We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard to your Saves list
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off room rate & more!
Ranked #60 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Highland, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spring break trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We really had a great time here. We arrived early and no problem, we checked in at 12:30, rather than waiting until three. The room was exactly as promised and off we went for our day of sightseeing. After coming back to the hotel, we decided to just eat at the bistro, at the hotel. Steve waited on us and was wonderful, very attentive, very patient with my nine year old, and very personable. Room was comfy and quiet. Only complaint was no regular coffee in our room, just decaf, but only had to call the front desk to get some. Second night my daughter wanted a midnight snack (at 9:30) and we were so happy to see Steve there helping us again. He even remembered us and knew exactly what we had ordered the night before. We will most certainly come back to visit. Thanks Steve!

Room Tip: We were on 9th floor, it was very quiet. Pool and exercise room are on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    178
    43
    11
    15
See reviews for
148
87
25
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend in DC. The hotel staff were nice, the rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The only complaint we had was from the bus load of people that left at 5 am and slammed their doors a hundred times while collecting their luggage. Great stay would definitely come back again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We arrived by Amtrak a little early and the front desk was extremely helpful and polite. We got an early check in and were offered maps and recommendations for the area. The rate was excellent and in a wonderful location for sightseeing. There is a CVS nearby as well as a few fast food places.

The Bistro was a little expensive but the food was excellent! I highly recommend and will stay here next time I come back. The staff is very helpful and the hotel is very clean and modern. The beds were comfy and the location was convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We checked in and were charged 20 dollars to park in the garage which is fine it is dc after all. So we pull into the garage after a twenty minute wait because the line was backed up because there was a woman screaming about the parking situation. We finally get through get a spot get a ticket that guarentees you a spot in the garage basically. We got ready for our dinner cruise and went to get the car no parking attendants were in the garage for a long time. They never told us we have to get out parking ticket validated. We returned Into the hotel to do that. Back to the garage and into the car. We returned from dinner at about 11 only to find a sign up saying hotel parking full. We got inside the hotel they tell us to go find somewhere to park on the street( metered). Well it's 11:30 we are driving and calling this 800 number trying to pay over the phone for parking to park on the street somewhere and the automated recording isn't understanding me telling me to do the foxtrot. I said forget this I was ready to leave the hotel completely. The double sold my parking spot and here I am driving around at midnight in dc trying to pay for parking on my cell phone. Complete nightmare. We were refunded for our parking only. I felt like they could have done better than that. Pretty rediculous.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My Daughter lives in the area and went and visited her for her Birthday. I am a Marriott Elite so I stay at Courtyards quite a bit. This by far is one of the nicest ones anywhere. Got a great rate($79 a nt) for 2 weekend nights by prepaying. Arrived DCA airport at 9pm. Cab ride from airport was $16.48 and took like 15 minutes. Dwayne greeted us and welcomed us to the Courtyard. He was awesome. Told him I prefer high room and he upgraded us to the penthouse. We were hungry and ate at the Lobby Bistro. Food and Service was excellent. Got to our room and it was incredible. Great View. Super clean. Beds were awesome. Bathroom was very big and supplied with Paul Mitchell products. From what I heard that the area used to be not so good. Now, its really nice. Within 500 feet of the hotel there is a Subway, 5 Guys, a CVS,
a liquor store,a Starbucks, an outdoor ice skating rink and the Navy/Yard rail station. During the morning you see lots of folks walking their dogs. Parking is free on the street if you can find a spot. Had a Great Time staying here and without a doubt will stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a week or 2 in advance and You will get a great rate by prepaying!! Weekends Only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly clean and modern hotel with comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. There is a Starbucks nearby and a small 'bistro' in the foyer serving sandwiches, burgers etc and drinks. Its only open mornings at the weekend though. A 24 hr mini mart is also based in reception. Other than these places you need to travel 15 mins walk to 8th st area for restaurants and bars etc - there is not much on the doorstep. However, with Navy Yard metro literally a 2 min walk you can easily access all that Washington has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This Courtyard is located in a quieter area of Capitol Hill near the Navy Yard. Only about 5 blocks from Capitol Hill which is walkable but the Metro is also close and an option if you are visiting the Mall area. There is a CVS, coffee shop and Five Guys located very close. If you have your family, there is a skating rink right across the street. There were several options for parking. You could pay for a parking garage spot ($29) or find a street spot for free. We were there over the weekend and able to find street spots every night.
The hotel was reliable as far as Marriott Courtyards go. The staff was friendly and helpful. However, the front desk staff seemed rushed most of the time. The lobby, which was under construction at the time we were there, seemed congested and unattractive and it would have been nice to have been informed of the construction before we booked. We had a large group of people with us and there was no social area to meet unless you rented a meeting room on the second floor.
There was breakfast offered but due to the constuction it was set up near the meeting rooms on the second floor. The atmosphere was not appealling but the coffee shop around the corner suited our needs.
The rooms were neat, clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was adequate and nicely decorated. The elavators were slow during the busy time of day and we ended up using the stairs eventhough we were on the 6th floor.
Once the construction is finished, this Courtyard will be a nice choice if you are staying in Washington, DC. The price is reasonable, there is a close Metro stop, it is located close to the ball fields and many DC sites. If you want to be located closer to the city action, then this would not suit your needs. It is off the beaten path but still a nice stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, we had a room looking at the next door apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Address: 140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C., hotels on Capitol Hill! Our modern accommodations and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home!Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood. We are in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.