We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for baseball!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard to your Saves list
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off room rate & more!
Ranked #59 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Churchton, Maryland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great deal for baseball!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The rooms have all the amenities of a Courtyard -- Fridge, coffee, iron, free wifi, etc. -- but this hotel has three things I haven't seen at other Courtyards: a bar open at night, one of the mosr responsive and careful staffs I've seen, and proximity to Nationals baseball games. We spent the weekend there, being baseball fanatics, and Nats in particular. We got a very cool room on one of the corners, with a view of the stadium. We were in walking distance of the stadium for three weekend games. The breakfast was terrific -- definitely get the made-to-order eggs. My husband left his cell phone there and we hadn't been checked out 60 minutes before they called out home to tell us. The staff gave us late check out (the game that day started at 1:35) and answered every question with true intention to help us. The parking is pricey, so beware of that. But overall -- you will be glad you stayed here, especially if the Nats win. Aiir conditioning is LOUD, though.That was my only complaint.

Room Tip: Keeo your drapes closed to keep the sun out, and reduce the need for air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    180
    43
    11
    15
See reviews for
149
89
25
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are going to a Washington Nationals ballgame this is the place to stay. It's a convenient 10-15 minute walk from the hotel to the Stadium. The room was great and the staff was Awesome. We had a few minor issues in the room and as soon as we called the front desk, maintenance came right away and fixed the problem. We needed extra supplies, and we saw housekeeping and they gave us everything we asked for. The hotel has a breakfast buffet. We are not big breakfast eaters, so we just took a few things from the buffet and we were charged accordingly - very reasonable prices. We needed a cab several times and the doorman was always there to assist us. The pool and hot tub were nice as well. They have a small exercise room - several different equipments to use. We got tickets to the nationals game from the sales staff and she was able to check and get seats in the shade, like we asked.

All in all - it's a great hotel and we will be back annually to go to the baseball games.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Nice hotel, may be over priced for a family. $29.00 parking , $12.50 breakfast.
Pool /hotub great. Workout room 24 hrs , pool till 11pm. Staff GREAT! nice clean room.
Tub really clean. Plenty in house parking but you pay. Small bar, not many chairs. Not able to mingle but good drinks. Bed nice. no complaints. Don't recall seeing any thing around but did see a CVS. They do have a resturant I think. half mile from Nationals Park if in town to see a ball game. Nice walk. We went and saw Bruce Springsteen. Great location to ball park. Cable TV with paid movies. Can not say anything bad just a little over priced. Seem safe location. Mix with other couple during our stay nice people. Seem to be a quiet area.

Room Tip: If you watch TV ask for a room that the TV faces the bed and not the wall. Also there is parking nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich, rhode island
Top Contributor
592 reviews 592 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Only here for 1 night and didn't want to spend a fortune to sleep. Very pleasantly surprised when I entered the room- very bright, clean AND spacious. Parking is expensive, but this IS a major city. Passed on the health club, pool and breakfast.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great location to Metro for convenient and cost effective travel to Reagan Nat'l Airport, government, business, and other offices. Very friendly atmosphere, with very helpful/courteous staff, and nice military presence for a secure environment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The staff made us feel welcome and part of the "family" for our three night stay. Our only glitch was with the parking of our car. A new employee didn't know the correct procedure so we had no ticket to reclaim our car. The hotel staff were very helpful in making sure we were taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice views, great room. Had a two room suite, under 210 a night. Great deal. Walk to Navy Yard or Nationals game. Friendly staff. Breakfast (pay) is average. Juices watered down, tried to charge for full buffet instead of cb, which I ate. Gym is sub par, just an elliptical and a treadmill, very small. How do you build a new hotel with such a small fitness center? Free wi fi unlike other Marriott properties. Can watch MASN ( Nationals) in lobby bar, unlike most DC hotels.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Address: 140 L Street, SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C., hotels on Capitol Hill! Our modern accommodations and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home!Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood. We are in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.