We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend During Cherry Blossom Festival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard to your Saves list
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off room rate & more!
Ranked #58 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend During Cherry Blossom Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friend and I first bemoaned having to stay so far away due to the Cherry Blossom Festival, but then we were more than pleased with the choice. The concierge and front desk personnel are excellent and their recommendations for restaurants on 8th street - an easy less than a mile walk - were perfect. A Metro station is literally right across the street and so it made for easy travel to the National Gallery and then to the Mall. The location is also very quiet, which can be rare in DC, and I would certainly use this hotel again for a weekend or longer trip to DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    175
    42
    11
    15
See reviews for
144
87
25
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is relatively new and the staff very attentive although somewhat rough around the edges. The room was fine, and the bed comfortable. The restaurant was very limited and there are no options nearby. Parking is a real problem. Excellent location for Nationals games and stadium, an easy walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location is not superb, ~20-25 mins to the capitol by walk. Location in the DC is very important since taxi service is very poor. I wouldn't take this location again...

The rest is as you would expect from a good hotel - large clean rooms, good bed, good bath, friendly staff.

The parking is somewhat expensive - ~$25 / day

Indoors heated pool and hot tub are great advantages!!! There aren't lots of them in the DC!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I listed the name of my location above because I couldn't find it. Its one block from the Nationals Baseball Stadium and a perfect view of the Capitol. The hotel was clean and nice. Parking was expensive but what else is new about DC. If you park on the street, its free from 630p - 7a. By 7:10am, you have a parking ticket. Your 7 blocks from 8th street where alot of locals dine. Metro rail is also 1 block away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Started out with really dumb parking situation. Drive to the parking lot, and the attendant says you have to pull to the front of the hotel, get a pass, then come back and they will then take your car (inside the garage) and park it for you. Did they ever hear of valet? Showed up at 2 PM on 4/3 and room not ready. Staff didn't really seem to care. Looked over at the snack area, and there were ~8 other people waiting for their rooms. New Bistro area closed, so no chance of coffee or snack. After waiting for 15 minutes, I asked when I could expect my room, they said they didn't know. I asked would it be in time for normal check in at 3, they said probably (BTW - I am a Gold Elite Marriott member). I then asked if them to take my cell phone number so I could go out and get a coffee (with the new Bistro, they don't provide coffee anymore. Can only buy Starbucks for ~$3 when the Bistro is open). The next morning, I went to Bistro for breakfast. Ordered oatmeal and banana breakfast with coffee. They gave me a number and said they would bring it to me. I was basically put into a queue behind the people who ordered eggs, etc. After asking 10 minutes later where was my oatmeal, they finally poured the pre-made oatmeal into a bowl and gave it to me. Midway through the meal, I realized I was chewing on a plastic piece of paper. After bringing this to the manager's attention, he said I could have my money back or have a free breakfast the next day.
Place overall is very cold. Hallways, lobby, etc all require a sweatshirt or jacket. The walls are very thin. A number of times I woke up thinking someone was walking around, and it turned out to be the next room or hallway. Room was also very chilly. Also there was no bath soap in my room. Went to the lobby and they were out. They said they would have someone bring one up. Waited 1/2 hour, took a shower with the facial soap. After I was dressed and leaving for my dinner engagement, someone showed up with the soap. Also the internet had two speeds, slow and stop.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

After receiving tickets for "Hello Dolly" at Ford's Theater and a voucher for dinner at a restaurant close to the theater as a gift, we decided that the 1.5 hour drive home after the show would not be desireable. Our research showed us that this hotel was within one block of the Navy Yard Metro station which provided quick and easy access to a Metro station near the theater. We were able to park the car in the hotel's underground garage, for a fee, and not have to worry about additional traffic and parking challenges when going to the theater. Upon arrival at the hotel we were graciously greeted by Harnetha and Ashley at the registration desk. I knew then that we had made the right hotel choice. They were most accommodating and knowledgeable and the go-to individuals during our entire stay. The hotel lobby and rooms were extremely clean, as were the excercise room and the indoor pool area. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here for some business in DC. The neighborhood is a bit of a mixed bag - some of the areas have new houses and shops and some other dilapidated areas with shady characters nearby. The room was ok and clean. The walls were thin - my neighbors music and talking on one side and TV on the other was all I could hear all night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Address: 140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C., hotels on Capitol Hill! Our modern accommodations and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home!Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood. We are in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.