We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue for music shows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DAR Museum

DAR Museum
1776 D St Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (National Mall)
202 879 3254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 471 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for music shows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I went to DAR during the John Legend Tour in October 2013. The venue is quite spacious and also in the quite area of DC, just few meters from the White House. The only problem though is that it is a bit secluded from Metro stations, so some walking might have to be done to get there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Venue for Concerts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Just saw our second concert here. It is a great venue. Both times we had good lines of sight. It is big enough to attract good names but small enough to still remain personal. Thee front row seats around the sides are especially nice. Seating is well spaced and not to cramped like many concert halls. However, the refreshments and merchandise are not sold in many locations so lines become long. Arrive earlier if you plan to buy something. In addition, at least at this event, they were only accepting cash. There is an ATM in the building. Street parking is hard to find but there is parking lot between F and G street not to far away. It's pricey but the walk is safe and they do stay open late on nights when DAR has a concert.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Splendid spaces, interesting exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My sister and I made a special trip to DC to see the DAR temporary exhibit on “The American Woman and Fashion, 1890 to 1925" (which closed August 31, 2013). Although displayed in a relatively small gallery space, I have a particular interest in the topic and spent hours in the exhibit trying to absorb all the attire details and ideas presented.

I was happy that we also had time to take a free docent-led guided tour to have an orientation of the museum and the DAR. It was excellent to have our guide explain some details in a few of the 31 period rooms, and offer wonderful vantage points to view the magnificent library. With our free guide, we also got to see the not-open-to-the-public huge auditorium/convention hall.

While I returned to all four floors of the museum to further explore and photograph the exhibits, my sister spent a few hours in the Genealogy center and library, making copies of early family documents.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“DAR Grand building Grand Library”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been here twice on trips to D.C. The tour is interesting and informative and always different depending on your tour guide. The historical rooms are amazing. And the research library is a wealth of knowledge.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Interesting period rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The period rooms give historical perspective to various times throughout U.S. history. There was also a very interesting exhibit of women's underwear from the past. A gift shop with unique items.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DAR Museum also viewed

 

Been to DAR Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DAR Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.