We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Internet Package
Ranked #43 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Midwest
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It is located near many museums, which we walked to daily. The staff was friendly each morning at breakfast and as we came back from sightseeing each day. The rooms were somewhat outdated, which is not what I expected for D.C. The lobby is also very narrowly shaped with very few chairs. The parking was $38 per night plus $7 tax, which is probably average for the area. The breakfast was wonderful. The happy hour snack time really needs to be monitored by someone as we noticed numerous people getting the snacks with their hands instead of the tongs. We were there for New Year's Eve (with our 2 kids) and the hotel had hosted some sort of party for outsiders. Unfortunately for us, several of those party attendees also booked rooms and were placed on the same floor as us and were extremely loud and obnoxious even at 3:30 A.M. The staff should have reserved another floor for those people as we did not get any sleep. My kids enjoyed the pool a couple times while we were there. Overall, the hotel was nice and we really enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    648
    493
    133
    48
    35
See reviews for
635
167
53
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over Christmas this year. Location excellent for walking access to everything from Whitehouse to Capitol, $1 bus to Georgetown, etc. Modern hotel, and staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast good also.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during a Lincoln DC vacation. The other reviews on this site are all true, and I have little new info to add. The location is great, particularly for Ford's Theater, Spy Museum and Crime & Punishment Museum. There are tons of great ethnic restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are standard Embassy Suites. The staff are all exceptionally professional, polite and helpful. There's a nice (small) gym and pool. Breakfast and Happy Hour fare are probably the best I have ever experienced at any Embassy, and I would have given this place 5 stars, had the place not been totally mobbed making these times feel more like a zoo than a vacation. I guess that is not the hotel's fault, it's probably quieter and more serene outside of school vacation time. You do get gouged on parking and WiFii, but this is standard for DC. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel was reasonably priced and very well located. You are two blocks from Chinatown and the Spy Museum. You are two to three blocks from either of the main Metro stations - Metro Center or Gallery Place. These two stops will lead you to anywhere the metro goes. The hotel has been renovated and really is what you should expect in quality from Embassy Suites. The property is well-maintained and the staff is great. They even helped me find a quick-care for my son at 3:00 in the morning.

The pool and the hot tub were a hit with our son and this is a good hotel for families. The food and free drinks also seemed to be a notch above most Embassy Suites. This hotel felt more like a Hilton.

Room Tip: Try to get a Corner Suite as they are bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, IN
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went to DC for Christmas! The hotel is in a good location w/in walking distance of all the major attractions! If you would rather not walk as much, the Metro Center is only 3 blocks up! The room was large and the bed was comfy! The staff is top notch. Everyone from start to finish was awesome & very helpful. You will be rest assured to get service w/ a smile & no request is too big or too small. The full hot breakfast included in your rate is amazing. Not the traditional breakfast like most hotels. It has made to order eggs, omelets, potatoes, bacon, sausage, cereal, fruit, bagels, pancakes, etc. A great bonus included in your rate for sure. I would advise you to get down there early. Otherwise, the closer to 8a you will wait in an extremely long line! The managers reception is another great bonus. Complimentary alcoholic beverages for adults & sodas for the kids. Also, munchies to enjoy. There is an indoor pool w/ hot tub. The fitness center is not average, it is outstanding! If I had one complaint it would be there is not complimentary wifi in the rooms & the fee is $9.99. They do offer complimentary wifi in the lobby. However, I found most people must have felt the fee too high & the lobby was littered w/ guests. I would just think a top notch hotel like this would not want the lobby littered w/ people & laptops. It didn't look great w/ people lounged around. The hotel restaurant for lunch/dinner is pricey & the food was average. Overall, one of the best hotel experiences we have had!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was in town for a convention and there was a special event held at this hotel. The catering was hands down one of the best I have had in a long time. It was so wonderful I had to refrain from going back up several times. I was pleasantly surprised being an Embasy Suites. In addition to the food being outstanding, the banquet room was beautifully decorated. I will, when I can, recommend you all. I did not stay there overnight however. BUT I will certainly do that in the future knowing how great the food is. Great job to your culinary team!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

When we travel with our grandchildren, we like to stay at the Embassy Suites as it givem tem a bit of privacy and gives us confidence that they are safe. This is a good intown hotel, walking distance to the major attractions and with very good service and the usual clean rooms.
The parking was a bit pricey ($39 for 24 hours but the convenience of not having to find multiple parking garages made up for much of that cost. Staff was friendly and very helpful.
Good spot to stay with children.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 14th or 15th floor for a good visibility. Lower rooms are blocked with a build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center

Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Washington-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.