We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Courtyard.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #64 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We've stayed in a number of places in DC for both business and visiting family. Overall, this Marriott was good. Nice staff on day 1, apathetic staff on day 3. When we checked in and asked for a change in the type or room, the desk staff was absolutely wonderful. When we asked for a taxi checking out on day 3, we got a finger pointed toward the street and no help whatsoever. The rooms were clean and rather basic, but it's a Courtyard so this was not unexpected. There is a Starbucks one block away (great because the breakfast area is crowded), metro station one block away, CVS also there. Fantastic Thai restaurant around the corner. Quiet area without the usual DC sirens.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    154
    38
    10
    13
See reviews for
120
77
22
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My son and I stayed at the hotel for a conference at Nationals Park. The hotel is 3-4 blocks from the Stadium. The hotel room was clean and spacious. Surprisingly, we were given a handicap accessible room because we reserved a room with two queen beds and that was the only type of room with queens remaining.

Positives: Staff was very cordial, helpful and informative.
Proximity to the stadium, highway, and Metro.
Room Rate considering we are in DC.

Negatives: Parking is $29.50 per day including tax.
Going through hotel to 2nd elevator for garage and walking through it to
get your car was annoying. No valet service.
The Bistro, hotel's food establishment, is limited, has limited hours and
was considerably expensive for what they offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my two-night stay during a business trip. The modern room was well lit and while a little small it was adequate and quite comfortable. I enjoyed two dinners at the hotel’s restaurant, and the takeaway breakfast had just what I look for on a fast-paced trip - good selection, healthy and tasty choices, and well- priced. The hotel is a little off the beaten path, so getting a cab isn't always easy, but that seemed like a small price to pay. I found the staff to be uniformly helpful and eager to please. This Courtyard hotel had just about everything you would want from a mid-priced hotel, so I would be glad to return, and I vigorously recommend it. And it’s nice to know that Five Guys Hamburgers is across the street, just in case!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent 10 days at this location and everything was just right. Room was clean, spacious, and quiet with great darkening curtain. Weekend prices were great, but they kill you during the week. Stay away from the hotel coffee shop for breakfast, but walk around the corner to the shop in the building; Lot # something. Best latte ever; illy brand I believe. Navy Yard Metro, CVS and 5 Guys are within a block. Also check out Justin's for a local hangout. The Capitol is less than a mile walk right up New Jersey Ave. Several new apt buildings in the area. Used to be an industrial area, but has cleaned up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I made reservations for 2 rooms, 2 nights. I am a Marriott Platinum for 10 years. Arrived at 11pm to be told the hotel was overbooked. Had to be sent 30 minutes away to another hotel. This is how Marriott treats it's loyal customers!!!
P.S. Their program states that Platinum members will never be in an overbooked situation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicottville, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great hotel -- right on Capitol Hill and sitting right on top of a metro station (Navy Yard, Green line). It's a short walk to the Capitol building, Navy Yard, and Nationals Park. Used to be an area you wouldn't want to walk around in, but it's seeing a renaissance now with the baseball park and waterfront development. The staff are attentive and while not overly friendly, certainly helpful. There is parking but it's kind of expensive -- but on par with other area hotels. There are plenty of food options within safe walking distance, and a CVS and Starbucks right next door. There are apartments attached to the hotel (same building) so it's quiet but not deadly quiet. Nice business option for DC. Restaurant and bar in the lobby, too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were here for four days with a young child. The place is brand new: very clean, nice pool, nice lounge downstairs with good breakfast options (albeit on the expensive side), extremely pleasant and helpful staff at check-in.

What made us choose this property originally was the fact that we could get a king suite for well under $200. The suite was quite large and the layout was very practical. The bedroom was completely closed off from the sitting room, so the grownups could watch TV at night without risk of waking up sleeping kids. I still cannot believe we had all that space for such little money.

The Courtyard Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is in a part of town undergoing major redevelopment: the property is surrounded by new buildings and vacant lots. As such, there isn't much to see or do around the neighbourhood (unless you're going to a Nationals game), but it has everything a family with young kids needs to enjoy their stay in DC.

The hotel is one short block away from a Metro station, and no more than 4 Metro stops from the museums and attractions around the Mall. In the building right across the street from the hotel, there is a Five Guys, a Subway and a CVS.

One block west of the hotel is a place called Justin's Cafe, which serves soups, salads, sandwiches and pizza (all excellent). It quickly became THE place for us to go have dinner after a day of sightseeing--fresh, simple food for the kids, wine and beer for mom and dad, and sports on the four TVs for the whole family.

We're already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott
Address: 140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C., hotels on Capitol Hill! Our modern accommodations and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home!Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood. We are in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.