We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but crowded without WiFi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Internet Package
Ranked #42 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good but crowded without WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I spent almost a week In this hotel it was great with facilities but you need to wait in a very long line to get the breakfast, it was crowded with kids from different schools
The swimming pool is tiny that I did not like to get into it with all these kids.

There's no WiFi and it cost like $20/day.

Though, The room was comfortable and space was good enough

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    648
    491
    133
    48
    35
See reviews for
633
167
53
367
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Location was good for sightseeing and hotel was clean. Breakfast food was good but eating areas were very crowded. Evening managers reception was crowded and very slow line for the snacks that most people over indulged in. Premium room was clean and comfortable. Bought room upgrade with snack center that was really access to a vending machine that didn't work most of the time. At least they took the fee off my bill when I complained. pool area was clean but very busy. hotel was obviously catering to families the week after Easter but the place was totally crowded all of the time! Fire alarms went off twice and we evacuated once:( Easy to get taxi, 5 block walk to metro station and walking distance to Ford theater, spy museum and some good restaurants. Definitely not a relaxing property for business travelers or those without children!

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor with premiums rooms and I'm guessing they are a little better kept and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C., United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

NOISY, OVER CROWDED, NOT WORTH THE MONEY. We stayed at this hotel for its location, size of room and the amenities. The room was noisy, dark, dingy and even though there were no signs of bed bugs (we checked), we felt like there were. While the breakfast was free, the lines were horrible. The hotel had signs indicating when was a good time to eat to not wait on the line. The food was passable, but we would have done better at Dunkin Donuts! They do not deserve to be called Embassy Suites. They disgrace the chain that we love and frequent!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, NJ US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We arrived late Friday evening. Room itself was relatively clean but we immediately found that the desk chair and 2 drawers were in need of repair. We did not call front desk due to late hour. Next morning left message with front desk regarding the issue with the chair and drawers and never received a follow-up. The 2 room suite was relatively small. Bedroom was very tight. Overall the room had a "beat-up" look to it.

The breakfast buffet and hotel restaurant were very good and prices reasonable. Free apps and drinks between 5-7pm. Location great. We were able to walk to the Washington Visitors Center (stop for tour companies), Spy Museum and Hard Rock Cafe. Overall ok but would not stay again since I paid for a 2 room suite and found it small and run down.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My family stayed here for Spring Break. Its in the perfect location- within walking distance to several major attractions and restaurants. The hotel is not the typical Embassy Suites with the courtyard. The happy hour and breakfast are served in a smaller area- but it does have ample seating once you figure out there is seating downstairs! The made to order breakfast is done seperately from the buffet breakfast (its in the restaurant on the other side of the lobby). I didn't realize this until the second morning! Pool is nice, rooms are typical Embassy Suites...very clean and spacious. Would recommend this hotel for its great location!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I spent Easter weekend here with my husband and two children (7 and 10) and we had an absolutely great stay. Our room was huge, it was a one bedroom suite for a standard room. There were two TV's which was great. We were on the 2nd floor which was convenient because the pool was on the 2nd floor. The location is great, it is walking distance to many of the historical buildings. We walked to the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History and the White House. This hotel offers free, complimentary hot, made to order and buffet breakfast. They also offered free appetizer and drinks in the evening to guests. Overall, our stay was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesHill900, General Manager at Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the kind remarks regarding my hotel. I am so happy you chose to spend your family holiday with us, and it makes me even happier you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff works very hard to deliver great service, and I know we would not be able to run this hotel without them.

I hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Best regards,
Charles Hill
Charles.Hill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Overall, we like this hotel but we found the Suite pretty small for the price that we had to pay every night. We would appreciate a larger suite. I wish they could provide 2-room suites. We had to sleep on the sofa bed and it was really not confortable. After 4 nights I was exhausted.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center

Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.