We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in central DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Internet Package
Ranked #39 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Guilford, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location in central DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late April 2013. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant, helpful and appeared to genuinely care about our needs. We had a corner king suite on a high floor and as with most all of our stays in the Hilton family, we were happy with how clean and organized everything was. Walking distance to many of the regular tourist sites. As with most in DC, it was on the higher side regarding price but wasn't outside the norm for town. Breakfast was free and full of options. We'd come back with our kids and make a longer stay of it next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    642
    483
    131
    46
    34
See reviews for
617
165
53
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our first stay at an Embassy Suites and it was a really good experience. Having realized that with 2 children under 4, all cramming into a single hotel room is no fun for anyone, we wanted to try a suite option that would be comfortable but not ridiculously expensive, and this fit the bill. The room was clean and comfortable, with enough space for our family to spread out. Having a separate sleeping area so that we could watch a movie after the kids went to bed was great. The service at this particular hotel was excellent. The staff was friendly, ready with good recommendations for restaurants and directions, and always greeted our children. We wound up having to check out suddenly a day early because one of our children was ill, and they accommodated us without any trouble. The breakfast is decent, especially given that it is included. The location was also great for us - a reasonable walk to the Mall, and very close to a convenient Metro line. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to DC for a family trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

OK experience...breakfast and evening reception nice touch. Can't say much nice about registration desk..showed favoritism towards certain guests. Bellmen and Doormen always went out of their way to be nice. Security not the best saw a lot of "strays" going thru lobby checking things out then leaving. Stayed for 5 nights to attend a conference at the center....so stayed there due to the short walk..or would have changed hotels after 1st night..they do not really seem to care about you since DC is such a tourist town, your level of satisfaction not a priority.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just completed a 6-night family of 4 stay and thought this location was good for the breakfast; location to the trolley "hop on" tour; and close to two metro stations. You can walk to the Mall or take the metro two stops. We were upgraded to a 'two room suite' which helped with the space. It has 2 double beds and a pull-out bed, as well as fridge, microwave and two tvs.
The good:
Afternoon Manager's Reception; free Breakfast; Location; And one front desk member who 'took' a pencil from the gift shop, sharpened it and gave it to my daughter when he couldn't find one behind the counter. (She was working on a school project).
The Bad:
Our view (a brick wall); the pool (kind of smelly and cloudy); One grumpy breakfast staff member who, for two days in a row, was really kind of rude. (This is not a mark against the hotel and who know what she was going though this week).
Caution: A little pricey, but so is DC and Valet parking costs are CRAZY! I parked in the public lot kitty-corner to the hotel.
If returning with a family, I would come back. (Unless another hotel offered such a full breakfast)

Room Tip: Use Public Parking instead of Valet! and ask for a room with a view (Not the back alley)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in early April for a convention. If you've stayed at an Embassy Suites previously, you have an idea of the room. I had a large 2 room suite, bedroom with 2 beds, dresser and nightstand. The bathroom was clean, large and had all the amenities. There was the standard kitchenette with sink, microwave, coffee maker and fridge. There was an in-room safe which easily fit my iPad and small laptop. The closet had enough hangers for several people and there was a full size ironing board and iron. The sitting area had a couch, coffee table, TV and table with 3 chairs which would be great for a meeting. I enjoyed the PM happy hour with free drinks, veggies & dip and chips and salsa. The included breakfasts were great, too, with an area to get custom omelets and a standard hot and cold buffet. The staff were friendly and tables were cleaned promptly. There is a charge for wi-fi in the room and the signal was strong and speed was good. Wi-fi is free in the lobby and there are enough electrical outlets to charge all your devices if you don't want to pay for the wi-fi. For those who use Sprint cell service, in my room (614) the signal was available near the window but not in the sitting area. Cell service in the rest of the hotel was great. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the convention center and is close to Chinatown. I didn't try the bar or the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our family of 5 just spent 5 nights here while we toured DC. We were overall very happy with our stay. We spend a lot of time planning and researching hotels when preparing for vacation, and determined that this Embassy Suites was the place for us. We had previously determined that the Metro was not something we wanted to deal with, but we instead wanted to focus on being able to walk to our destinations. We took a taxi to the Capitol Building, but easily walked to Ford's Theater, all the monuments, the Smithsonians. Our children are 6, 9, and 11 and the walking distance was not a problem at all.

We enjoyed the size of the room, and the children loved swimming each evening in the indoor pool. Our kids also LOVED the complimentary snack time from 5:30-7:30 each evening! The adults enjoyed the cocktail hours as well.

We found the hotel staff to be very helpful! The staff helped us with getting a taxi, finding restaurants, with directions, etc. They were all helpful during our entire stay.

Although we travel quite a bit, I am not naturally comfortable in big cities. However, I felt very comfortable from the minute I talked to the bellhop that helped us to our room until we checked out 5 days later.

My husband's favorite part was the made to order omelets he had every morning. We saved quite a bit of $ by having breakfast here each morning.

This was a great place to stay!

Valet parking is expensive ($39/ night + tax) - not sure if that is more or less than other hotels in DC.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I arrived after a long day of travel and was met by very friendly staff. I decided to use room service the first night as I was prepping for my next day. The food was wonderful - both taste and in presentation. The Tiramisu was fantastic!! The room was very clean, spacious and the bed very comfortable. Loved the pillows...I just sank in and fell asleep all 6 nights without difficulty. The breakfasts were very good - only took advantage of the omelet line once and it was very good. Very friendly, accommodating staff. The head bell-hop (I don't recall his name) always greeted me and wished me a great day. Adanna from the front desk was very nice - she had a great personality and smile. The gift shop was very small - but had what I needed (diet mountain dew - don't find this in many places!). I appreciated the location being close to the convention center and actually close to any location. The only complaint is I tried to log in on the computer in the business center and it wouldn't connect to the internet. I used my IPad - but would have been nice to use the larger computer. All in all - Very nice and would highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: I was on the 8th floor and faced another complex (non road side) - road noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center

Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.