We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
American Guest House
Save
You added American Guest House to your Saves list
2005 Columbia Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a great guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A great place to stay.
Small rooms but very cosy but it is not a hotel its a guesthouse!!
The housekeeper Jonathan is very helpfull and gentle.
This a keeper
Breakfast was very good and a very inventive an filling.
Staff was alway present and was always very helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    114
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
137
103
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I recently enjoyed another fine stay at American Guest House bed and breakfast. A few points: 1. Breakfast cooked by Jonathan each day was excellent, inventive, and very filling. 2. Staff, headed up by Jonathan, is helpful and friendly without hovering over you. A staff member is always present in the building, even if you might not see them on occasion. 3. Rooms are quiet very clean, and the beds are very comfortable. Hot water is fine, just let it run a minute or two. Toiletries are simple but fine: soap and shampoo. Specifically, about noise—this is an old building on a city street. I myself do not find it a bit noisy at night or any other time. This is, though, a matter of personal perception. 3. Remember, this is a bed and breakfast—if you are inclined towards chain boutique hotels or high-end luxury hotels, my thought is that you should realize a B & B is not the same, and, if you stay, judge it for what it is. 4. Rooms are cozy, but not huge. Some bed and breakfasts have bedrooms with separate sitting areas--that’s generally not the case here. I think the rooms are attractive, with nice dark wood trim. Just look carefully at the photos on their website and on Trip Advisor, and you will see what they offer. 5. Bed and breakfasts vary in how they look and are decorated. American Guest House has beautiful old wood trim everywhere (the staircase is the highlight), and has older, antique style furniture to match. Like antiques in general, some furnishings may look a little used with aging. I prefer it that way. But other people like bed and breakfasts with new furniture and new decorations. Just think about what you prefer, and what this bed and breakfast features. 6. The building is a very sound and well maintained structure, located on a nice street in a great neighborhood, close to innumerable restaurants, and about a ten minute walk to the Metro stop. 7. I have been able on more than one occasion to check in earlier than the typical hotel check-in of 2 or 3 pm. I greatly appreciate this. Storing bags before departure is not a problem. 8. Wifi works fine throughout the building.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I recently journeyed to DC to enjoy the mall area and take in the museums. We usually prefer B & Bs over chain hotels and we were very pleased with our experience at the American Guest House. We were given a tour of the property when we arrived and the amenities were elegant and well maintained. Our room was gracious and sweet, with a small window overlooking the front street (Room 202). The bathroom space was somewhat tiny, but adequate. The front desk staff were helpful in terms of educating us about the area. We really enjoyed the gourmet breakfasts each morning and were glad to sink into a comfortable bed each evening. The B & B is within walking distance to the Metro. We recommend the American Guest House to others visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was a wonderful place to spend the weekend. Very conveniently located to Adams Morgan, where the family member I was visiting lives. The room was small but very comfortable, with private bathroom, great queen bed, flat-screen TV (32"?) with cable. Nicely appointed, beautiful wood floors and walls, super clean, etc. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff was kind, helpful, professional, and all around great folks. I'd stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This bed and breakfast was a terrific find, located in the embassy area of NW Washington, and therefore near a large number of good international style restaurants. Took a $14 shuttle from national airport to hotel and was able to walk to nearby shops. I was attending a large meeting and trade show at a venue located about 2 miles N. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, including quickly getting me a taxi when needed. Breakfast (included) was freshly cooked, and creatively different every day - a real treat compared to usual overpriced and awful food usually found at large hotels. Free WiFI, books in every room, flat screen TV, comfortable bed, and evena small fridge made this a great value. The hotel itself is a perfect example of a classical historical building with beautiful period furniture, and oriental rugs. Other guests included a fellow meeting attendee and international vistors, all making for pleasant and interesting conversations. Try Napolean, a french bistro resturant nearby - great food and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Mass
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place is welcoming and homey. Each room is different, because it's really a big old house - so some are bigger than others. Rooms are comfortable, with (very important to me) good lighting, good internet, and a power strip provided. Breakfast is family style and made to order. Easy walking distance to a few restaurants and take out places. I"ve stayed a couple of times... most recently, my room faced Columbia Rd and had a fair amount of traffic noise from buses and cars (that's why four stars instead of five); the last time, I was facing the back and I don't recall it being noisy. Mostly it's charming and friendly, and a nice place to come "home" to.

Room Tip: Ask to face the back to avoid traffic noise on Columbia Rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at the American Guest House as an alternative to staying at the Marriott Wardman conference hotel, thinking the short walk would be worth the financial savings. Little did I know how much I would benefit! The breakfasts, when I could indulge, were wonderful--endless juice and coffee, pastries, fruit salad, and eggs made to order by the charming Jonathan. I had specifically chosen a room with a mini-fridge, thinking I would lay in some juice and yogurt for mornings when my schedule prevented a sit-down breakfast, but it was never necessary, as I was always offered a cup of coffee and a homemade muffin or slice of coffee cake to nibble as I walked up the hill. My room was squeaky clean and the white-sheeted bed was snuggly, with mounds of both soft and Thermacare-firm pillows. I was supplied with instruction for wi-fi access when I first arrived, which looked complicated, but, in the end, it was as simple as opening my laptop and typing in the password. I opted for a private bath, which came supplied with an ample set of towels for one traveler, and a mysterious array of different soaps/mouthwash/shampoo that varied every day.

I have such minimal complaints that it seems almost petty to mention them here, but in the interests of making sure you're a well-informed traveler: on the first day, the shower head was leaking over the shower curtain, making the marble tile floor a break-neck negotiation; the issue was fixed immediately upon my reporting it. I had two days where I came in from the frosty February night to find that my room temperature was bordering on "roast;" I turned on the ceiling fan and opened a window, and within ten minutes, the room was back to being comfortable and stayed that way for the rest of the night, even after the window was closed. I did not have an instantly-renewable supply of hotel shampoo/conditioner/etc.; I travel with my own toiletries, so I'm not in any way put off by that.

Make no mistake about it: this is a B&B, not a chain hotel. It has all the strengths--and quirks--of a European pensione. Bernardo and Jonathan's quiet, elegant manner underline that Continental aura. I hope to stay here again, only, next time, I hope to nestle into the dark wood and cozy, fresh-baked cinnamon smell for pleasure, not business, so I can really indulge!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 203, which has a private bath and a set of high, sunny windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Guest House

Address: 2005 Columbia Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Guest House is a 12 en suite Washington DC Bed and Breakfast Inn located in a historic 1898 Venetian Gothic building near the Washington Hilton Hotel and 10 minutes walk to Dupont Circle Metro. This Washington DC Inn is within a 10 to 15 minute walk to Wardman Park and Omni Shoreham Hotels. We are located near Dupont Circle in the historic Kalorama Triangle 1 mile northwest of the White House(about 25 minutes by foot)and about 2 miles from the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments. This DC B&B is located in an upscale, safe and beautiful neighborhood. Great area to stroll around and enjoy the beautiful old mansions. Within walking distance you'll also find several of Washington DC's best restaurants, as well as the Phillips Art Gallery, Embassy Row, specialty shops, and even Rock Creek Park with its beautiful cycling and hiking trails. Culture is plentiful in DC with its majestic theaters, shows, ethnically diverse dining options, and local resident hang outs. You will not only stay in a prime area of Washington, DC, but you will also be served the best breakfast in town and will be helped by the friendliest people around. Come and see for yourself - you will be glad you did. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
American Guest House b&b
American Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.