We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constitution Gardens

Constitution Gardens
Constitution Ave, Washington DC, DC
202 426 6841
Improve this listing
Ranked #227 of 471 things to do in Washington DC
Attraction details
Napa, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“A Hidden Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Constitution Gardens is 50 acre park that is located inside the National Mall. It's parallel to the Reflecting Pool and located north between the WWII memorial and Lincoln memorial. If you want to get away from the huge crowds at the other more popular memorials this is the spot for you. There were people relaxing in the sun, having picnics, and just enjoying the day. Everything was clean and well maintained.

My intention was to see the 56 Signers of the Declaration of Independence memorial and discovered there was more to this area then just that. It was a serene and peaceful walk along the water. There are great views of the Washington Monument and it would be a perfect spot to have lunch and take a break while touring the monuments.

The actual 56 Signers of the Declaration of Independence Memorial was across a bridge on an island. There were huge stones each having the signatures of all 56 members. This is also the site for an annual naturalization ceremony for new US citizens.

Like all the other monuments, this is worth a stop.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saddle River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I loved stumbling upon this little oasis near the Mall. It has a little pond with a footbridge and plaques on rocks with the names and signatures of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. If you get the pond at the right angle, you can see the reflection of the Washington Monument- and it's much less crowded than the Reflecting Pool!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This was the perfect site for our wedding. The view was amazing and the Monuments were in site with almost all of our pictures!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Can be lovely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Too many other wonderful things to see in DC..keep this on your list for later

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
“Constitution Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This isn't up to the same level as the other monuments/memorials but I really enjoyed Constitution gardens and the monument to the Signers of the Declaration of Independence.

It is a little away from the rest of the memorials, so you have to watch for it, but it's worth a trip from the beaten path that is the reflecting pool. Basically, it is a pond that has a bridge to an island. n the island is a block that has the names and signatures of all the Signers organized by state.

I thought it a fitting tribute to men that in 1776 might as well have been signing their own death warrants. Stop to think about what chances the revolution had in succeeding. If the war was lost, these men would have been ruled traitors and hanged. Simple as that. Also keep in mind that in 1776, most people did not want separation from England, they simply saw the war as a way to get England to redress the wrongs that had suffered over the years.

I'm not sure what was going on when other reviewers visited, but the pond was neither drained, low or disgusting. I thought it was picturesque. I thought the landsaping was beautiful and I had no problems resting on any of the benches.

It's really worth the 15 minutes needed to walk around and see this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Constitution Gardens also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Constitution Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constitution Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.