We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Service in Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #63 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top Notch Service in Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The staff at this Marriott Courtyard were fantastic and very accommodating -- from the Manager to the staff at the Bistro everyone was very friendly, prompt and helpful. The asst. manager on duty was especially helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The type of service you would expect in one of the premier Marriott hotels. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We could not hear other guests through walls or ceiling. Our room was even next to the elevators and ice machine and we weren't disturbed at all. The bedding, towels, furnishings are standard for the Courtyard properties. All were in good repair. The location is excellent -- approximately one block from the Metro Green line Navy Yard station and the Nationals Baseball stadium. The Bistro in the lobby was actually quite good for breakfast and light dinner in the evenings when we didn't want to go out again after a long day of sight seeing. In addition, a Starbucks, Five Guys, Subway Sandwiches and a CVS Pharmacy are easily accessed in the next block, as well as other restaurants near the ball field. Easy walk or Metro ride to the Mall. Easy access to Reagan Intl. airport. The pool/hot tub was clean with towels provided. The kids enjoyed it. Nice exercise room and laundry facilities available. Billing was fair and accurate and an itemized bill was left under the door the morning of our departure. We will make this hotel our "go to" hotel for Washington DC trips in the future. We stayed four nights from a Friday to a Tuesday and had excellent service every day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words NanC747. I am elated that you and your family had great visit to Washington DC and that our hotel played a small role in your enjoyment. We look forward to seeing both you and your family again in the future during your next trip to the Nation's Capitol.

Best
K. Andre Antoine
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    153
    38
    10
    13
See reviews for
120
77
22
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had not stayed here in some time but noted the reception staff was mostly the same as three years ago. Rooms were exactly as expected at a Courtyard. The bar had a VSOP Cognac which is important to me!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing New Jersey or stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here with family for a week and it is ideal for business or pleasure stays. Located near Metro and Circulator bus that connects you to Union Station for a $1. Easy walk to Navy Yard board walk along river, Capitol Hill, and shops and eateries along 8th. There are some fast food joints and restaurants within a block or two. There is also a self-serve snack bar in the hotel lobby in case you miss buying snacks at the nearby CVS pharmacy that closes around 10pm. Halls & common areas were a bit dated, but the rooms are clean and spacious. The walls are a bit thin, so if you will hear those around you with loud voices. The kids really enjoyed the pool area. There is a computer and printer in the lobby to check emails and to print out boarding passes for free. We rented a car for a couple of days to visit sites in Virginia and Maryland. The hotel has very limited parking, so we were forced to park on the streets surrounding the hotel. Parking meters don't begin until 7am, so we made sure to get out early on those days we rented a car. We enjoyed visits with U.S. service men and women while walking in the area, because the hotel is located near Navy and Marine barracks.

Room Tip: Walls are thin. Room windows face street or courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sab Ramon, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place has to be watched. Did not provide an itemized bill of charges. I had to phone Marriott after I returned home to get an itemized bill. The swimming pool is very small, to small to do any swimming. The hot tub was inoperative the whole week I was there. The towels as I one other guest mentioned were small, cheap and scratchy. My first night I arrived at 10p after travelling all day. I went to bed and was awoken by an unwelcome alarm at 6a. Cleaning staff is slow to clean rooms. I went out in the morning came back after 2p and the room was still not cleaned. I found the food at the hotel very expensive. $2.50 for a small bag of chips. I believe I would have enjoyed my trip better had I stayed at a more reputable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Wayne M.

Good day. Thank you for your feedback. It will only make us better. It is customary for all our guests to receive a copy of their charges under their door the morning of checkout. One reason this may not happen is if the guest checks out on a date earlier than expected. However, if you are still in need for a copy of your Folio, please let me know and I will get one out to you right away.

As for the pool size and The Market prices, both are in line with the prevailing Marriott Standards. Lastly, we do accept Room Refresh Request Times from all guests to ensure their room is cleaned at their convenience.

If there is anything else that I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best

K.Andre Antoine
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Although the hotel was clean and the bed comfortable (although on the soft side), the towels were thin and scratchy as was the toilet paper in the room. TP in public areas was better quality. There are two computers in lobby for guest use. During the entire four days of our stay, one did not work, and the other worked very poorly. There were constant error messages to deal with which made any task take 3x as long.
The alarm portion of the alarm clock in our room did not work. However, we were able to get a wake up call from front desk.
Message light on phone does not show up except in dark, so we did not know we had had messages since mid afternoon until waking up in the middle of the night and then seeing the light. Most hotels have something that flashes to alert you.
Excellent personnel at the front desk - very friendly and helpful.
Hotel is remote from anything in the District except the ball park. There is a bus that comes every 12 min. during the day that goes to and from Union Station, passing Capitol Hill. The Metro is a block away. However, it is the Green line which did not go anywhere we wanted to go, so we constantly had to transfer to other lines.
Although there is a lot of activity in the area during the day due to office buildings, not much activity at night. Few restaurants in the area. The area does seem safe at night, however, with no suspicious characters hanging around. We returned by Metro at 9:30 p.m. I had been apprehensive that we would be the sole people exiting the train but there were about 20 others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
TravelolChicago-

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Navy Yard. I am elated that your Front Desk experience was excellent. Moreover, I am happy to report that both computers in the Business Center are up and running. As for the paper products and linen, while we do receive our supplies directly from Marriott approved vendors; I will take this opportunity to double check and ensure we are ordering the most up to date approved products.

Should you have any additional comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact hotel and ask for me.

Best
K. Andre Antoine
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Upon arrival to the hotel I was greated by Dwayne. He was very professional. He recommended some resturaunts told where the train was, How to park the car in the parking garage and how to re-enter the hotel. I have never felt more welcome in a hotel. We got to our room it was one in front with the wrap around windows. Room was beautiful! Linen was fresh and the ac was running when we got in. We used the pool and the hot both were clean and stocked with towels. We ran in to the maintenance man when he was cleaning the pool area he was very polite too. Hotel is in a great location and easy transportation. Will stay here again on my next visit to DC

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friend and I first bemoaned having to stay so far away due to the Cherry Blossom Festival, but then we were more than pleased with the choice. The concierge and front desk personnel are excellent and their recommendations for restaurants on 8th street - an easy less than a mile walk - were perfect. A Metro station is literally right across the street and so it made for easy travel to the National Gallery and then to the Mall. The location is also very quiet, which can be rare in DC, and I would certainly use this hotel again for a weekend or longer trip to DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott
Address: 140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C., hotels on Capitol Hill! Our modern accommodations and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home!Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood. We are in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.