; which do not allow public parking. Because parking is in such high demand on game days and since we DO NOT allow anyone who is not a hotel guest to park in our garage, we kindly ask all guests to check in at the front desk before trying to park their car.

At check in, the pink paper that you were giving, signals to the parking attendant that you are a hotel guest and can park in the garage. If you did not have that pink paper, you would not have been allowed to park. This system allows for only hotel guests to get access to the garage and noone else

Lastly, the hotel all our guest rooms were recently remodeled. We have gotten tons of positive reviews about them. However, I will be sure to note your comments.

Best
K.Andre Antoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich, rhode island
Top Contributor
585 reviews 585 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here to visit family. So very convenient and clean! Easy to get anywhere from here. Short walk to the metro station and then easy to get anywhere in Washington. Nice hotel and good support staff. Limited meal choices but then again this IS a major city with lots of choices outside the hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It was great to have you here with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best
Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very convenient to the Metro, this hotel is located in a quieter area of DC. Not fancy but very clean and super friendly staff. Food in restaurant and cafe was very expensive. Excellent walking distance to The Yards near the baseball stadium.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
MammaTina-

Thank you for your review and more importanty thank you for selecting to stay with use while you visited Washington DC. We hope to see you again when you come back to the nation's Capital.

Best
Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel after a Nationals game on a Sunday evening. We requested the King Suite and an early check in so we could catch the game on time. The early check in wasn't possible, but the front desk was very friendly and held our bags until we got back from the game. We were told only one car per room was allowed in the garage (@ $30 per night), but I was later informed by the front desk that was untrue (garage a few blocks away cost us twice as much and a walk). The location is excellent and the walk from the stadium was only a few minutes. There are many great bars and restaurants within walking distance if you feel like venturing out. I was told this used to be a bad area, but our group of 4 never felt uncomfortable on the streets.

The room itself was very tasteful and modern, but we did have a couple of issues that required service. The bedroom thermostat was not working and the room was very warm. The serviceman was able to get it going within a couple of minutes. Our second issue was the phone in the bedroom didn't work. The serviceman came again and was able to resolve this with a new cable.

Our friends attempted to use the pull out sofa, but weren't able to last through the night. They said the bed was too small and uncomfortable.

All in all, we had a fun night and although there were issues, the people were always pleasant and helpful. We would consider staying here again for the convenience if we attend a game, but otherwise we will try another location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dave S-

Good day and thank you for your review of our property. I am really glad that you and your friends had a great stay with us.

They are a few things that I would like to clarify for you in the event you come back to see a Nats Game. Our parking policy is in fact one car per room. And while we can make exceptions on slow days, during baseball season and during a weekend series, we absolutely must adhere to the policy. The parking demand is simply to high to allow multiple cars for one room.

Secondly, open air parking lots are available but the their cost are similiar to ours at $29.50 a night.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best

K. Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Clean and friendly people. Loved the lobby level cafe and market place. Not within walking distance to any sites in DC so need to use mertro. Limited but a few good eating places near hotel. Up and coming neighborhood.

Room Tip: Buy your metro card. And water for the room
See more room tips
Green Features: Had washer and dryer in hotel! Good clean hallways and public space
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Front Desk and Maintenance Service was outstanding. Surprisingly friendly, helpful and courteous. Above and beyond as a matter of course. Really made for a nice stay.
Do visit the local Brew Pub - food is terrific and the Bulletin Diner on 8th. Excellent food and fun. The Diner is great for kids. Worth the walk.

Room Tip: Make sure the folks before you weren't smoking in your "no smoking" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Belmarsol-

I am very excited that we exceeded your expectations. We really work hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their time with us. You review truly validates this point. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best
Andre

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Address: 140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C., hotels on Capitol Hill! Our modern accommodations and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home!Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood. We are in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.