We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #64 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

traveling with my 14yr-old son, taking in a Nats game. The room and service was very good. The front desk is very helpful. The pool area left a lot to be desired - small, and the heated pool was pretty cold. I had to battle many small kids for a tiny piece of pool real estate. I will be smarter about parking next time - $55 for two nights, with ominous warnings from the desk staff that parking in the street on game day would almost certainly get me towed - not sure of the truth behind that with all the out-of-state plates I saw on game day with no tickets. However, the stay was solid - no complaints except those above. The area needs more restaurants, but you can get by within a 3-4 mile radius. Check out Ted's Bulletin for breakfast.

Room Tip: We faced some sort of apartment building from our room in the back of the building - ask for somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    166
    39
    11
    15
See reviews for
135
83
24
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Location- It's close to the Metro which is quite convenient and interesting compared to the NYC subway system. It's clean but I was a bit confused at first on how to get tickets. May wanna look into that.
Room- It was damp so I cranked up the air to super cold to rid the moisture. Beds were comfy but the carpet on the floors had a weird funk. Yuck!
Housekeeping- I wanted to be sure they cleaned the room when we were gone in the morning and front desk said not to worry. On the return, no housekeeping until around 5-6pm so we refused. Disappointing.
Indoor Pool- chlorine smell was pretty strong but anytime you have a hot tub around an indoor pool, you will always smell chlorine. Clean and okay but pool was smaller than expected.
Parking- if you read the signs, you can find street parking without having to pay $29 for the lot next door. We had no problem finding street parking on a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Mr. Eunmic-

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. While I am disappointed that we fell short of your expecations, I do value your feedback. The carpet smell and your room not being cleaned until well in the evening is simply unacceptable and steps will be taken to ensure these matters get resolved.

Thanks again and we do hope to see again.

Best

K. Andre Antoine
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We came to town for a Nats game and this hotel is perfectly located for that purpose. I agree with all the reviews, so I won't repeat. Duane was also very helpful the first evening we got here. I will, however, reiterate the parking situation. First off, it is more cost effective to find a spot on the street and get the "Park mobile" app on your phone that way you can be anywhere and "feed the meter". You won't spend the $29.50 it costs for the parking garage, even if you're "lucky" enough to actually get a spot in it. I recommend taking the metro if your going sightseeing instead of dealing with the traffic and finding spots in the busy part of the city. We made that mistake on our way in, and it caused a lot of friction between my husband and I that first day. We left our car on the street all of Sat (fed the meter via my phone per text and email alerts)...pretty cool you can do that, and took the train to the museum, then walked to the Nats game. Now that I know what the deal is with the parking, I would definitely stay here again if I were to come back to DC.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you're going to a Nationals game and you don't want to drive in or take the Metro, well this is the hotel to stay at. Our room was on the top floor, but no view to speak of as it faced a condo building. There is a small Bistro and a bar in the building as well as a small area where you can get snacks 24/7. The Bistro and Bar close fairly early and there really isn't much around the hotel within walking distance if you want to eat late - say after 10pm. The metro was only a block away and is an easy cheap ride into the capitol area and museums. The location is also a quick 5-10 minute drive to Reagan National Airport.

Yes, parking is a hassle, but I knew that by reading these reviews. Get checked in early and you have a better chance at getting a parking spot. Once you have one reserved, you will get to keep a spot in the garage for the length of your stay and can come and go as you please without having to worry about someone else checking in and getting your spot. You do have to drive into the parking garage, but just inside the garage there will be an attendant that will actually park (and retrieve) your car.

The best thing about this hotel is the service at the front desk. They were wonderful and really helped us figure out how to use the Metro. They also hooked us up with a tour that picks you up at the hotel. All-in-all, a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Check in early to get a parking space reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Patricka5-

Thank you so much for your kind words and fair review of our hotel. While are parking lot does tend to fill up rather quickly especially when the Nationals are playing a weekend series, there still tends to be plenty of street parking available on the blocks surronding the hotel.

As for our Front Desk staff, well we take great pride in ensuring that all our guests, before they start exploring the city, are well informed of how the metro (subway) systems works and how to get to all the major attractions that Washington DC has to offer.

Thanks again for visiting us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best

K.Andre Antoine
Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This appears to be a fairly new hotel in the downtown area, and it is reasonable priced by DC standards. We swam in the indoor pool with our granddaughter. It was small, but conveniently located on the 2nd floor. We ate breakfast every morning at the hotel, which was a somewhat crowded and noisy each day, but the food was good and convenient. There is valet parking but it is located right in the hotel if you need in/out access. From the New Jersey St. side you can see the Capitol dome, and looking in the opposite direction you are within walking distance of the Washington Nationals' baseball stadium. The towels and the paper cups were a little disappointing after staying at the Marriott the night before, but the A/C worked great and was refreshingly welcome considering the 96 F. heat outside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is in a great location if you're going to a Nationals game. It's also near a metro station and close to the mall area. Rooms were okay. Some wallpaper peeling in the bathroom, but otherwise very nice. New TV and comfortable beds. Parking was an absolute mess. Deck was full and the closest parking spot was a quarter mile away. If you're traveling without a car, you can't go wrong with this hotel. However, if you're driving, beware!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Other than a great location- few blocks to metro transit, <20 to and Reagan Airport via cab, 30 min to Alexandria via cab, what really makes this Hotel great is it's staff! They went out of their way to assist, make dining and touring suggestions and answer questions. All were very friendly and polite. I previously stayed at National Harbor in posh hotels- these folks at this hotel beat the National Harbor hands down for great service!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Address: 140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C., hotels on Capitol Hill! Our modern accommodations and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home!Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood. We are in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.