We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location to Nats Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard to your Saves list
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #51 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Chester, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient Location to Nats Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My son and I stayed at the hotel for a conference at Nationals Park. The hotel is 3-4 blocks from the Stadium. The hotel room was clean and spacious. Surprisingly, we were given a handicap accessible room because we reserved a room with two queen beds and that was the only type of room with queens remaining.

Positives: Staff was very cordial, helpful and informative.
Proximity to the stadium, highway, and Metro.
Room Rate considering we are in DC.

Negatives: Parking is $29.50 per day including tax.
Going through hotel to 2nd elevator for garage and walking through it to
get your car was annoying. No valet service.
The Bistro, hotel's food establishment, is limited, has limited hours and
was considerably expensive for what they offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    205
    53
    12
    16
See reviews for
175
107
27
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my two-night stay during a business trip. The modern room was well lit and while a little small it was adequate and quite comfortable. I enjoyed two dinners at the hotel’s restaurant, and the takeaway breakfast had just what I look for on a fast-paced trip - good selection, healthy and tasty choices, and well- priced. The hotel is a little off the beaten path, so getting a cab isn't always easy, but that seemed like a small price to pay. I found the staff to be uniformly helpful and eager to please. This Courtyard hotel had just about everything you would want from a mid-priced hotel, so I would be glad to return, and I vigorously recommend it. And it’s nice to know that Five Guys Hamburgers is across the street, just in case!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent 10 days at this location and everything was just right. Room was clean, spacious, and quiet with great darkening curtain. Weekend prices were great, but they kill you during the week. Stay away from the hotel coffee shop for breakfast, but walk around the corner to the shop in the building; Lot # something. Best latte ever; illy brand I believe. Navy Yard Metro, CVS and 5 Guys are within a block. Also check out Justin's for a local hangout. The Capitol is less than a mile walk right up New Jersey Ave. Several new apt buildings in the area. Used to be an industrial area, but has cleaned up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I made reservations for 2 rooms, 2 nights. I am a Marriott Platinum for 10 years. Arrived at 11pm to be told the hotel was overbooked. Had to be sent 30 minutes away to another hotel. This is how Marriott treats it's loyal customers!!!
P.S. Their program states that Platinum members will never be in an overbooked situation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicottville, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great hotel -- right on Capitol Hill and sitting right on top of a metro station (Navy Yard, Green line). It's a short walk to the Capitol building, Navy Yard, and Nationals Park. Used to be an area you wouldn't want to walk around in, but it's seeing a renaissance now with the baseball park and waterfront development. The staff are attentive and while not overly friendly, certainly helpful. There is parking but it's kind of expensive -- but on par with other area hotels. There are plenty of food options within safe walking distance, and a CVS and Starbucks right next door. There are apartments attached to the hotel (same building) so it's quiet but not deadly quiet. Nice business option for DC. Restaurant and bar in the lobby, too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were here for four days with a young child. The place is brand new: very clean, nice pool, nice lounge downstairs with good breakfast options (albeit on the expensive side), extremely pleasant and helpful staff at check-in.

What made us choose this property originally was the fact that we could get a king suite for well under $200. The suite was quite large and the layout was very practical. The bedroom was completely closed off from the sitting room, so the grownups could watch TV at night without risk of waking up sleeping kids. I still cannot believe we had all that space for such little money.

The Courtyard Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is in a part of town undergoing major redevelopment: the property is surrounded by new buildings and vacant lots. As such, there isn't much to see or do around the neighbourhood (unless you're going to a Nationals game), but it has everything a family with young kids needs to enjoy their stay in DC.

The hotel is one short block away from a Metro station, and no more than 4 Metro stops from the museums and attractions around the Mall. In the building right across the street from the hotel, there is a Five Guys, a Subway and a CVS.

One block west of the hotel is a place called Justin's Cafe, which serves soups, salads, sandwiches and pizza (all excellent). It quickly became THE place for us to go have dinner after a day of sightseeing--fresh, simple food for the kids, wine and beer for mom and dad, and sports on the four TVs for the whole family.

We're already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We really had a great time here. We arrived early and no problem, we checked in at 12:30, rather than waiting until three. The room was exactly as promised and off we went for our day of sightseeing. After coming back to the hotel, we decided to just eat at the bistro, at the hotel. Steve waited on us and was wonderful, very attentive, very patient with my nine year old, and very personable. Room was comfy and quiet. Only complaint was no regular coffee in our room, just decaf, but only had to call the front desk to get some. Second night my daughter wanted a midnight snack (at 9:30) and we were so happy to see Steve there helping us again. He even remembered us and knew exactly what we had ordered the night before. We will most certainly come back to visit. Thanks Steve!

Room Tip: We were on 9th floor, it was very quiet. Pool and exercise room are on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#104 of 136 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#41 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#52 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#80 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#26 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#83 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Address: 140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C., hotels on Capitol Hill! Our modern accommodations and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home!Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood. We are in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.