We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possible the best location in DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AKA White House to your Saves list
AKA White House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Possible the best location in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stay AKA White House offered very spacious rooms, with full kitchens and washer/dryer facilities. Steps from the White House, the area couldn't be more convenient for work or sightseeing. 2mins from the front door will also bring you to the closest Metro stop, Farragut West. In the other direction, the Smithsonian museums and the National Mall are around 10-15mins walk.

I spent 3 weeks in a one bedroom suite, and though there were signs of wear and tear, it was not anything that affected the quality of my stay overall. I was also told that the rooms are progressively being refurbished, which would make this property very difficult to beat. DC hotels can be very expensive, but for my money, there was nothing close to the standard that AKA White House provided. Other serviced suites from brands like Residence Inn came in at well over $40 more on average per night and were nowhere near as well located.

The service was exceptionally good. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Miles and Maria in particular stood out for their warmth and ability to make my stay as comfortable and smooth as possible.

There was a Whole Foods within 5-7mins walk, so stocking up with essentials is incredibly easy. Even easier was taking advantage of the various delivery services, from Instacart (grocery deliveries from Whole Foods, Harris Teeter, Safeway, Costco, etc for a very reasonable fee) to GrubHub/Seamless, and Delivery.com if you want a selection of meals delivered to your suite.

Overall there are very few negatives I can think of, other than the walls perhaps being a tad too thin? Would absolutely book again based on the amazing 3 weeks I spent there. I hope on my next visit, I will get to stay in a renovated room. I now understand why this hotel is constantly sold out.

Room Tip: Penthouse level rooms are the newly renovated ones. A rear-facing room will probably encounter less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We greatly appreciate the positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience all DC has to offer! With our unparalleled location, residents and guest alike need only step outside to be within walking distance to the great Museums, Monuments, and fantastic sites only in DC!

Our suites were designed with you, our guest, in mind. With fully furnished kitchens, washer and dryers in-suite, and spacious accommodations, AKA White House is your home away from home. Our dedicated concierge team is also here to facilitate your stay and ensure you are taken care of from checking in, to when you depart. We are glad to hear our staff made your stay enjoyable and were able to assist you with any needs.

Regarding your walls within your suite, we do apologize for the inconvenience. We actively re-paint our suites when needed, and will be discussing this with our team. Additionally, as we are in a centralized location, all noise cancellation is not possible, however, we are more than happy to relocate a guest if they inquire, contingent on availability.

We thank you again for your fantastic feedback! Upon booking your next stay, please feel free to contact us directly when booking so we may assist in designed a stay catered to your specific needs. We look forward to “welcoming you home” to AKA White House in the near future.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    114
    23
    8
    15
See reviews for
120
66
15
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stay at AKA Hotels when I can. The quality and service is usually top-notch. I was very disappointed to see the state of disrepair in this hotel. While a lot of attention went into updating and renovating the bar and reception area, the rest of the hotel was left looking like a poor relation that never gets invited to family reunions. In the hallways, the carpets are old and musty smelling, with many stains. My room looked dingy. Nothing a new coat of paint couldn't fix, but the scuff marks and smudges on the wall really made the place look cheap. The bathroom had fixtures that were obviously repaired in a hurry and poorly. I was scared to move the shower door since it screeched like its life was ending. When I used to stay here before they included gave you a few complimentary water bottles. Nothing like that on this stay, however.

The rooms are spacious, have all the amenities you need, and its a great value for the money. Not to mention the great location. But its a shame that the rooms have not been taken care of. And I did not expect the level of noise I experienced. Not sure why sounds echo in the halls, music was blaring, and worst of all…. I could hear the person upstairs when they used the bathroom!!! Nothing a good renovation couldn't fix. But honestly, I expect more from an AKA.

Room Tip: get a room away from the elevators. The ones right across from the elevators get a lot of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We do regret any inconvenience you may have experienced due to your suite and suite location.

Unfortunately, we are a property in downtown Washington, and as such, all noise cancellation is impossible.

Regarding your suite, we do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. All of our suites are inspected three times prior to any arrival to ensure they are ready for all incoming guests. As such, this is not a normal occurrence to have suites with no water bottles, and scuff marks on the walls. We encourage all residents to contact the front desk immediately if they are not 100% satisfied with their suite or suite location so we may re-locate you to another suite.

As with all of our resident’s the sooner you can convey any shortfall that you have experienced, the sooner we are able to remedy the situation and provide you with above and beyond customer satisfaction.

Any insight into your specific suite number provided to dc@stayaka.com would be greatly appreciated so we may investigate these comments thoroughly.

We greatly appreciate feedback like yours, so we may continue to grow the success of our business. As our number one goal is your complete satisfaction, we invite you to stay with us again so we may exceed any and all expectations. In advance of your next stay, please feel free to contact us while booking so we may submit any special requests or answer any questions so we may assist in designing a stay to cater your needs.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next lodging dates at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for seven nights in June. Just a block or so away from the White House the hotel's location is perfect for anyone visiting the Capital. The one bedroom suite was spacious, clean and the bar a welcome landing place after a day's sightseeing. The staff are friendly and helpful and Jenny, one of the bartenders was outstanding.

BUT AVOID ROOM 909! The first night our stay was spoiled by construction noise that seemed to go on all night long. While not something the hotel can control it was awful. What they can control is the noise coming from the lift/elevator. It sounded like clanking cables and slamming doors any time someone used it. So unless you live in a coal mine skip this room and I believe other rooms are also affected by this noise.

I told the desk staff about it and requested another room but unfortunately their only response was to say "we'll look into it" and that was that.

Room Tip: Avoid room 909.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We sincerely appreciate the feedback on your experience with us here at AKA White House. We are very happy to hear you found our staff helpful during your stay and the accommodations of great satisfaction! Our dedicated concierge team is available for guests, anytime to make your stay memorable, and to exceed all expectations. We are sorry to hear about the noise discomfort during your stay. We always try our best to accommodate to all of our guest's needs and requests. Much of this depends on our availability – as we were at 100% capacity - and as we are a city location, audible noise is not able to be controlled in a high-rise multi dwelling building. Please advise us before your next visit so that we may work with any requests on concerns. We greatly look forward to your next stay with us here at AKA White House and welcoming you home. Thank you again.



AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed for a week in mid-July 2014 in a 1-bed apartment. Loved the cleanliness and spacious room layout...and quality of light from the expansive windows, which is important.
The personnel were always friendly to us when we picked up a daily newspaper and coffee from the reception area.
Close to museums, restaurants in western part of Washington and other attractions - we loved to walk so happy with this location. No noise from cars since we were on the sixth floor.
Lots of in-room storage, free wi-fi (Australian hotels could learn to do this instead of a huge daily rate for guests) and the laundry within the room was useful.
Would have liked a manual on how to use the coffee machine though! The dishwasher didn't always clean the cups on first wash...so I'd suggest some additional servicing checks there. Sometimes the room wasn't serviced until late evening, which was a bit awkward.
Otherwise great value and lovely stay. Thank you

Room Tip: High up floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We sincerely appreciate the feedback on your experience with us here at AKA White House. We are very happy to hear you found our staff helpful during your stay and the accommodations of great satisfaction! Our dedicated concierge team is available for guests, anytime to make your stay memorable, and to exceed all expectations. We do have staff on site 24 hours if you ever have any questions or need assistance, whether it be the use of our coffee makers or how to utilize our dishwasher for your dishes to come sparking after the first run. As we are running close to 100% occupancy, we regret that your room was serviced a little later that we anticipate, next time please let the desk know if you require a specific time and we will do our best to ensure it is done within your time frame. We greatly look forward to your next stay with us here at AKA White House and welcoming you home. Thank you again!



AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed at the AKA White House in May 2014. My experience was fantastic! Had a slight hiccup with getting my luggage in as there was no bell boy available and check in was at 3pm (I arrived at 1.30pm) so had to stay at the lobby till check in time.

However, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the service top notch!!!! The apartment was spacious, neat and comfortable. The living room and sleeping quarters very satisfying.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a feel of home and would definitely stay at the AKA anytime am back in DC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We sincerely appreciate the feedback on your experience with us here at AKA White House. We are very happy to hear you found our staff helpful during your stay and the accommodations of great satisfaction! Our dedicated concierge team is available for guests, anytime to make your stay memorable, and to exceed all expectations. Please know in the specific event that our guests arrive prior to check in time, we do offer the option of storing luggage in our secured storage room, as so our guests may be mobile and begin enjoying the sites of Washington DC upon arrival. We greatly look forward to your next stay with us here at AKA White House and welcoming you home. Thank you again!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanajet
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My spouse and I recently stayed at AKA White House and it was wonderful. We had a one bedroom suite, which was spacious and well-appointed. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location is great, 1 block to the metro's blue and orange lines, a couple of blocks to the metro's red line, and of course, right by the White House. It is also an easy walk to Dupont, Foggy Bottom, 14th St corridor, and Chinatown. I highly recommend AKA White House!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We appreciate your positive feedback! We are happy to hear that your suite was enjoyed; and that our central location put the best of Washington DC at your fingertips! With a fully furnished kitchen, spacious living accommodations, and 24/7 concierge services, AKA White House is your number one choice when in search of luxury extended stay within the District. Thank you again for sharing your great feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel website messed up and reserved two rooms for me. I was not notified until well after my stay. The manager refused to give me a refund despite it not being my fault. Don't stay here unless you want your money stolen.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.

We are disappointed that you reviewed the property in this manner. You actually made your reservations online yourself that were prepaid, non-cancelable and non-refundable. You secured these reservations for April, 2014 for an arrival in April, 2014. Once you secured these reservations, per your confirmations that were emailed to you separately with two different confirmation numbers, you were charged for the suites. Once you arrived at the desk to check-in you were advised that you had secured two reservations. We do have many arriving residents that secure numerous reservations and this is a standard occurrence at our property. Additionally, these charges were posted to your credit card April 2014, per the rate you choose and unfortunately, you have opted to write this review on July 2, 2014.

We regret that you chose to publish this type of review based upon securing funds for your reservations that you secured online and charged in April of 2014.

Thank you for your comments.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.