We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room is certainly the highlight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AKA White House to your Saves list
AKA White House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fresh Grocery Delivery
Ranked #19 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The room is certainly the highlight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed for four nights in a 2br that was huge (1200ish sq ft is my guess.) It was recently renovated and had a full kitchen with everything you'd need to cook. Appliances - new and of good quality. Washer and dryer in unit a blessing with a baby.... The unit really is an apt with your own hvac, circuit breaker, etc. The only negative is the layout of the kitchen- the stove blocks a drawer from opening, all of the dishes are in a lower cabinet (because there are no uppers that short / disabled people could reach maybe?) It would bother me if I were there for a month, but for ~ a week who cares?

Outside of the room don't expect much. Housekeeping seemed to come around 4 to 6pm which wasn't the best. Clearly they're overworked. There is no doorman that I saw, which would be fine if they had an automatic door. Maybe if i went through the parking garage - I didn't check and that would be odd. People staying at a place like this are likely to have a lot of luggage(?) The desk staff are nice, but I don't think they're interested in offering much in terms of concierge. To be fair, that's just an impression I got based on being in the lobby, I didn't ask much in terms of advice.

My reason for booking this stay was exclusively based on the description of the room. It met or exceeded expectations and I was happy. If you want to be treated like royalty this is not the place for you. If you want a huge nice apt a block from the WH for the same or less than you'd pay for a four star small hotel room, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We appreciated the feedback! While we are thrilled to hear your enjoyed your accommodations, we do regret any inconvenience regarding the Front Desk and Housekeeping.

Additionally, while most of our suites are equipped with cabinets on lower shelves that hold dishes, we do have several Handicap Accessible suites available for residents that require them.

As an extended stay property, our housekeeping differs from a standard hotel. While we aggressively work to ensure all suites are serviced, our housekeeping team works from 8AM to 6PM. Suites are serviced anywhere within this time frame, and residents are more than welcome to contact our Front Desk is they prefer to have a specific time set up for their service.

While we do have a full-time doorman, he is not on-site 24/7 and his schedule fluctuates based upon our arrivals and departures. Our dedicated Resident Representatives & property staff are here to assist all residents with luggage, and any questions you may have in regards to concierge services. Whether you are interested in restaurant suggestions, things to do within the District, current events going on within the city, or any in-house requests, our staff is here to make your stay exceptional.

Again, thank you for the great feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    124
    26
    10
    15
See reviews for
134
69
15
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We have stayed at the AKA White House over five times in the past year, and we will be back again. Why? 1. Location: Easy access to professional DC, cultural DC and fun DC. You can walk easily to meetings, museums and dinner. Or, you can walk out the door and immediately get a cab, Uber or walk two blocks to the Orange, Blue and Red line. 2. Room Size and Quality: The suite, with a separate bedroom, one and a half baths, full kitchen and washer and dryer is much better than a standard hotel room. You CAN live at the AKA White House for weeks or months, comfortably. 3. Strong, attentive management and staff: Over the months I have stayed here, if I did have an issue, no matter how minor, the staff quickly and professionally addressed it. It's clear that the General Manager, Aaron Gillespie and Front Office Manager Stephen Cubbage strive for excellence and have instilled that standard with all levels of staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback! Your loyal patronage is greatly appreciated. With our outstanding staff, unparalleled location, and gorgeous suites, AKA White House is the leading option when in search of luxury within our Nation’s Capital. Our dedicated staff is here 24/7 to ensure your stay is flawless from beginning to end, and we are thrilled to hear your stay reflected this notion. Thank you much for the fantastic comments and we look forward to “welcoming you home” to AKA White House!

AKA white House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is a fabulous location in DC very near the White House as the name suggests. Very comfortable. as one reviewer noted it is like a one bedroom apartment. My husband was here on business and I joined him for the weekend. Would be good for long term stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We appreciate your comments! AKA White House is your number one option when in search of luxury extended stay. With our spacious living accommodations, central location, and fully furnished suites, AKA is your home away from home. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights. We were allocated a high floor at the back of the building away from the lifts. The apartment was large and well equipped although as other reviewers have noted some of the decor is quite badly scuffed and the bathrooms could do with some attention. It is is a great location and, despite what we were told by the front desk the day we arrived, there is a food store nearby: Whole Foods at 2201 I St NW. It's right by Foggy Bottom metro station or a 10 minute walk. There are also numerous coffee shops and restaurants nearby although, as the area is extremely quiet at weekends, coffee shops don't open until 8am or later and some restaurants do not open at all on Sunday.

Our main issue with AKA White House was the service: housekeeping was dire. One day we arrived back at 5.30pm to find our rooms were just being cleaned. Other days we had to request cleaning even though we had paid for daily. The front desk told me they were busy with new arrivals rooms. Simple solution: employ some more housekeeping staff. We were also pretty irrtated to return one day to find our dishwasher full and running as housekeeping was using it to wash equipment from other apartments. This was bizarre and we never got an explanation as to why all of the plates, glasses, utensils were just left with us. We also found the front desk staff were less than helpful. A decent concierge service would be a great addition.

Parking here is extremely expensive. Unfortunately, we could not avoid bringing the car and had to park it in the underground garage (which was locked all weekend!) next door at a cost of $35 per night through AKA. Would have been a lot cheaper to have arranged it direct.

Room Tip: High floor, away from lifts, back of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Feedback like yours is crucial to the success of our business, and it allows AKA White House to grow as a leader in luxury extended stay.

While we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the location and accommodations, we were disappointed with your below comments and would like to address them:

As an extended stay, our housekeeping differs from normal hotels, and our housekeeping staff works to ensure all suites are serviced, between 8AM and 6PM. While we do our best to clean all suites as fast as possible, sometimes suites do get serviced later in the day, especially when we are at or near capacity. All residents are more than welcome to request to have their scheduled cleanings done at certain times.

Regarding the dishwasher running, the housekeepers do run the dirty dishes in the dishwasher for each resident with each cleaning. As each apartment has its own dishwasher, the housekeeper would only run that apartment dishes through that dishwasher.

All residents are offered parking at $35 per night. This includes unlimited access, with in-and-out capabilities, 24/7. Residents have private access to this 24/7 while most garages in the city do not allow entry or exit during the overnight hours. If you compare pricing in the city our $35 cost per night is online with the city offering for overnight parking. Anytime a resident sees the garage door is closed, they may call the Front Desk, and we are more than happy to open it so residents may gain access.

Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to exceeding your expectations upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is a great extended stay option for folks in DC. The rooms are essentially a one bedroom apartment, equipped with full kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a living room. Was perfect for my business trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We greatly appreciate the positive feedback! Our guest’s satisfaction is our number one priority and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for the feedback, we and look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

A family of five members, we stayed for 3 nights. First time in D.C., the city surprised us with a lot to do in tjose 3 days. The hotel is incredibly well located (200m to the Whitehouse) and the apartments are ample and very well sourced. The two rooms were large and beds were very comfortable. The living room, was well sorted: we had dinner there two nights and we had everything to cook, a new washing machine and dryer. If you go to D.C., I would encourage you to take a look.

We had a last-minute problem with one of my kids' backpacks, which the hotel has not yet found. Lets hope we are able to find it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We appreciate the positive comments! With our fantastic location, spacious living accommodations, and fully furnished suites, AKA White House cannot be beat. We are thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed their time in Washington, DC while staying with us. Regarding the backpack, we do apologize for the delay, but we understand it has been located and picked up by you. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

my better half found this gem of a place after carrying out an extensive online search and boy, were we happy with this location. my father had flown in from Saudi Arabia and we had an extensive training with EasyPower in Annapolis, MD. we would drive off every morning leaving the wife and kids to explore the DC area.
here goes:
1) perfect location, in close proximity to local downtown attractions, eateries (and frat parties!)
2) courteous staff
3) roof top terrace (for your smoking urge)
4) clean and spacious
great place to stay at even if you are staying for a few nights.
my only qualm was that the facility seemed dated and the bathroom fixtures could have used an overhaul.
highly recommended for the DC area.

Room Tip: higher floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback! Our number one priority is our guest’s satisfaction and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to locate us online! With our fully furnished suites, spacious living accommodations, and outstanding staff, AKA White House is your number one choice when in search of luxury extended stay within Washington, DC. Regarding the facilities and bathroom fixtures, we do apologize for any inconvenience. Rest assured, your comments have been taken into consideration. Upon your next trip to DC, we look forward to welcoming you back to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,494 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 136 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.