We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added American Guest House to your Saves list
American Guest House
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2005 Columbia Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The regular mega-hotels were just too out of reach for me tabling on a nonprofit budget, and the reviews of hotels in the DuPont Circle area were sketchy, so I kept digging until I found this one. It was just a block or two from my conference, right off Connecticut Avenue and on the edge of Adams-Morgan with all kinds of neat eateries. It was like staying at someone's home. Breakfast included a couple from UK, a Polish couple, a couple from Australia, and a Chinese man.

No it wasn't luxurious and it was a bit worn, but the price was so much more reasonable than other hotels in the area. Would definitely return there as a tourist.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    120
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
147
105
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very well located inn, with super friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean and characterful, but a little small and pokey at times - but normal for an older building. One thing to be aware of is that there isn't any parking on site, and on street parking isn't great. We ended up paying $90 for a few days of parking at the nearby Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the B&B while at a conference in the Hilton (right around the corner). I enjoyed the unique details of this B&B over another boring conference center. The breakfast was really delicious and convenient and the rooms were well stocked with the amenities you'd expect at a hotel.

The street noise was substantial in my room facing the street on the second floor (not too much you can do about that in DC). You may want to ask about a room at the back or just bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: Higher floors or rooms at the back of the building may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our stay at the American guesthouse was more than great. The house is old and beautiful, lots of old furniture/antiques, interesting paintings... Our room on the top floor was very pretty, and the location is very convenient. The breakfast was very, very good and fresh. We stayed there for five nights and got a wonderful culinary surprise every morning! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

American Guest House is the perfect blend of B&B and upscale vacation rental. The breakfasts designed by Lisa, the house's Chef, were the highlight of each morning. During our 7 day stay, each breakfast was unique and a culinary masterpiece. Staff are warm and friendly with many tips on exploring DC during the financial shutdown ...enough alternatives to let us forget about it.

For evening life, there are plenty of unique restaurants of every ethnicity and type in the area - bistro, asian, mid-eastern, etc. Plus, a short walk to DuPont Circle metro gets you to the White House/congress/mall effortlessly.

Location is everything in a large city, and these accommodations met the prefect blend of city and small town flavor. It IS the place to stay. We will definitely return on our next trip to DC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our first visit to Washington DC and I would higlhy recommend staying at The American Guest House. The staff went out of their way to make our two night stay perfect. We could not have asked for a more central location than this. Our room was extremely comfortable and clean with an old world charm. Breakfast was good and plentyful with something different each day. I also was very impressed that one morning we had a very early morning start with a tour, when we came down stairs that morning our breakfast was packed to go which made us fell very welcomed..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

On my first visit to Washington DC for business and a little sightseeing thrown in, I was torn between booking a corporate chain hotel, which I knew would be efficient but bland and impersonal or to take a risk and try something more individual.

I'm glad I took the latter option, because I booked a couple of nights in the American Guest House and was delighted with my experience.

The room I had was gorgeously Victorian with the most comfortable bed I ever slept in (including my own dammit!) I loved the elegant and creaky floorboards, which I must confess I walked over sometimes just for the fun of it!

Breakfasts were a delight with the Sunday Shrimp and Grits reason alone to stay in Washington for the weekend.

The bathroom was spotlessly clean, water as hot as you would like and if you needed it ,the television large enough to gather a small village around.

The American Guest house is easy walking distance (10 minutes) to Dupont Circle Metro and from there all the city is accessible.

All in all a lovely an unexpected escape. I glad I took the risk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to American Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Guest House

Address: 2005 Columbia Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — American Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Guest House is a 12 bedroom with en suite bathrooms Washington DC Bed and Breakfast Inn located in a historic 1893 Venetian Gothic building near the Washington Hilton Hotel. Within a 10 minutes walk to Dupont Circle Metro, and within a 10 to 15 minute walk to Wardman Park and Omni Shoreham Hotels. We are located near Dupont Circle in the historic Kalorama Triangle neighborhood. Bed and breakfast is located near the White House (about 1 mile) northwest of the White House(about 25 minutes by foot) and about 2 miles from the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments. We are located in a trendy, upscale, safe and beautiful neighborhood in the heart of DC. Great area to stroll around and enjoy the beautiful old mansions. Within walking distance you'll also find several of Washington DC's best restaurants, as well as the Phillips Art Gallery, Embassy Row, specialty shops, and even Rock Creek Park with its beautiful cycling and hiking trails. Culture is plentiful in DC with its majestic theaters, shows, ethnically diverse dining options, and local resident hang outs. You will not only stay in a prime area of Washington, DC, but you will also be served the best breakfast in town and will be helped by the friendliest people around. Come and see for yourself - you will be glad you did. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and Booking.com so you can book your American Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Guest House b&b
American Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.