We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done memorial” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial

National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial
605 E St Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20003 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202 737 4300
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Attraction details
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
140 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Well done memorial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are in the area - this is definitely worth a detour to spend some time paying your respects at this memorial. We thought it was very well done, understated but reverent. It is in Judiciary Square right in front of the National Building Museum.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, NJ
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lest we forget...another group of men and women standing near the flag...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

For those who have served our country and communities as law enforcement officers the National law Enforcement Officers Memorial is a beautiful, solemn and sacred place. Having several friends and comrades listed on the memorial makes a visit there touching and difficult at times but it is important nonetheless. The memorial itself is simply and tastefully done and it speaks to the sacrifices our law enforcement officers make each day and to the risks they and their families live with every time these officers head off to work. Police week is observed each year in the middle of May. It is an appropriate time to visit the memorial.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Quiet, calm, peaceful........exactly what a Memorial should be. Easy on/off Metro. From the Memorial we walked to the Ford Theater.

You will be amazed and sadden at the massive amounts of names on this memorial. Not to mention the walls are constantly adding names.....it is surreal to see half the walls are left blank and knowing one day they will soon have names.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Honoring Our Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Location is near the White House. The memorial honors those members of Law Enforcement that have made the ultimate sacrifice to protect and serve the public. It is a touching memorial, especially if you know of your members who are listed on the memorial's wall.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sobering reminder of those who gave all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

As a former law enforcement officer, I am probably slightly biased toward this memorial, but it is a place of great sadness and respect for me and all of those who I have viewed it with. The names of slain officers are carved into the walls that surround the site with the bronze lions standing guard over them. If you are in the area, please take a moment to stop and honor these men and women.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.