We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #63 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My office co-sponsored a conference in DC recently. I had four packed suitcases and two boxes filled with conference materials. Roberto was incredibly kind, helpful, always had a smile on his face, and could not do enough to make my stay enjoyable! The Courtyard Washington Capitol is blessed to have such a dedicated, hard-working employee!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Mary C.

Roberto is indeed a great employee. I will be sure to pass on to him your kind words. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best

K. Andre Antoine
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    153
    38
    10
    13
See reviews for
120
77
22
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel was awesome. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice accommodations. Great location with access to many restaurants and other things. I couldn't believe that there was no charge for parking. Many hotels charge a small fortune. Sade, who works front desk, is the best! Sade went out of her way to meet my needs. Great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean most of the staffs are second to none at what they do. special thank you to Sade (Bederinwa), Dwayne (Wade) and Cherelle Dickens. when you are calling for reservation ask Sade or Dwayne they are very nice make sure to visit the bar only be at least 21.

Room Tip: Room 1014 is well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Renel M

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the hotel. I will be sure to share them with both Dwayne and Sade. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to Washington DC.

All the best

K. Andre Antoine
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This Marriott is 1 block from the Metro which gives you easy access to all DC tourist sites without paying downtown rates. It is walking distance to the stadium and up-and-coming waterfront and within 1-2 blocks of distance of several solid restaurants (Gordon Biersch, Kruba Thai and Sushi), quality pubs (Justin's Cafe, Park Tavern), and fast food (Subway, 5 Guys, Starbucks). Several more restaurants will open soon on the waterfront. Eastern Market with a ton of restaurants is a nice walk (less than a mile) or a 5 minute cab ride away. A CVS is 1 block away. The hotel itself is spotless. While the menu is limited, the food is very good. Staff are excellent and very helpful. I am a frequent business traveler and have never had a service problem or bad meal in the year+ I've been staying there. Decor is fine; typical Marriott. My only complaint is the desk chair that Marriott uses in ALL their hotels. It is awful. Sits way too low even at max height, and leans way back, providing zero back support. You might not care if you are there for a night, but as a business traveler there every week, it is pretty unpleasant when trying to work on a laptop at a desk every night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay for baseball fans! It's wonderful to be just a couple of blocks from Nationals Park. As the parking garage was full, we parked on the well-lighted street next to the hotel. The staff members are very pleasant, informative and helpful. The lobby and rooms are attractive, well appointed and clean. Our bed was extremely comfortable for a hotel bed! We paid extra for breakfast the next morning -- hearty eaters who want a huge buffet may be disappointed, but healthy eaters who prefer lighter fare (fruit, yogurt, cereals, light entrees) will be satisfied. Happy to recommend this hotel and look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Like a previous reviewer commented, it's the place to stay for a ballgame and not have to deal with the mad post game Metro rush. We made that mistake the last time we were in for a game and it took us 1 1/2 hours to get back to our hotel room. It's also close to the Metro, The Capitol, and the Eastern Market. Our room here was a nice size, clean and fresh. The staff is friendly and courteous. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my spouse. The rooms were clean and nice. It is only 5 blocks from the Capitol Building and the National Mall. I had no problems getting around and this was a good location. My issues with this place had to do with the details. The bed was not super comfortable and the pillows were too small, like throw pillow size. The AC was pretty loud. The bistro downstairs was good but pricey, and most of the tables needed to be cleaned and the bartender ignored us before we finally asked her if we had to order at the bar or if there was table service. A sign would be nice if you have to order at the bar. Also 5 blocks from the mall and there wasn't a map to found in the lobby. My husband had some issues with the parking people not explaining themselves enough. I did however like the Starbucks in the lobby. I would consider staying here again, but I hope they do a little better next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott
Address: 140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C., hotels on Capitol Hill! Our modern accommodations and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home!Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood. We are in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.