We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
From $99 With Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great service and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is very nice and the entire staff is extremely nice and helpful. The location is wonderful-near the metro, restaurants, and museums. The price of the hotel includes a free breakfast and "manager reception" with free snacks and drinks. All of the food was very good. The rooms were very nice and large, the beds were comfortable, but pillows were not (personal opinion). My only complaint is that the rooms are not very insulated from noise. You can hear the people in the hall and the construction going on across the street in some rooms. I would stay here again as long as I had ear plugs or a sound machine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamHeffron1, Manager at Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Greetings Amanda781 –

Thank you for the positive review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and especially happy to hear you enjoyed some of the great amenities that make the Embassy Suites brand special! I am sorry to hear you about the noise issues you experienced. Next time you stay, contact me directly and I will be sure to assign you an especially quiet suite.

Thanks for choosing the Embassy Suites DC Convention. Since you are so close, we hope to see you again very soon for a quick getaway or a Staycation to Washington, DC!

Adam Heffron
adam.heffron@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    564
    144
    54
    41
See reviews for
707
198
59
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I know that this review is late but… I couldn’t really rest until I commended this wonderful establishment, from the front desk staff to Mr. Charles Hill, the entire staff were a pleasure.

My family stayed at Embassy Suites-Convention Center in August 2012 for 3 days. This was our second trip to Washington D.C. in 2 years and the second time that we stayed at Embassy Suites-Convention Center. We knew that there was no where else that we wanted to stay, but Embassy Suites-Convention Center. My 7-year old twins view Embassy Suites as our go-to place in Washington D.C. They look forward to the nice sized room where they were able to sleep comfortably on the pull out bed. They also looked forward to the FREE made-to-order breakfast. I have to say I looked forward to breakfast as well. The omelets are cooked to perfection and there was also a buffet awaiting, where I could find a wide range of scrumptious breakfast foods. Another thrill for my twins is the manager’s reception in the evening. After spending the day touring all of the sites in D.C., we were able to get free drinks for adults and children, along with various snacks.

Embassy Suites-Convention Center is a great place for families because it places you near many attractions and within walking distance of others. Thank you Embassy Suites for yet another wonderful memory.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

When I arrived to the embassy suites the hotel was at maximum capacity. I actually stayed there for a conference that was hosted in the DC convention center (walking distance). The hotel rooms were adequate, as was the food. The cocktail hour was very good and the bar staff were friendly. The experience at the Embassy Suites went from average to EXCELLENT because of one staff member in particular, Bruno Johnson. He was at the front desk and completed the checkout process for my party. Bruno was knowledgable, friendly, understanding, and overall maintained a wonderful composure throughout our complicated checkout. In my years of travel, Bruno is one of the best hotel staff I have ever encountered. I hope other travelers have the opportunity to meet Bruno, he will change your entire hotel experience with his excellent customer service. Thanks Bruno!

Room Tip: corner rooms were reportedly the largest and the best in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed at this property several times for conventions. The location is ideal just a block or so away from the Convention Center. It can be kind of pricey but that’s DC. The room is large and spacious with a separate sitting area very clean and comfortable with two TV’s. The bathroom is very clean with fluffy towels. Unfortunately during my most recent stay the water in the bathroom did not get hot in the morning so in order to get a good shower you needed to shower the night before. The customer service ranges based on who you deal with but overall it isn’t too bad. Butch and Sean at the front desk are always great to work with. The most recent convention I attended had over 13,000 women in attendance and at times the staff seemed a little overwhelmed. I won’t mention the names of the staff members that are difficult to work with. The breakfast buffet is normally pretty good, however again during my most recent stay it was not up to par. Also during this visit you could not get a clear cellular signal. I am normally really happy with this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I've been coming to this Embassy Suites for years. The location can't be beat, the staff is courteous and helpful, and the rooms are clean, spacious with comfortable beds. However my most recent trip revealed a 'new' restaurant menu and room service that leaves a lot to be desired. Finn and Porter, the hotel restaurant, is understaffed, the food is under par and limited selection. It took my party 45 minutes at one lunch to get turkey paninis, which weren't even grilled--just stuffed into the cold flatbread and served. There appeared to be only two servers in the whole restaurant. While the hotel offers a complimentary breakfast buffet, there is no breakfast offered via room service. The buffet is unremarkable and barely warm, however there is a custom omelet line that will insure you get something hot at least. If you do order from the menu, be sure you have a second choice as we were told repeatedly that they were either 'out' or 'don't have that today'. I realize that this was during the inauguration events, but I stayed here 4 years ago, and they didn't have these problems. Maybe the food service is under a new management? Well, it shows, and not to their advantage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here for several nights on business. Short walk to convention center, Verizon Center, and museums with many restaurants only a few blocks away. Could hear neighbors through walls at times. Good breakfast at the hotel (standard Embassy Suites selection) although a large student group was checking out one morning and seemed to overwhelm the staff - many breakfast items were gone and they were not able restock and clean all of the tables. I think this was an unusually busy morning. Overall it was a very good stay. I will be returning to this hotel on future trips.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent one night between Christmas and New Years. Great location, close to Ford's Theatre, where we went to see a show. Rooms were a nice size, bathroom a bit small. Only negative is noise. We could hear people in the room next door loud and clear through vents. Noise from people in hallway also came into room clearly. Breakfast choices were nice. It was a very, very busy weekend, but the staff was able to keep up with demands. Valet parking staff did a great job getting cars quickly. Call them before you leave your room and they will have your car waiting for you. Front desk staff was great. I believe Rob was the person who checked us in. He was awesome. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center

Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.