We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Extended Stay Hotel in DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AKA White House to your Saves list
AKA White House
1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Extended Stay Hotel in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I thought I was staying seven weeks and ended up staying three and a half months. I have watched the clientele transition from focused business professionals, to celebratory convention goers to jet lagged traveling families. And, no matter who the guest, I watched the staff treat each visitor as though they were the most important person in the room. Everyone was welcomed as if it was their second home.

And for me, the AKA White House did feel like a wonderful second home.

The suites are spacious and very nicely furnished. The sheets and towels luxurious. Everything you might need is in the room or just steps away. They have not missed one detail.

The staff, led by General Manager Aaron Gillespie, are all top-notch, experienced professionals. They are responsive, attentive and very kind. I've grown accustomed to the warm smiles that greet me as I walk thru the lobby.

The location cannot be beat.

For extended stay in DC, why would anyone stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: I stayed in a room in the back and the front. If you have a lot of work to do and want no distract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. At AKA White House, we take great pride in creating a homey atmosphere, while still being the leader in luxury extended stay accommodations in Washington, DC. Our suites were designed so our residents and guests feel right at home. We also appreciate you taking the time to highlight our amazing staff. From our general manager to our doorman, it brings us joy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and become your "second home". We truly have one of the best locations and teams in the city and your satisfaction is the key to our success. Thank you again for your glowing review and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    108
    24
    8
    13
See reviews for
111
60
13
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It is a family friendly and extended stay hotel. The location is great. Conciege rated from friendly to snobbish. Room is huge and quiet but very dark. There are washing machine and dryer that is a huge bonus for an extended stay. The kitchenette is well equipped with plates, glasses and cutleries. The bed is comfortable. The bed linens and bathroom are not so clean though. The water pressure is ridiculously weak! The wifi works very well. All in all, it is just an average hotel but given the price for such location with washing machine and dryer, I believe 4 stars is fairly rated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay at AKA White House. We are delighted to know that you were able to take advantage of our property's wonderful location in the heart of the Nation's Capital. In regards to the decorum of the front desk, we do apologize for any inconvenience, as this is not a reflection of the quality of service which we strive to provide to our guests. We have spoken to our front desk team to ensure each guest experience is exceptional from arrival to departure. We are thrilled that you otherwise enjoyed your stay and the amenities in your suite. Please feel free to reach out to us directly to book your next stay so we may assist in designing a stay that is truly memorable. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location and the room furnishings, but it fails on every other front. The front desk staff are extremely unhelpful and rude. When asked for any help, the first instinct is try not to help you or make you feel that you are an extreme inconvenience. The hotel charges $100 for the use of a pack-and-play/baby crib. The cancellation policy is very stiff--50% of whatever days you have remaining no matter what. The atmosphere is pretentious and unfriendly. If you were a single person, you might like it for a few days because there's a bar, the furnishings are sleek and everything has clean lines. But, even then, you'd get sick of it within a few days because you'd realize that the the sterile environment is sophocating and you want to sophocate the staff. There are many options in DC for long-term stay--do not choose the AKA!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. While we are happy to hear you found our furnishings sleek and enjoyable and you loved our location, we regret that you felt your experience was not to your standards. AKA White House takes pride in our “pied-à-terr” aesthetic, while providing our residents with luxury extended stay accommodations located centrally within our Nation’s Capital.

We have reviewed your reservation in our system and discussed changing and/or canceling with you in person as well. All of the rules and regulations were stated when you made your online reservation, for which you agreed. Additionally, when you approached the desk on numerous occasions, we once again apologized, but the penalties we not able to be altered as this is what was agreed to, with the specific reservation type that you secured.

Regarding the in-house fees from cribs and/or rollways, once again, these fees are listed on-line prior to one making their reservation. We also reconfirmed your reservation prior to arrival, as well as discussing your options upon your arrival.

Thank you again for your comments and we apologize that we were not able to exceed your specific expectations at our property.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I found the AKA through booking.com and got a prepaid rate that was highly discounted. This is a former Korman Suites property that has been completely renovated into something stylish and lovely. Less than two blocks from Lafayette square, great tourist location, subways, restaurants etc. As for the suite, it was more like a small apartment with two bathrooms, living room, two tvs, and a large refrigerator and microwave - stainless steel, naturally.

There was a little mold in the shower and the cleaning service was very late, but they tried, which counts for a lot. I don't know of a better place to stay in DC and I will return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback and comments. AKA White House is located in the heart of Washington, DC where our guests have the unique opportunity to experience everything our nation’s capitol has to offer. With our proximity to in demand restaurants, boutique shops, and historical landmarks, AKA White House is truly the ideal local. While we are glad to hear you enjoyed your suite amenities; we do regret hearing that you were not met with a housekeeping experience that exceeded your expectations. As our guest, you have the option to request your service be completed at a specific hour. During your next stay our 24 hour concierge will be more than happy to tailor your services in advance of your arrival so you are not confronted with any inconvenience. Additionally, you noted Korman, AKA is a brand of Korman Communities. Thank you again for the great feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Most people don't even know this is here. A perfect place to stay when you are traveling for awhile. This is like an apartment with wooden floors, granite countertops, and stainless steel appliances. You are literally a block from the White House. The only downside, and why I don't stay anymore is they have no rewards program, and as much as I have to travel for work, it just isn't worth it to not get any rewards.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed all of the amenities that our “hidden gem” of a hotel has to offer! All of our suites do boast the wooden floors, granite countertops, and stainless steel appliances you mentioned and much more! All of our suites also have in-suite washers and dryers, walk-in closets, and fully equipped kitchens. Regarding a rewards program, we are affiliated with the Preferred Hotel Group’s “iPrefer” program – please feel free to enroll @ iprefer.com – where you can start earning stays at over 600 properties worldwide. Thank you again for the great feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked this at relatively short notice and really struck lucky. Perfect situation with many popular sights within walking distance. Hotel clean, comfortable and all staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. It was great having the extra space this apartment-style affords. Helped contributed to a wonderful stay in DC!
Bearing in mind the facilities provided, the ideal location and the time of year we stayed, I think the cost was very reasonable.
Minor drawback -bedrooms a little gloomy (all trendy decor but just not quite enough light!), but don't let this put you off.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us! We are so delighted to know that our suites, amenities, and staff were able to make your stay a memorable one. As you mentioned, with the White House only short walk away, and the Smithsonian network of museums only a short cab ride away, the location cannot be beat. Thank you for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Great location a block from the White House with some of the biggest apartment style hotel suites around. Nice kitchen, stove, oven, fridge and microwave with separate bedroom and living room/kitchen area. By far, one of the best hotels around within a block from the World Bank. Definitely recommend this place for any business traveler or couple staying in DC.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are so glad that you your recent stay with us! We are very proud of our spacious suites and as well as the amenities offered; we're delighted to know that you were able to take full advantage of both. AKA White House's one and two bedroom suites have all of the amenities which you mentioned: fully furnished and full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers in all units, walk-in closets, and much more! Making them ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Thank you for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.